FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

D5520 transcoding issue

<<

psiho

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 25

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 pm

Post Thu Jun 30, 2011 11:15 pm

D5520 transcoding issue

I'm moving from PS3media server because it cannot stream external /subtitles correctly to my Samsung and D5520 does not support MKV's internal subtitles :(

Anyway, I changed default profile a bit (based on list of supported supported video formats of my TV from manual). Mostly, I play MKVs with internal subtitles, HD, ac3 or dts, h264 (high 4.1). All that can be streamed and played to my TV without any transcoding. But I have a few files with h264 level higher that 4.1. I have those lines in profile that I hoped would help me play those:

  Code:
<Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="mpeg2video" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="384">
   <Matches container="matroska" vCodec="h264" profile="high" levelGreaterThan="4.1" />
</Video>


However, when I try to play those TV return "video codec not supported". For test, I changed profile to transcode everything to this, but then none of 3-4 files played anymore. I also tried with latest ffmpeg version like stated in some posts here bot no change. It just seems that my TV does not like the otput of ffmpeg with this in profile: <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="mpeg2video" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="384">

Anybody else had this problem? I also have C5000 series but will try that one tommorow.
<<

Illico

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4646

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 am

Location: France

Post Fri Jul 01, 2011 7:26 am

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

Its seems that when serviio added the file into library can not determine/detect the h264 profile level, so the matcher you describe in the profile could not take into account.
Check the detailed serviio log file when such file is added to the library (rename this file).
Illico
Sony 2010 KDL-46EX501 | BDP-S373 | SMP-N100 | Windows 8-i7 | Network DD HD-CE1.5TLU2 | Livebox2-UHD86 | ServiiDroid | ServiiGo | BubbleUPnP
Serviio beta tester - Moderator
<<

psiho

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 25

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 pm

Post Fri Jul 01, 2011 8:04 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

I think that is not the problem. I found a way to debug my profile using "Info" button on my tv remote. All MKVs with level 4.1 and below show as "x-mxv" on my tv meaning they're streamed. All those above 4.1 display as something else. Adding level 5.1 to my profile for streaming changes those movies to x-mkv too so profile detection seems to work good.

I'll try configure debuging log and send more info soon.
<<

psiho

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 25

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 pm

Post Fri Jul 01, 2011 8:35 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

Here is extract from log file:
  Code:
2011-07-01 22:23:39,405 DEBUG [WebServer] Incoming connection from /192.168.1.132:56978
2011-07-01 22:23:39,406 DEBUG [ResourceTransportRequestHandler] HEAD /resource/27335/MEDIA_ITEM/MPEG_TS_SD_KO_ISO$0 HTTP/1.0, headers = [getcontentFeatures.dlna.org: 1,Host: 192.168.1.10:8895]]
2011-07-01 22:23:39,406 DEBUG [RendererDAOImpl] Reading a Renderer with ip address 192.168.1.132
2011-07-01 22:23:39,407 DEBUG [ResourceTransportRequestHandler] Resource request accepted. Using client 'IPAddress=/192.168.1.132, Profile=Samsung D5520'
2011-07-01 22:23:39,408 DEBUG [ResourceTransportRequestHandler] Request for resource 27335 and type 'MEDIA_ITEM' received
2011-07-01 22:23:39,408 DEBUG [MediaItemDAOImpl] Reading a MediaItem (id = 27335)
2011-07-01 22:23:39,409 DEBUG [VideoDAOImpl] Reading a Video (id = 27335)
2011-07-01 22:23:39,410 DEBUG [VideoDeliveryEngine] Retrieving resource information for item 27335, format MPEG_TS_SD_KO_ISO and profile Samsung D5520
2011-07-01 22:23:39,410 DEBUG [AbstractTranscodingDeliveryEngine] Getting media info for transcoded version of file Shrek 3 (2007).mkv
2011-07-01 22:23:39,410 DEBUG [VideoDeliveryEngine] Found Format profile for transcoded file Test (2007).mkv: MPEG_TS_SD_EU_ISO
2011-07-01 22:23:39,410 DEBUG [VideoDeliveryEngine] Found Format profile for transcoded file Test (2007).mkv: MPEG_TS_SD_NA_ISO
2011-07-01 22:23:39,411 DEBUG [VideoDeliveryEngine] Found Format profile for transcoded file Test (2007).mkv: MPEG_TS_SD_KO_ISO
2011-07-01 22:23:39,411 DEBUG [ResourceTransportRequestHandler] Sending HEAD response back
2011-07-01 22:23:39,411 DEBUG [ResourceTransportRequestHandler] HTTP/1.1 200 OK, headers = [[Content-Type: video/mpeg,Content-Length: 9000000000,Date: Fri, 01 Jul 2011 20:23:39 GMT,Server: Windows 7, UPnP/1.0 DLNADOC/1.50, Serviio/0.5.2,Cache-control: no-cache,contentFeatures.dlna.org: DLNA.ORG_PN=MPEG_TS_SD_KO_ISO;DLNA.ORG_OP=10;DLNA.ORG_CI=1;DLNA.ORG_FLAGS=01500000000000000000000000000000,transferMode.dlna.org: Streaming]]
<<

psiho

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 25

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 pm

Post Sat Jul 02, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

I also tried changing transcoding target to:

  Code:
<Video targetContainer="asf" targetVCodec="wmv2" targetACodec="wmav2" maxVBitrate="15360">


This should also be supported by D5520 but now TV gives message: "not supported file format". I don't know what else to try but this means I cannot play anything that needs to be transcoded. I've hit the wall with this one.
<<

psiho

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 25

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 pm

Post Sun Jul 03, 2011 6:46 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

ANother discovery is that same profile works god on Samsung C5000 series TV in my room. :?: Those two should have same media players. In their docs, pages on supported formats are almost identical.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17212

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Mon Jul 04, 2011 5:15 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

do you have the latest firmware on both?
<<

psiho

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 25

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 pm

Post Mon Jul 04, 2011 8:56 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

both are brand new TVs came from the shop last week. D5520 was updated to latest firmware during install last week (version says 001007). C5000... I'll check that one in the morning (hard to debug that one as my kid sleeps there)
<<

psiho

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 25

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 pm

Post Tue Jul 12, 2011 11:51 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

Installed serviio on my linux laptop but problem stays. At least I ruled out hardware and OS.

My question now to test further... is there a way to get transcoded file, not stream it. I would like to try it on USB stick.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17212

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:00 am

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

2 ways:

1) play the file and check the transcoded folder for the .stf file (wait for the ffmpeg process to finish), rename it to .mpg and copy
2) enable detailed log, play the file, find the ffmpeg connad that was used and run that command manually
<<

psiho

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 25

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 pm

Post Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:20 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

I have run manually a command found in log, used to transcode file:

  Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Serviio\bin\\..\lib/ffmpeg.exe -i D:\movies\MyMovie.mkv -y -threads 2 -vcodec mpeg2video -sameq -r 23.976 -g 15 -copyts -acodec copy -map 0:0 -map 0:1 -sn -f mpegts C:\Windows\TEMP\Serviio\transcoding-temp-27991-MPEG2TS.stf


... renamed it to .mpg, moved to stick and it played on my TV ok!

I also tried streaming same file from Serviio and it played ok on my TV too (streamed in native format!) here is log:

  Code:
2011-07-17 01:07:31,270 DEBUG [VideoDeliveryEngine] Delivering item '28055' for client 'IPAddress=/192.168.1.132, Profile=Samsung D5520'
2011-07-17 01:07:31,270 DEBUG [VideoDeliveryEngine] Delivering file 'transcoding-temp-27991-MPEG2TS.mpg' in native format


So, question remains, why my SAmsung D5520 reports "video codec not supported" :?:
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17212

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Sun Jul 17, 2011 4:20 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

is the PC running Serviio strong enough for transcoding in real time? I get this message sometimes when I run Serviio in debug mode, which is slower. The TV probably times out the request and displays this message.
<<

psiho

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 25

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 pm

Post Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

When I use above command to encode encode manually, dos prompt displays some stats and I get 30 fps there at start and it drops after several minutes to 25. I didn't go further. I hope I interpereted those ffmpeg stats correctly.

Server is relatively new and uncluttered: Pentium Dual core 2.6 Ghz (E5300) with Windows 7 64 bit and 2GB of memory. I guess it should be enough. How to be sure this is not the problem?
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17212

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:21 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

25 is not enough for real-time streaming, it'll be buffering quite a lot anyway. It might also take some time before ffmpeg starts producing some output. So I guess the PC is not strong enough. Is the video HD or SD?
<<

psiho

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 25

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 pm

Post Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:34 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

video is HD, but video itself is 23,97 fps (if I remember correctly) so by those stats it should not bother my TV first minute or so?

Anyway, is there a way to be sure, in example somehow make it easier fro encoder, decrease transcoding resolution or bandwidth, so it goes up to 40, 50, 60 fps, leaving other settings sae. I guess this would proove it.

I manually reencode movies anyway, but this ability to transcode is a nice way to preview some files before I manualy do it.
<<

Illico

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4646

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 am

Location: France

Post Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

psiho wrote:...
Anyway, is there a way to be sure, in example somehow make it easier fro encoder, decrease transcoding resolution or bandwidth, so it goes up to 40, 50, 60 fps, leaving other settings sae. I guess this would proove it.

You can try to change the output resolution, but not sure the fps grows up...
C:\Program Files (x86)\Serviio\bin\\..\lib/ffmpeg.exe -i D:\movies\MyMovie.mkv -y -threads 2 -vcodec mpeg2video -sameq -r 23.976 -g 15 -s 720×576 -copyts -acodec copy -map 0:0 -map 0:1 -sn -f mpegts C:\Windows\TEMP\Serviio\transcoding-temp-27991-MPEG2TS.stf
Illico
Sony 2010 KDL-46EX501 | BDP-S373 | SMP-N100 | Windows 8-i7 | Network DD HD-CE1.5TLU2 | Livebox2-UHD86 | ServiiDroid | ServiiGo | BubbleUPnP
Serviio beta tester - Moderator
<<

psiho

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 25

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 pm

Post Mon Jul 18, 2011 1:18 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

can I change it in transcoding profile in Serviio? Changing it in ffmpeg cmd line can show me fps grows up or not, but will not proove anything about reasons TV refuses to play transcoded file.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17212

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Mon Jul 18, 2011 1:32 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

not in the profile, you'd have to find a SD content that needs to be transcoded as well
<<

Illico

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4646

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 am

Location: France

Post Mon Jul 18, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

psiho wrote:Can I change it in transcoding profile in Serviio?

Not yet for output resolution, I opened a feature request ticket for future: https://bitbucket.org/xnejp03/serviio/i ... n-renderer
But you can change the output maximum video bitrate with "maxVBitrate" option.

psiho wrote:Changing it in ffmpeg cmd line can show me fps grows up or not, but will not proove anything about reasons TV refuses to play transcoded file.


According to your previous post:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=2697&start=10#p17401
The file created with the ffmpeg command line is streamed in native format without problem, so its probably due to "fps" of the transcoding process too low.
But why TV response ""video codec not supported", I don't know.
Illico
Sony 2010 KDL-46EX501 | BDP-S373 | SMP-N100 | Windows 8-i7 | Network DD HD-CE1.5TLU2 | Livebox2-UHD86 | ServiiDroid | ServiiGo | BubbleUPnP
Serviio beta tester - Moderator
<<

psiho

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 25

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 pm

Post Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:00 pm

Re: D5520 transcoding issue

I'm aware of "probable" couse of this, I'm just looking to proove it. When I come home, I'll try using lower bitrate and see if that helps. If not, I'll reencode file to smaller resolution and then try transcoding that. If any of those 2 passes i guess that is proof problem was in power of server that does transcoding.

I'll let you know the results of test as soon as i execute it.
Next

Return to Samsung

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.