FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

WHS to Linux move

<<

Quillan

Serviio newbie

Post Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:25 pm

WHS to Linux move

Never posted on this forum before but I can’t find an answer to my problem. I hope this is the right section.

I have a very old WHS (Windows Home Server pre 2011) that automatically backs up three desktop computers round the house, shares data and runs Serviio. It’s now getting very old and cranky, PSU fan noisy, DVD/CD drive no longer works etc. Unfortunately WHS is no longer so I need to create a replacement using Linux because Serviio comes as a Linux version as well as Windows. We use Serviio a lot round the house feeding TV's and tablets. It has become very important for all our video and music needs.

My problem is I have no experience of Linux at all and I would place my computer literacy based on a 1 to 10 score at about 3. I don’t know if I need a desktop or server version of Linux although I suspect it might need to be server. What’s the best “brand” of Linux suitable for me coming from a Windows only environment? What brand does Serviio like the most?

This is a list of things I need it to do.

Run Serviio.
Automatically backup my Windows workstations.
Be able to map a drive on a Windows workstation to a shared folder.
Ability to add a PNP internal HDD when my existing drive(s) get full (drive extender in WHS) and let Linux do the rest without damage to my existing data.

I have an old Dell desktop (Vestro 400 with an Intel Core Quad 64bit processor) which is about 7 years old that I want to use.

Hope you can help me but not to technical and preferably with links to where I get the software from.

Many thanks in advance.
<<

atc98092

DLNA master

Post Sat Nov 11, 2017 11:23 pm

Re: WHS to Linux move