FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Roku "Waiting for Media Devices"

<<

ccaptain00

Serviio newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 7:38 pm

Post Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:02 pm

Roku "Waiting for Media Devices"

I am running Serviio 1.9.1 on a custom built WHS 2011 machine. I stream throughout my home to Roku 2016-2017 Streaming Sticks and Ultras, Models 3600R, 3600RW, 4640R, and 4660R.

Quite frequently, when I open Roku Media Player, Serviio is now shown and I get the message at the top of the screen "Waiting for Media Devices". If I wait anywhere from 2-10 minutes sometimes Serviio will show up, sometimes it won't. If I reboot my whole server, it shows up less than a minute after it is done booting. I have tried stopping and starting the Serviio server from the console but it doesn't seem to help. Restarting the Roku doesn't seem to help. Only restarting the whole server seems to help. I have selected the correct profiles in Serviio though I do not believe this matters at all.

Has anyone else experienced this?
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2898

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:34 pm

Re: Roku "Waiting for Media Devices"

The stop/start from the console does not stop/start the Serviio service, only the DLNA server itself. Either rebooting or using the Services applet will restart the service.

I have never encountered that problem, although I've not used my WHS 2011 box for Serviio. But with Windows 7 and 10 I have no problems. It sounds like there might be a firewall issue on the WHS box. I have my firewalls disabled, as I'm not concerned with something on my home network infecting them.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

ccaptain00

Serviio newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 7:38 pm

Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:32 pm

Re: Roku "Waiting for Media Devices"

Do you know what ports need to be open in the firewall?
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2898

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 4:26 pm

Re: Roku "Waiting for Media Devices"

ccaptain00 wrote:Do you know what ports need to be open in the firewall?

I knew you were going to ask me that. ;)
http://serviio.org/index.php?option=com ... e&id=21#q1
...make sure that TCP port 8895 and UDP 1900 are open in your firewall.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

ccaptain00

Serviio newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 7:38 pm

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:14 pm

Re: Roku "Waiting for Media Devices"

I did all the following items but I am still having issues:

Selected my only NIC in the Bound IP address setting. (My server is using a Static IP)

I created firewall rules to unblock TCP port 8895 and UDP port 1900 for both incoming and outgoing connections in Windows Firewall (Private networks only)

I set the Serviio service to startup to Automatic (Delayed Start)

Verified IGMP was disabled in router (Asus RT-N66U)



Should I give all my Rokus a static IPs?

It seems to take longer on the streaming sticks (Models 3600R and 3600RW from 2016)

Dan, I see you are using streaming sticks, have you ever had this issue?
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2898

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:56 pm

Re: Roku "Waiting for Media Devices"

I can't say that I have, although I typically only use my Stick in hotel TVs when I'm traveling, so don't have access to Serviio. And there's no way to assign a static IP on your Roku. You're stuck with DHCP.

I do recall someone else having issues with WHS 2011, but I thought it was resolved. Can't remember what might have been a solution. I did a quick search and couldn't find anything about it, however. It's entirely possible that it's a server related issue. Time permitting I'll install Serviio on my WHS 2011 box and see if I have any issues. All I'm really using it for right now is a DNS server, so I may end up wiping it and putting something different on it. ReactOS looks interesting, even though they're only duplicating Windows XP at the moment.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

ccaptain00

Serviio newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 7:38 pm

Post Sun Apr 01, 2018 1:22 am

Re: Roku "Waiting for Media Devices"

I have tried several things with no luck.
BTW I have 6 Rokus.
3 - 2016 Streaming Sticks - Models 3600Rs / 3600RWs
1 - 2016 Ultra - Models 4640RW
2 - 2017 Ultra - Models 4660R
I am getting the same behavior on all of them.
I open Roku Media Player and get the message "Waiting on Media Devices".
I wait anywhere from 2 - 10 minutes and Serviio will finally show up. Running Serviio 1.9.1 on WHS 2011 (i7 4770T, 8 GB Ram, Gigabit LAN).
I found that if I stop and start the Seviio Service (not the server), Serviio will show up almost instantly.
I can start playing a movie, hit the home button, reopen Roku Media Player, and I get "Waiting on Media Devices" again.

I always have transcoding disabled. So ,I tried the Generic DLNA profile and the correct Roku 1080/4K Media Player (2016+) profiles. It made no difference.

Today I gave each Roku a reserved IP address in my Asus Router, then rebooted the router and each Roku. I then assigned profiles. It made no difference.

I have not tried uninstalling and reinstalling Serviio, as my library is quite large and would take forever to rebuild.
<<

ccaptain00

Serviio newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 7:38 pm

Post Sun Apr 01, 2018 1:46 am

Re: Roku "Waiting for Media Devices"

I have also completely disabled Windows Firewall on my WHS 2011 machine.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2898

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:13 am

Re: Roku "Waiting for Media Devices"

I'm pretty much at a loss. All I can point to is it being a Windows server, rather than a desktop OS. I've spent most of today installing a new SSD as my OS drive on my main Serviio computer and reinstalling Windows 10 clean. I was hoping to try installing it on my WHS 2011 box, just to try it, but I'm not sure I'll have the time. And I have to fly to DC on Monday for the week. But I will find time to give it a shot. But there must be something about the server OS that is causing a problem.

EDIT: Well, I decided to just make time. I did a clean install of 1.9.1, and added a single media folder. I then tried my Insignia Roku TV and saw the server in the list. I was able to browse the one folder I configured, and am currently playing a video with no issue. I'll try some of my other Roku players, but I'm certain they will work as well.

I did have to make one change on the WHS, and that was to completely disable the firewall for all three profiles (domain, private and public). Even though only one profile was active, I decided to disable all three. Before I disabled the firewall, I couldn't even access the console from the server itself.

One thing: did you install WHS as a headless install, or does it have the full GUI? My install is the full DUI, but one person that was having a problem had install server headless.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

ccaptain00

Serviio newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 7:38 pm

Post Sun Apr 01, 2018 4:24 am

Re: Roku "Waiting for Media Devices"

My Windows Server has a GUI.

I believe I have fixed it. The F.A.Q states "There have been problems with some routers' IGMP settings. Turning IGMP proxy off resolved the issue."
This was disabled my default on my router. I never messed with it.

But under the LAN settings, in the IPTV tab, I enabled "Enable multicast routing (IGMP Proxy)" and I enabled "Enable efficient multicast forwarding (IGMP Snooping)"

It now only takes a second to display Serviio. What's funny is how this didn't effect the DNLA app on the Samsung TV.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2898

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sun Apr 01, 2018 4:29 am

Re: Roku "Waiting for Media Devices"

They probably use slightly different methods to accomplish the multicast. Glad you found it. Since it worked fine on mine, it was puzzling me a lot. :D
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents

Return to Serviio Support & Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.