FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Getting Started

<<

deh

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 12:14 pm

Post Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:27 pm

Getting Started

Windows XP, Samsung LE40D580K2K, BT Home Hub
Recently got this TV, connected to Home Hub by cable. On my pc the TV is shown as connected to the network. Installed Samsung AllShare on my pc, all looked ok on TV, ie had IP address allocated but TV said No AllShare devices connected. Gave up trying, then after a few days, switched on the TV and up popped a message that AllShare was connected. All seemed ok for a couple of days then whilst viewing photos, the TV said it had disconnected and I was unable to get it back. Searching the web I found serviio so installed that but still TV says No AllShare device connected. The status in serviio console shows two devices, one with my pc ip address with a red button next to it (I have put this ip address into the Bound IP address) and my TV with a green button next to it. I am very new to this sort of thing so may be doing something really silly, but why should it not work, then burst into life without me doing anything, then just as suddenly stop working. Log extract attached.
Attachments
evidence.txt
(8.32 KiB) Downloaded 54 times
<<

Illico

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4453

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 am

Location: France

Post Tue Oct 18, 2011 2:29 pm

Re: Getting Started

Could you confirm that :
192.168.1.64 is PC IP address and is fixed

Check on your McAfee Firewall/Antivirus, make sure that TCP port 8895 and UDP 1900 are open

What is the IP address of your TV? make sure IP is fixed.
Illico
Sony 2010 KDL-46EX501 | BDP-S373 | SMP-N100 | Windows 8-i7 | Network DD HD-CE1.5TLU2 | Livebox2-UHD86 | ServiiDroid | ServiiGo | BubbleUPnP
Serviio beta tester - Moderator
<<

deh

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 12:14 pm

Post Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:39 pm

Re: Getting Started

Thanks for such a quick reply, thought it would be simple. Added tcp port and UDP to firewall as suggested and TV now connects to PC. I had tried switching off the firewall but that was not enough. What really confuses me is that it did work for a couple of days, but that's computers for you. Hope it now continues to work.
<<

Illico

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4453

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 am

Location: France

Post Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:19 pm

Re: Getting Started

deh wrote: Hope it now continues to work.

Hopefully...
Illico
Sony 2010 KDL-46EX501 | BDP-S373 | SMP-N100 | Windows 8-i7 | Network DD HD-CE1.5TLU2 | Livebox2-UHD86 | ServiiDroid | ServiiGo | BubbleUPnP
Serviio beta tester - Moderator
<<

deh

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 12:14 pm

Post Wed Oct 19, 2011 12:19 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Getting Started

Sorry to say it has not continued to work. It sometimes connects and works for five minutes then disconnects, no reliable way to get it to connect again, sometimes switching TV off/on gets it to connect but not always, seems completely random. Have tried a different cable and connection to the hub.
Have managed to view some photos but when trying to view .mov or .avi files I get a message "codec not supported".
<<

Illico

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4453

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 am

Location: France

Post Wed Oct 19, 2011 1:27 pm

Re: Getting Started

Have you set/fix all IP addresses ( Outside the dhcp router area)?
Illico
Sony 2010 KDL-46EX501 | BDP-S373 | SMP-N100 | Windows 8-i7 | Network DD HD-CE1.5TLU2 | Livebox2-UHD86 | ServiiDroid | ServiiGo | BubbleUPnP
Serviio beta tester - Moderator
<<

deh

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 12:14 pm

Post Wed Oct 19, 2011 3:53 pm

Re: Getting Started

Sorry but I am not very technical. In BT Hub Manager, for the home network each device is listed along with its IP address, there is a button for "always use this address", is that what you mean by setting a fixed IP address?
<<

moltra

DLNA master

Posts: 1870

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:00 pm

Location: Ohio USA

Post Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:26 pm

Re: Getting Started

Yes it is.
Mark
Beta Tester Group
http://www.serviidb.com Online media resource repository

Netgear EVA2000 | Samsung BD-D5300 | XBOX 360 | Windows 7 | Mint Debian 12 | Raxz Maxx
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

deh

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 12:14 pm

Post Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:41 pm

Re: Getting Started

Contrary to what I said earlier, switching the TV on does always get the AllShare to connect. From getting the "AllShare device connected" popup to "AllShare device disconnected" is around 6 or 7 minutes, regardless of whether I use the connection or not, my hub still says the TV is online. The only way I have found to get it to reconnect is to switch the TV off and on.

Return to Samsung

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.