FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

PBS videos on Serviio 1.3.1

<<

bigfootnlc

Serviio newbie

Post Sun Sep 15, 2013 8:50 pm

PBS videos on Serviio 1.3.1

Greetings:

Apologies in advance as I'm a newbie to the entire concept of internet video, etc.

I've got Serviio working great for photos and audio between my PC and television, but cannot seem to get internet, specifically PBS, videos to connect. So, a few questions:

1. Will this be considered a 'Web Resource' or a 'Live Stream'? I'm thinking a web resource.
2. Some of the documentation leads me to believe that to view web resources across Serviio requires a plug-in of some sort. I've yet to find one for PBS. There is one for PBSKids...
3. For the URL, is it the exact URL that I would use in my browser for a particular video, or is there a way to get it to be able to browse a website looking for videos?
4. Can anyone assist me in this endeavor?

Some more specific examples on the website would be beneficial. ;)

This would seem to be a fairly straight-forward project, but so far has me stumped.

Thanks!!

Neil
<<

Apostate

Serviio newbie

Post Mon Sep 16, 2013 5:18 pm

Re: PBS videos on Serviio 1.3.1

Here is the plugin for PBS.

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=4370

It was buried down in page 4.

I do believe you do set it as "Web Resource" and have to specify URL for each program/show. As to the specific path for each program, I thought I saw it here somewhere... This is not a difficult thing. You can simply go the webpage and cut and paste the URL.

I hope I was helpful but, as a fellow newbie, my knowledge is rather limited and I am pretty much tapped out of it. :P

Edit: When I say specific path for each program/show, I don't mean a particular episode, i.e., episode 3. I meant there is a general program/show page where you can access various episodes. I hope I was a bit clearer.
<<

bigfootnlc

Serviio newbie

Post Tue Sep 17, 2013 2:36 am

Thanks for the reply!