FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

<<

williMeier

Serviio newbie

Posts: 11

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:33 pm

Post Sun Feb 18, 2018 9:42 pm

Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

I couldn't choose a "Mounted Volume" as a library directory in serviio.
Would be great if this can be done in a future Serviio version.
But don't wait too long, because in the meantime I could switch to "SimpleDLNA" ;) :?

Regards
Frank
Attachments
2018-02-18 22_33_45-Local Disk (C_).png
2018-02-18 22_33_45-Local Disk (C_).png (4.49 KiB) Viewed 51 times
2018-02-18 22_33_01-Serviio console - Shared folders.png
2018-02-18 22_33_01-Serviio console - Shared folders.png (12.65 KiB) Viewed 51 times
2018-02-18 12_42_51-Program Manager.png
2018-02-18 12_42_51-Program Manager.png (6.39 KiB) Viewed 51 times
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2381

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:02 am

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

What exactly do you mean by a Windows mounted volume? If you are referring to a mapped network share, there are two different ways to use that. Serviio runs on your computer as a Windows service, and the user name it uses is the general SYSTEM account. This account has limited network permissions. The first method leaves that account alone, while the second requires a change.

The first is to use the network UNC (\\network_location_name\share_name). You need to make sure that the network share has open permissions to allow anything on the network to connect.

The other method should be able to use the mapped drive letter you have, but it's possible you need to use the UNC as above as well. Open the Control Panel, go to Administrative Tools, then open the Services applet. Scroll down to the Serviio entry and double-click on the entry. In the panel that opens click the Log On tab. You will see Local Service as the account used. Change the account to the one you use to log into Windows. You have to enter your account password. Once that is done, you need to restart the Serviio service, either here in the Services applet or by rebooting the computer. Now when you select the networked drive (or use the UNC), Serviio uses your personal account to access the location.

If I have misunderstood what you are attempting to do, please provide additional details.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify video file contents
<<

williMeier

Serviio newbie

Posts: 11

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:33 pm

Post Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:29 am

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

It's not a share. It's simply a second disk which is mounted to a folder.
Attachments
2018-02-23 12_34_31-DM - ASG-Remote Desktop 2012.png
2018-02-23 12_34_31-DM - ASG-Remote Desktop 2012.png (16.61 KiB) Viewed 15 times
2018-02-23 12_14_27-DM - ASG-Remote Desktop 2012.png
2018-02-23 12_14_27-DM - ASG-Remote Desktop 2012.png (8.11 KiB) Viewed 15 times
2018-02-23 12_11_24-DM - ASG-Remote Desktop 2012.png
2018-02-23 12_11_24-DM - ASG-Remote Desktop 2012.png (9.43 KiB) Viewed 15 times
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2381

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:32 pm

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

OK, you should be able to just set your shared folder to C:\Data. Isn't that an option when you browse for a folder to share? Doesn't it appear as a choice?

I have multiple shared locations that are not the root of a drive. In fact, all of my locations are folders on an internal drive:
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (3.51 KiB) Viewed 11 times
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify video file contents

Return to Feature requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.