FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

<<

williMeier

Serviio newbie

Posts: 16

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:33 pm

Post Sun Feb 18, 2018 9:42 pm

Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

I couldn't choose a "Mounted Volume" as a library directory in serviio.
Would be great if this can be done in a future Serviio version.
But don't wait too long, because in the meantime I could switch to "SimpleDLNA" ;) :?

Regards
Frank
Attachments
2018-02-18 22_33_45-Local Disk (C_).png
2018-02-18 22_33_45-Local Disk (C_).png (4.49 KiB) Viewed 553 times
2018-02-18 22_33_01-Serviio console - Shared folders.png
2018-02-18 22_33_01-Serviio console - Shared folders.png (12.65 KiB) Viewed 553 times
2018-02-18 12_42_51-Program Manager.png
2018-02-18 12_42_51-Program Manager.png (6.39 KiB) Viewed 553 times
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2504

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:02 am

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

What exactly do you mean by a Windows mounted volume? If you are referring to a mapped network share, there are two different ways to use that. Serviio runs on your computer as a Windows service, and the user name it uses is the general SYSTEM account. This account has limited network permissions. The first method leaves that account alone, while the second requires a change.

The first is to use the network UNC (\\network_location_name\share_name). You need to make sure that the network share has open permissions to allow anything on the network to connect.

The other method should be able to use the mapped drive letter you have, but it's possible you need to use the UNC as above as well. Open the Control Panel, go to Administrative Tools, then open the Services applet. Scroll down to the Serviio entry and double-click on the entry. In the panel that opens click the Log On tab. You will see Local Service as the account used. Change the account to the one you use to log into Windows. You have to enter your account password. Once that is done, you need to restart the Serviio service, either here in the Services applet or by rebooting the computer. Now when you select the networked drive (or use the UNC), Serviio uses your personal account to access the location.

If I have misunderstood what you are attempting to do, please provide additional details.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents
<<

williMeier

Serviio newbie

Posts: 16

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:33 pm

Post Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:29 am

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

It's not a share. It's simply a second disk which is mounted to a folder.
Attachments
2018-02-23 12_34_31-DM - ASG-Remote Desktop 2012.png
2018-02-23 12_34_31-DM - ASG-Remote Desktop 2012.png (16.61 KiB) Viewed 517 times
2018-02-23 12_14_27-DM - ASG-Remote Desktop 2012.png
2018-02-23 12_14_27-DM - ASG-Remote Desktop 2012.png (8.11 KiB) Viewed 517 times
2018-02-23 12_11_24-DM - ASG-Remote Desktop 2012.png
2018-02-23 12_11_24-DM - ASG-Remote Desktop 2012.png (9.43 KiB) Viewed 517 times
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2504

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:32 pm

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

OK, you should be able to just set your shared folder to C:\Data. Isn't that an option when you browse for a folder to share? Doesn't it appear as a choice?

I have multiple shared locations that are not the root of a drive. In fact, all of my locations are folders on an internal drive:
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (3.51 KiB) Viewed 513 times
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents
<<

williMeier

Serviio newbie

Posts: 16

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:33 pm

Post Sun Feb 25, 2018 10:53 pm

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

OK, you should be able to just set your shared folder to C:\Data. Isn't that an option when you browse for a folder to share? Doesn't it appear as a choice?


No. And this ist exactly my problem. Have a look to my very first 2 screens.
I've just tried it again. No luck. If it helps I could post the screens that are describing the whole configuration of serviio and the ui clicks done for serviio.

Possibly an electron-problem?
-> https://github.com/electron/electron/issues/9002
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2504

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:02 pm

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

Sorry, I missed that image in your post. That doesn't make sense, as it should just be seen as a drive mapping.

However, it's possible that the mount only exists under your user account, which is not the account Serviio uses by default. See my original post about changing the computer account that Serviio runs under. Change it from Local Service to your personal user account and I'll bet that mounted location appears.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents
<<

williMeier

Serviio newbie

Posts: 16

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:33 pm

Post Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:24 pm

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

I ran serviio as local user. Sorry, but no. The folder does not appear in serviio console.

Again:
Possibly an electron-problem?
-> https://github.com/electron/electron/issues/9002
Attachments
2018-03-01 23_16_09-pc1 - Remote Desktop Connection.png
2018-03-01 23_16_09-pc1 - Remote Desktop Connection.png (6.92 KiB) Viewed 485 times
2018-03-01 23_17_13-pc1 - Remote Desktop Connection.png
2018-03-01 23_17_13-pc1 - Remote Desktop Connection.png (24.66 KiB) Viewed 485 times
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2504

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Fri Mar 02, 2018 10:48 pm

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

OK, I'll try to play with that over the weekend and see if my results are the same.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2504

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sat Mar 03, 2018 4:55 pm

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

Well, I gave it a shot and have the same issue. There's something about the way that Windows classifies the mount that doesn't appear as a "normal" folder. It even shows a different icon, looking like a drive, rather than a folder. I have no idea if the method Serviio uses to browse for that location is capable of "seeing" the location. Because of the way Windows displays it, there may be nothing that can be done. I'll keep looking for any way to modify the way Windows displays it, but Zip will have to determine if Serviio can work with it.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents
<<

williMeier

Serviio newbie

Posts: 16

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:33 pm

Post Thu Mar 15, 2018 12:14 am

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

Thank you for your effort. Now I'm not alone anymore ;)

What does Zip think about this "issue"? Maybe perhaps an Electron problem?
Some thing like -> https://github.com/electron/electron/issues/9002
<<

williMeier

Serviio newbie

Posts: 16

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:33 pm

Post Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:43 am

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

btw: I've testet the listing of the directories with c#. no probs. "data" appears as a regular directory.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2504

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Thu Mar 15, 2018 12:31 pm

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

I thought I might have found a registry entry that would allow it, but it wasn't successful. Haven't found anything else so far.

Zip will have to chime in about if it's something he can change. I doubt it's related to Electron, since it does the same thing when using a web browser to access the console.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16655

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Mon Mar 19, 2018 4:48 pm

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

I get the list of folders via Java. So maybe Java doesn't recognize these as FS folders.
<<

williMeier

Serviio newbie

Posts: 16

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:33 pm

Post Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:39 am

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

what is left to do?
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16655

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: Support for Windows "Mounted Volume" is needed

add a bitbucket ticket and I'll look at it at some point

Return to Feature requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.