FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

No sound

<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:45 am

No sound

the last several months have been having problems with no sound on some downloaded torrents. They play fine on the computer, but when using Serviio to the tv, I have no sound.
The programs that often don't have sound are higher quality 720P. Lower quality (smaller size) downloads work fine.
Using Windows 10 Serviio to Sony DVD with DNLA to Vizio tv
Any ideas?
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2907

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: No sound

Need to know what codecs are in the file. Most TVs will only support ac3 audio, so if your file has something else you won't get audio without transcoding. What profile is assigned to your TV?
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:09 pm

Re: No sound

atc98092 wrote:Need to know what codecs are in the file. Most TVs will only support ac3 audio, so if your file has something else you won't get audio without transcoding. What profile is assigned to your TV?

How do I find profile?
Same problem whether playing sound through tv or soundbar
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2907

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:58 pm

Re: No sound

joslinm wrote:
atc98092 wrote:Need to know what codecs are in the file. Most TVs will only support ac3 audio, so if your file has something else you won't get audio without transcoding. What profile is assigned to your TV?

How do I find profile?
Same problem whether playing sound through tv or soundbar


Look at the Serviio console on the Status tab to see what profile is assigned to your TV. If the soundbar is connected to the TV via optical, then it only gets the sound the TV does. So if it can't process the audio from your file then there's nothing to send to the soundbar. Some TVs don't get the correct profile assigned. If yours is set to the Generic profile, then nothing is transcoded and any audio other than ac3 may not work.

See the link in my signature line to determine the audio codec contained in your media file.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Fri Apr 27, 2018 11:41 pm

Re: No sound

All the profiles are fine. Tried others too with no success. Then I tried on another computer with an older version of Serviio. Version 1.4.1.2
Played fine.
I'd like to get the new version working though
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2907

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sat Apr 28, 2018 12:58 am

Re: No sound

Still need to know what profile you are using, and the media information of a file that doesn't play audio. We're all just making guesses without that information.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Sat Apr 28, 2018 1:53 am

Re: No sound

My sony DVD works as the DLNA device and then from there a cable to the tv and optical to surround receiver
The profile for the DVD is Sony BDP-Sx70/SMP-N100 (2010) on both computers. The older version has sound and newer not
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2907

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:57 pm

Re: No sound

What model of Sony BD player do you have? The profile you mentioned is really for older devices. I have a Sony BDP-S3500, and I use the Sony BDP-Sx100 (2013) profile. My connection to the AVR is via HDMI, so I'm unsure if your optical connection is any different. The Sony profiles really haven't been updated since those 2013 models, but I honestly don't know if there's been a need.

What brand/model of AVR are you using? I'm just wondering what audio codecs might be supported.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Sat Apr 28, 2018 6:15 pm

Re: No sound

I have a BDP-S3200 BluRay. The BDP-Sx70/SMP-N100 (2010) profile worked fine with version 1.4.1.2, but some files have so sound using version 1.9
My connection is also HDMI to the tv
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2907

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: No sound

joslinm wrote:I have a BDP-S3200 BluRay. The BDP-Sx70/SMP-N100 (2010) profile worked fine with version 1.4.1.2, but some files have so sound using version 1.9
My connection is also HDMI to the tv

OK, the profile you are using is transcoding in places that you don't need. The profile I use should be a closer match to your player, although as I mentioned it's rather old itself (2013). I also still have a BDP-S3100, which is almost identical to your player. I haven't used it in a while, so I just powered it up and connected to my Serviio box. I've tried several videos with no issue. I am playing them on a 4K Sharp Roku TV. I've tried videos with DTS Master Audio and DD (both 5.1 and 2.0 tracks). I get audio with them all.

I really need the media info for one or more of your files that won't play audio. I need to know what audio codecs they contain, and compare them to the profile you are using.

EDIT: I checked my BDP-S3100 audio out settings, and I do have it set to Stereo downmix. Since I'm connected directly to a TV that doesn't support non-AC3 audio, that makes sense. But I wanted to let you know that I have that setting. Since you are connected directly to a TV, you should probably use the same setting.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:49 pm

Re: No sound

Appreciate your help. I'll work on this
<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Sat May 05, 2018 2:40 am

Re: No sound

hope this info is what you need. This file plays fine on computer, but will not play on tv

General
Unique ID : 113368697500897356511437746421349544816 (0x554A0455593B2C4FA79BE2A04258F370)
Complete name : C:\Users\M\Desktop\Media\The.Cruise.S05E02.720p.AMZN.WEB-DL.DDP2.0.H.264-NTb[eztv].mkv
Format : Matroska
Format version : Version 4 / Version 2
File size : 714 MiB
Duration : 22 min 27 s
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 4 447 kb/s
Encoded date : UTC 2018-04-13 15:10:12
Writing application : mkvmerge v21.0.0 ('Tardigrades Will Inherit The Earth') 64-bit
Writing library : libebml v1.3.5 + libmatroska v1.4.8

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L3.1
Format settings : CABAC / 5 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 5 frames
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration : 22 min 27 s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 4 221 kb/s
Maximum bit rate : 4 500 kb/s
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 720 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 25.000 FPS
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.183
Stream size : 678 MiB (95%)
Default : Yes
Forced : No
Color range : Limited
Color primaries : BT.709
Transfer characteristics : BT.709
Matrix coefficients : BT.709

Audio
ID : 2
Format : E-AC-3
Format/Info : Enhanced Audio Coding 3
Codec ID : A_EAC3
Duration : 22 min 26 s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 224 kb/s
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate : 187.500 FPS (256 SPF)
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 36.0 MiB (5%)
Language : English
Service kind : Complete Main
Default : Yes
Forced : No
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2907

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sat May 05, 2018 7:01 am

Re: No sound

Yes, that is what was needed. Your audio is Dolby Digital Plus (DD+), not standard DD. Most likely your TV doesn't support that audio, which is why you hear nothing. My guess is the Sony profile you are using doesn't pick that up, so it's not being transcoded. I'll have to look at the profile later and see where would the best place be to add a line. It's Midnight and I've been awake for 21 hours, the last 5 babysitting my grandkids. I'm kinda tired. :P
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Mon May 07, 2018 3:25 pm

Re: No sound

atc98092 wrote:Yes, that is what was needed. Your audio is Dolby Digital Plus (DD+), not standard DD. Most likely your TV doesn't support that audio, which is why you hear nothing. My guess is the Sony profile you are using doesn't pick that up, so it's not being transcoded. I'll have to look at the profile later and see where would the best place be to add a line. It's Midnight and I've been awake for 21 hours, the last 5 babysitting my grandkids. I'm kinda tired. :P

hope you didn't forget me sir
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2907

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon May 07, 2018 4:47 pm

Re: No sound

Yep, I did... :oops:

I'm not an expert on the Sony profiles, but I'll see if I can figure it out.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Mon May 07, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: No sound

atc98092 wrote:Yep, I did... :oops:

I'm not an expert on the Sony profiles, but I'll see if I can figure it out.

I'm using a different setup right now. No Soundbar or surround amp attached now
DNLA goes through the same Sony Bluray BDP-S3200 from computer. From there to the TV (Vizio E550i-B2) by HDMI cable. When first trying to play the video, the TV screen says "audio format not supported", then the video plays with no sound.
The TV specs say
DTS StudioSoundtm:
DTS TruSurroundtm:
DTS TruVolumetm:

Here's something else to think about. I burned the file to a dvd and the video plays fine with sound through the Bluray
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2907

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Tue May 08, 2018 12:29 am

Re: No sound

joslinm wrote:
atc98092 wrote:Yep, I did... :oops:

I'm not an expert on the Sony profiles, but I'll see if I can figure it out.

I'm using a different setup right now. No Soundbar or surround amp attached now
DNLA goes through the same Sony Bluray BDP-S3200 from computer. From there to the TV (Vizio E550i-B2) by HDMI cable. When first trying to play the video, the TV screen says "audio format not supported", then the video plays with no sound.
The TV specs say
DTS StudioSoundtm:
DTS TruSurroundtm:
DTS TruVolumetm:

Here's something else to think about. I burned the file to a dvd and the video plays fine with sound through the Bluray


Sometimes BD players may decode audio to what it believes is supported. All BD players have Dolby Digital decoders, so is probably taking the DD+ down to DD. It just isn't doing it with DLNA material. Just because it will work from a disc doesn't mean it will do the same with DLNA material, unfortunately. :x

So, looking at the Sony profile you mentioned (BDP-Sx70/SMP-N100 (2010)), I have a best guess on where to add a transcoding line. At line 1500 in the profiles.xml file is this:
  Code:
<Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="320" forceInheritance="true">
      <Matches container="matroska" aCodec="dts-hd" />   
      <Matches container="matroska" aCodec="vorbis" />
      <Matches container="matroska" aCodec="truehd" />
            <Matches container="matroska" aCodec="flac" />
           <Matches container="mpeg" aCodec="lpcm" />
      <Matches container="ogg" vCodec="mpeg4" />
      <Matches container="mp4" aCodec="lpcm" />
</Video>


Add this line in the Matches section:
  Code:
<Matches container="*" aCodec="eac3" />


Save the file and restart the Serviio process. The easiest way is to reboot the computer. Then try playing a file that didn't have sound before. This section of transcoding leaves the video alone, but will match any file that contains Dolby Digital +, regardless of container. Since you are playing the video with no problem, its best to try adding it here first.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Tue May 08, 2018 2:43 am

Re: No sound

I am able to find C:\Program Files\Serviio\config\profiles.xml and then lost. I can click view source, but can't find a way to edit anything
Last edited by joslinm on Tue May 08, 2018 12:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Tue May 08, 2018 11:54 am

Re: No sound

atc98092 wrote:
joslinm wrote:
atc98092 wrote:Yep, I did... :oops:

I'm not an expert on the Sony profiles, but I'll see if I can figure it out.

I'm using a different setup right now. No Soundbar or surround amp attached now
DNLA goes through the same Sony Bluray BDP-S3200 from computer. From there to the TV (Vizio E550i-B2) by HDMI cable. When first trying to play the video, the TV screen says "audio format not supported", then the video plays with no sound.
The TV specs say
DTS StudioSoundtm:
DTS TruSurroundtm:
DTS TruVolumetm:

Here's something else to think about. I burned the file to a dvd and the video plays fine with sound through the Bluray


Sometimes BD players may decode audio to what it believes is supported. All BD players have Dolby Digital decoders, so is probably taking the DD+ down to DD. It just isn't doing it with DLNA material. Just because it will work from a disc doesn't mean it will do the same with DLNA material, unfortunately. :x

So, looking at the Sony profile you mentioned (BDP-Sx70/SMP-N100 (2010)), I have a best guess on where to add a transcoding line. At line 1500 in the profiles.xml file is this:
  Code:
<Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="320" forceInheritance="true">
      <Matches container="matroska" aCodec="dts-hd" />   
      <Matches container="matroska" aCodec="vorbis" />
      <Matches container="matroska" aCodec="truehd" />
            <Matches container="matroska" aCodec="flac" />
           <Matches container="mpeg" aCodec="lpcm" />
      <Matches container="ogg" vCodec="mpeg4" />
      <Matches container="mp4" aCodec="lpcm" />
</Video>


Add this line in the Matches section:
  Code:
<Matches container="*" aCodec="eac3" />


Save the file and restart the Serviio process. The easiest way is to reboot the computer. Then try playing a file that didn't have sound before. This section of transcoding leaves the video alone, but will match any file that contains Dolby Digital +, regardless of container. Since you are playing the video with no problem, its best to try adding it here first.

I am able to find C:\Program Files\Serviio\config\profiles.xml and then lost. I can click view source, but can't find a way to edit anything
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2907

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Tue May 08, 2018 1:12 pm

Re: No sound

joslinm wrote:I am able to find C:\Program Files\Serviio\config\profiles.xml and then lost. I can click view source, but can't find a way to edit anything


The XML format is just text, so you can use Windows Notepad. However, you'll find it much easier to work with if you install Notepad ++. It's free and provides color coding to the text to help understand it all. Then just copy and paste the line I provided where I mentioned.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
Next

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.