FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Can't select Contents Type

<<

perfcomp

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 8:06 pm

Post Sun Dec 25, 2016 8:20 pm

Can't select Contents Type

Long time Serviio user here, but haven't used it in a few months so some updates have occurred that might have caused my problem. Samsung smart TV (UN40EH5300), MacBook Pro, both with current level of softwares and operating systems. Selecting Allshare Serviio from Source menu is fine, next screen is select Contents Type (Videos, Photos, Music). I can't do anything on this screen. Can't arrow up or down, can't select the highlighted item (Videos is highlighted when the screen comes up). No button works, not the ok button, return button, and can't exit from the screen either (though of course the whole Source menu goes away on it's own in a minute).

I did do extensive searching online and on this forum.

Any ideas?

thank you,
Michael
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2271

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state) - temporary assignment to Washington DC

Post Sun Dec 25, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Can't select Contents Type

That really sounds like Samsung did something with a firmware update. I rarely use my Samsung to access Serviio, instead using either a Blu Ray player or a Roku. I recall using my Samsung with Serviio a couple of weeks ago with no issues. Of course, I have a different model Samsung than you.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify video file contents
<<

perfcomp

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 8:06 pm

Post Mon Dec 26, 2016 4:24 am

Re: Can't select Contents Type SOLVED

It took me a while to figure out, but I was using the nearly identical looking (to the TV) Blueray remote. Had to use the actual TV remote.
Michael
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2271

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state) - temporary assignment to Washington DC

Post Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:36 pm

Re: Can't select Contents Type

For me, that would be a senior moment. Don't know if you can blame that! :lol:
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify video file contents

Return to Samsung

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.