FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Network connection drops when using "step".

<<

mikecue

Serviio newbie

Post Fri Mar 24, 2017 3:31 pm

Network connection drops when using "step".

I'm brand new to Serviio. I have a Samsung UN40J6200AF with firmware 1028. I'm testing with both an MP4 file and a MPEG 2 file from a desktop workstation through our office network to the Samsung. Playback is fine. But the "step" function (hit <pause> then hit <pause> again to step one frame) causes the network to drop. There is no recovery from this. The file must play again from the beginning when this occurs. Has anyone seen this behavior?
Thanks
<<

atc98092

DLNA master

Post Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:42 am

Re: Network connection drops when using "step".

What profile is Serviio using for your set? It will show on the console/status tab. It should be Samsung TV J Series. I haven't noticed that behavior with mine, but I'm not certain I've ever tried the step function.

Also, is your TV wired to the network or wireless?
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 16 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

mikecue

Serviio newbie

Post Sat Mar 25, 2017 2:50 am

Thanks for the reply. I am in fact set to "J". So if you have a chance to give "step" a test...I'd be interested in the results. I'm on a wired network, BTW.
<<

mikecue

Serviio newbie

Post Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:17 pm

Looking into this further:
STEP fails even when using a crossover cable between Samsung and computer with static IP addresses.
<<

atc98092

DLNA master

Post Fri Mar 31, 2017 12:42 am