FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

No sound

<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:45 am

No sound

the last several months have been having problems with no sound on some downloaded torrents. They play fine on the computer, but when using Serviio to the tv, I have no sound.
The programs that often don't have sound are higher quality 720P. Lower quality (smaller size) downloads work fine.
Using Windows 10 Serviio to Sony DVD with DNLA to Vizio tv
Any ideas?
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2506

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: No sound

Need to know what codecs are in the file. Most TVs will only support ac3 audio, so if your file has something else you won't get audio without transcoding. What profile is assigned to your TV?
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents
<<

joslinm

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:19 pm

Post Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:09 pm

Re: No sound

atc98092 wrote:Need to know what codecs are in the file. Most TVs will only support ac3 audio, so if your file has something else you won't get audio without transcoding. What profile is assigned to your TV?

How do I find profile?
Same problem whether playing sound through tv or soundbar
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2506

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:58 pm

Re: No sound

joslinm wrote:
atc98092 wrote:Need to know what codecs are in the file. Most TVs will only support ac3 audio, so if your file has something else you won't get audio without transcoding. What profile is assigned to your TV?

How do I find profile?
Same problem whether playing sound through tv or soundbar


Look at the Serviio console on the Status tab to see what profile is assigned to your TV. If the soundbar is connected to the TV via optical, then it only gets the sound the TV does. So if it can't process the audio from your file then there's nothing to send to the soundbar. Some TVs don't get the correct profile assigned. If yours is set to the Generic profile, then nothing is transcoded and any audio other than ac3 may not work.

See the link in my signature line to determine the audio codec contained in your media file.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.