FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Readynas installation?

<<

yupsolo

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:20 pm

Post Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:23 pm

Readynas installation?

Anyone working on installing it on a Netgear Readynas ultra (x86)?


thx for sharing
<<

yupsolo

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:20 pm

Post Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:53 pm

Re: Readynas installation?

no one!?

:(
<<

moltra

DLNA master

Posts: 1870

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:00 pm

Location: Ohio USA

Post Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:56 pm

Re: Readynas installation?

What operating system are you using on it?
Mark
Beta Tester Group
http://www.serviidb.com Online media resource repository

Netgear EVA2000 | Samsung BD-D5300 | XBOX 360 | Windows 7 | Mint Debian 12 | Raxz Maxx
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

yupsolo

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:20 pm

Post Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Readynas installation?

like other NASes:


Linux
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 14163

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:47 pm

Re: Readynas installation?

You'll need :

java 6 (looks like it should work: http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewtopic ... 35&t=45891)
FFmpeg (you can either compile it yourself, or possibly download, googled this: http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewtopic ... 48&t=52993)

and then you should be ready to go, just use a startup script (you might find and answer here: viewtopic.php?f=17&t=71)

If you manage, please share with the rest on these forums.
<<

yupsolo

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:20 pm

Post Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:29 pm

Re: Readynas installation?

Many thanx for your help!


I'll try this tonight.


I hope my low linux skills will do the job!


:)
<<

Cerberus

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4123

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:20 pm

Location: Reading, UK

Post Thu Aug 25, 2011 7:45 pm

Re: Readynas installation?

yupsolo wrote:like other NASes:


Linux


not true some run BSD and some even run a version of windows server and others run custom OS.
Phil Bennett
Beta Tester Group
Wiki | FAQ

Samsung LE40C750 LCD | Samsung BD-C5900 | Sony PS3 | Windows 7 |
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

yupsolo

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:20 pm

Post Fri Aug 26, 2011 11:52 am

Re: Readynas installation?

Did I wrote:

Like ALL other NASes???


yes true.


;)
<<

yupsolo

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:20 pm

Post Tue Aug 30, 2011 6:49 pm

Re: Readynas installation?

I must say that my linux skills are too low for this project.

I really wanted to do it but after many hours and countless readings:


I GIVE UP.


Same thing for PMS... (ps3 media server for readynas)

Sad to see that the're no true media transcoder addons for readynas.


:(
<<

morz

Serviio newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 8:34 am

Post Sun Oct 23, 2011 8:41 am

Re: Readynas installation?

The missing piece for me was the (incomplete) FFMPEG library: The link posted above only came with a crippled FFMPEG that e.g. wasn't able to remux my MKVs to M2TS for streaming to my Sony BDP Blu Ray Player.

Here's a full FFMPEG version:
http://www.readynas.com/contributed/sup ... eg_1.2.bin

(got it from this page: http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewtopic ... 48&t=45661)
<<

mdfire

Serviio newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:04 pm

Post Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:08 pm

Re: Readynas installation?

Hi, first post and just started using Serviio today to stream to my Sony Bravia 2011 TV. I have it working perfectly streaming from a PC, but what I really want is stream from my Readynas Duo. Did the original poster ever resolve this? Is it possible to install Serviio onto the Readynas Duo? Ps I have zero linux skills!
<<

Scouser

Serviio lover

Posts: 51

Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 11:59 pm

Post Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:03 am

Re: Readynas installation?

Hi,
Also a Newbie.
I would really like to get Serviio up on my ReadyNAS Pro 6 4.2.19.
But the main problem is that the OS runs a version of etch (Debian) which has no backports of Java 6.
If anyone has sucessfully got serviio up and running on recent ReadyNAS devices, please do let us know how you did it.
Thanks.
<<

Scouser

Serviio lover

Posts: 51

Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 11:59 pm

Post Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:26 am

Re: Readynas installation?

Literally 5 minutes after posting that last message I found this:
http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewtopic ... 36&t=57017
Which gives very good install instructs to install Sun Java 6 JRE on x86 ReadyNAS devices.
I dont know if there is a solution if your ReadyNAS is not x86 based.

I am almost there. ....

After setting up /etc/init.d/serviiod and /etc/default/serviio, I cant figure out how to set the DISPLAY variable in my SSH session on the NAS so that it tunnels back to my Mac. I guess I have to get X up and running on the Mac, start up an xterm and SSH into the nas from there so that X11 tunneling works back to the Mac. Anyone care to help me out with this?

Basically I just want to start serviio-console.sh but when I do, I get diagnostic that signifies that my DISPLAY variabe is not set. Usual PLAF message comlaints fro Java.

Return to NAS installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.