FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

MediaBrowser not playing H.265 4K material

<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2705

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon May 28, 2018 11:45 pm

MediaBrowser not playing H.265 4K material

I've started picking up UHD Blu Ray movies when I can find a title I like and the price isn't ridiculous. So far, I have Close Encounters, Dracula (1992), Independence Day, and The Fifth Element. I also have a number of 4K demo clips I've downloaded from online, mostly H.265 but a few H.264 video. Audio runs from 2 channel AAC to 7.1 TrueHD and DTS Master Audio. I'm still tweaking the Roku profiles, trying to get them to all play, but today I decided to try MediaBrowser, to see what might play. Unfortunately, out of 19 videos I can only get one to play at all, and it was really lousy.

I logged into my test server so I could watch what the CPU load was, and was astonished to see FFMPEG jump to over 1 GB of memory in use while trying to transcode the video. When I switched to a normal DVD rip, the memory in use dropped to under 20 MB. But the UHD video never actually begins playing. I let it sit from over a half hour, just to see if it were some severe buffering, but no joy.

Log attached. The computer I was running MediaBrowser on is 192.168.0.35, a Windows 10 Home PC. I was using both Edge and Firefox, as I knew neither of them had any ad blocking or other add-ons. I do have such in Chrome, so I don't like to use it for testing. The one file that did at least play (with lots of pausing) was titled Sharp Saturn Rings.MP4. I had re-encoded it to H.264 L5.1, so still 4K but not HEVC. I have another AVC wtih High 10L5.1 in an MKV container. This one too plays, but with no video, only sound. Any video with H.265 just never complete loading. The transport controls never appear.

And for the two video that will play, I see peak video bitrates of almost 250 Mbps. According to MediaInfo, the file has a peak bit rate of 119 Mbps. Why is FFMPEG doubling the bitrate during conversion?

Another issue:

See some strange errors in the log pertaining to a RenderManager error. The IP address reported there is 192.168.0.52, which is my Samsung JU7100 TV. Rarely even use the TV as the player, so no idea why so many errors with it.
Attachments
serviio.zip
(12.4 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16744

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Tue May 29, 2018 8:09 am

Re: MediaBrowser not playing H.265 4K material

are you playing in Original quality? And does your browser support H265 natively? If yes to both, there will be no transcoding.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2705

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Wed May 30, 2018 12:09 am

Re: MediaBrowser not playing H.265 4K material

According to this page: https://helgeklein.com/blog/2017/12/bro ... eleration/ only Edge and Internet Explorer support H.265, and apparently only if the GPU is capable of decoding it. It doesn't appear that the GPU on this computer supports it. So, on this computer there is no support via the browser or GPU. Does MediaBrowser recognize that and attempt to transcode? I do have the Content Delivery setting on the Remote tab on High.

Sorry, I didn't even consider browser support for a particular codec. I thought MB would just transcode as necessary.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16744

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Wed May 30, 2018 1:07 pm

Re: MediaBrowser not playing H.265 4K material

yes, you're right, it transcodes h265 at the moment (from application-profiles.xml):

  Code:
<Matches container="*" vCodec="h265" /> <!-- uncomment if your browser supports H265 natively -->


Re the log, I see this:

  Code:
2018-05-28 16:13:46,442 WARN  [ProcessExecutor] Process cmd has a return code of 1! This is a possible error. Detailed output follows.
Past duration 0.999992 too large
Past duration 0.999931 too large
frame= 2653 fps= 13 q=15.0 size=N/A time=00:01:50.63 bitrate=N/A dup=0 drop=1 speed=0.534x
Past duration 0.999992 too large
Past duration 0.999931 too large


So apparently ffmpeg crashes. You could enable detailed logging and try the ffmpeg command line Serviio uses yourself. Then try a different FFmpeg build.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2705

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Thu May 31, 2018 3:07 am

Re: MediaBrowser not playing H.265 4K material

I think that error was from when I killed ffmpeg. But I did enable the debug log and give it a go. Used Edge again, log file attached. While it was running I checked my transcode folder and did see the transcoding in progress. I was even able to load the m3u8 file in VLC and begin playing the movie. But nothing happened in MediaBrowser. So FFMPEG is working correctly, but again I see the ffmpeg process using over 1 GB of memory, and of course the CPU is pegged at 100%. Never see that (memory used) on any other transcoding. I also tried a 64 bit version of ffmpeg from May 8, with no change.

So right now, after starting the playback attempt several minutes ago, I have 15 TS segment files in the transcoding folder, and can play them with VLC without issue. But Media Browser is still just a black window. If I mouse-over the playback window, the transport controls do not appear like they do during a normal playback.
Attachments
serviio.zip
(71.05 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16744

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Thu May 31, 2018 7:26 pm

Re: MediaBrowser not playing H.265 4K material

I'd say the memory/cpu is fine, h265 is a cpu intensive and 4k on top is going to take some resources.

you could enable dev tools in Edge / Chrome and see the network calls MediaBrowser is making or if there are any errors in the JavaScript console.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2705

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Thu May 31, 2018 10:12 pm

Re: MediaBrowser not playing H.265 4K material

Ok, never played with Developer Tools before in the browser, so lets see if I get this right.

Opened Media Browser, then opened the DT panel. Selected Console. Browsed to the 4K movie and clicked the Play icon. The following errors appeared:

  Code:
 HTTP500: SERVER ERROR - The server encountered an unexpected condition that prevented it from fulfilling the request.
(XHR)GET - http://media:23424/cds/resource/1190/MEDIA_ITEM/HLS-0/ORIGINAL.m3u8?profile=html5&clientName=MediaBrowser&authToken=9c0fc49a18f24dcc8983630ec1a03fa7

9 SCRIPT5007: Unable to get property 'length' of undefined or null reference                                     MediaBrowser-1.9.2-11.js (17,16429)

The SCRIPTS007 error appeared after about 10 seconds or so after I clicked play, while the server error occurred immediately. The number 9 in front of the scripts error seems to be the number if times the error occurred. It started at three, climbed to 9, and now has dropped back to 8. However, I've stopped the playback attempt and started some 1080 and 480 content, both which played fine and no further console errors were shown.

Is it possible that MediaBrowser didn't wait long enough for the m3u8 file to be created? I noticed that when I was watching the transcoding folder it didn't appear immediately, nor did the first .TS file. I could time it if that would be of any help to you.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16744

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Mon Jun 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: MediaBrowser not playing H.265 4K material

Looks like Serviio failed (maybe ffmpeg fail) and returned 500 http status code (Internal Server Error), which the player in MediaBrowser cannot deal with.

So at the time of that error, you should see a failure in serviio.log (which would respond to the player with the 500 error)

Return to Serviio Support & Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.