FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Problem recognizing new content

<<

njose

Serviio newbie

Post Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:48 am

Problem recognizing new content

Hello,
Newbie here, so I may be a bit long winded...
First let me apologize if this has already been answered. After searching the forums there seems to be lots of issues with the movie folder capturing the contents and keeping it current. But, I did not find any definite answers.
I recently installed Serviio 0.5.2 to on my Samsung 8000 to view the 16K pictures I have on my computer. From the start that worked like a champ or so I thought. :D

Problem #1.
I went to my TV>media>folders and there were the thumbnails...perfect, I was thrilled. The only initial drawback was it would not render my Canon RAW files, but that was understandable...future enhancement soon please. Later, I discovered that not all of my folders and pictures were added. Is there some kind of limit on the number of folders and/or files in a directory? I forced a refresh and still the other files would not show. They are there on the hard drive under the root directory d:\pictures….

Problem #2
With it somewhat working, I got adventurous and downloaded a movie; did some testing and added the local folder to the Serviio library (D:\movie\....). Once again pleasantly surprised the move showed up and it played perfectly (Green Hornet). All good up to now. I was thrilled again.
So, I got this thing working let's get to it. Over the following days I downloaded eight more movies hopping to watch them over the weekend. Went to the TV>media>movies>folders....NOTHING THERE. Not even the Green Hornet which I saw a few days earlier. What happened?
Went to Serviio on the computer and tried:
forced refresh....no change;
removed the folder from the library and added it again…no change
uninstalled and reinstalled…guess what. The move appeared.

What next????