FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Can't play .mkv files on my Samsung UE40D7090 from synology

<<

apraks

Serviio newbie

Post Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:06 am

Can't play .mkv files on my Samsung UE40D7090 from synology

Hi all, I'm new to Serviio and just managed to install it on my synology DS716+II . There is currently the synology mediaserver running, too. After indexing all my content it appears that I can't play .mkv files from Serviio to my Samsung TV no matter of the size. But there's no problem with the mediaserver of sysnology's. Could you please give me a hint what I can do? Thanks in advance for your feedback.
<<

atc98092

DLNA master

Post Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:26 am

Re: Can't play .mkv files on my Samsung UE40D7090 from synol

apraks wrote:Hi all, I'm new to Serviio and just managed to install it on my synology DS716+II . There is currently the synology mediaserver running, too. After indexing all my content it appears that I can't play .mkv files from Serviio to my Samsung TV no matter of the size. But there's no problem with the mediaserver of sysnology's. Could you please give me a hint what I can do? Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Samsung TVs sometimes have issues with transcoded videos. What profile are you using for your TV in the Serviio console? Also, the MKV container can hold many different codecs, so just stating the container type doesn't help troubleshoot your issue. See how to get the codecs in your video from the link in my sig line. Then post the results here.
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 16 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

apraks

Serviio newbie

Post Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:39 am

atc98092 wrote: