FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Help

<<

Smegsie

Serviio newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 7:41 am

Post Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:34 am

Help

I have been using Serviio Pro for a couple of years now, but have recently switched broadband supplier; and now my devices won't connect to Serviio on my PC. When I say devices I mean phones and tablets etc, as I have wireless devices connected to the non smart TVs in the house that still work fine.

I get the following message "failed to open connection to the server", connection timed out

Anybody and ideas, bearing in mind I am not by any means any kind o expert.
<<

DenyAll

DLNA master

Posts: 2063

Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:16 pm

Location: Adelaide, Australia

Post Thu Apr 13, 2017 11:30 am

Re: Help

What apps are you using to connect to Serviio from your phone/tablets (eg. ServiiGo or MediaBrowser)?
Are your phone/tablets connected to your internal WiFi network or are you connecting from your 3G/4G cellular network?
What IP address is your phone/tablets trying to connect to and is it still valid?
Did you change routers when you changed suppliers?
DenyAll
Panasonic Viera CS610A | Panasonic Viera V20A | Sony PS4 | Sony PS3 | Panasonic DMP-BD79 | Yamaha RX-V500D | iPad | Windows 10 | Serviio 1.8 Pro
WinHelper | MediaInfo

Beta Tester, Moderator
Please do not PM me for support as any solution cannot be shared with others.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2113

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:06 pm

Re: Help

If you changed routers with your new ISP, it's possible there is a setting that is hiding network devices from seeing each other. You should be able to turn it off. Sometimes it's for the wireless connection only, so look under those settings as well.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Samsung UN24H4500 TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging
<<

Juergen Herrmann

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 11:34 am

Post Sat Apr 15, 2017 4:42 pm

Re: Help

I have a similar problem, cant play mp3 files, neither with Mediabrowser nor with serviiGo...v1.8 PRO on Synology.

Return to Serviio Support & Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.