FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Movie with no sound on Roku

<<

buildup

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:37 pm

Post Mon Apr 16, 2018 8:19 pm

Movie with no sound on Roku

Hello,

I upgraded to Serviio Pro but I am using Serviio 1.4.1.2

The movies don't buffer on version 1.4.1.2

I have sound on some movies uploaded from Serviio to Roku; but
some movies don't have sound when uploaded to the Roku but they have sound
on the desktop computer.

Can this be fixed?

Can you please help?

  Code:
 General
Complete name                            : E:\Vuze Downloads\Maze.Runner.The.Death.Cure.2018.720p.BluRay.H264.AAC-RARBG\Maze.Runner.The.Death.Cure.2018.720p.BluRay.H264.AAC-RARBG.mp4
Format                                   : MPEG-4
Format profile                           : Base Media
Codec ID                                 : isom (isom/iso2/avc1/mp41)
File size                                : 1.74 GiB
Duration                                 : 2 h 23 min
Overall bit rate                         : 1 730 kb/s
Movie name                               : Maze.Runner.The.Death.Cure.2018.720p.BluRay.H264.AAC-RARBG
Encoded date                             : UTC 2018-04-12 01:03:48
Tagged date                              : UTC 2018-04-12 01:03:48
Writing application                      : Lavf57.83.100
Comment                                  : Maze.Runner.The.Death.Cure.2018.720p.BluRay.H264.AAC-RARBG

Video
ID                                       : 1
Format                                   : AVC
Format/Info                              : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                           : High@L4.1
Format settings                          : CABAC / 4 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC                   : Yes
Format settings, RefFrames               : 4 frames
Codec ID                                 : avc1
Codec ID/Info                            : Advanced Video Coding
Duration                                 : 2 h 23 min
Bit rate                                 : 1 500 kb/s
Width                                    : 1 280 pixels
Height                                   : 536 pixels
Display aspect ratio                     : 2.40:1
Frame rate mode                          : Constant
Frame rate                               : 23.976 (23976/1000) FPS
Color space                              : YUV
Chroma subsampling                       : 4:2:0
Bit depth                                : 8 bits
Scan type                                : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)                       : 0.091
Stream size                              : 1.51 GiB (87%)
Writing library                          : x264 core 152 r2851M ba24899
Encoding settings                        : cabac=1 / ref=4 / deblock=1:-1:-1 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=umh / subme=9 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.15 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=24 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=2 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-3 / threads=32 / lookahead_threads=4 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=50 / rc=2pass / mbtree=1 / bitrate=1500 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=69 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / vbv_maxrate=31250 / vbv_bufsize=31250 / nal_hrd=none / filler=0 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=3:1.00
Encoded date                             : UTC 2018-04-12 01:03:48
Tagged date                              : UTC 2018-04-12 01:03:48

Audio
ID                                       : 2
Format                                   : AAC
Format/Info                              : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile                           : LC
Codec ID                                 : mp4a-40-2
Duration                                 : 2 h 23 min
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 224 kb/s
Channel(s)                               : 2 channels
Channel(s)_Original                      : 6 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate                               : 46.875 FPS (1024 SPF)
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Stream size                              : 231 MiB (13%)
Language                                 : English
Default                                  : Yes
Alternate group                          : 1
Encoded date                             : UTC 2018-04-12 01:03:48
Tagged date                              : UTC 2018-04-12 01:03:48
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2799

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Apr 16, 2018 9:12 pm

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

What Roku player are you using? The latest versions of Serviio have multiple Roku profiles that are developed for the newer players. Depending on your player, the new profiles might provide a better experience for you. Your version of Serviio is transcoding everything, even if it might not be necessary.

Are you plugged directly into the TV? If so, your TV might not support AAC audio. What model is it?

From the information about your media, it appears that your media should play without issue. Roku supports the codecs within your container. But again, if you are connected directly to your TV, it might not support AAC. Please provide the information listed above.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

buildup

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:37 pm

Post Mon Apr 16, 2018 10:08 pm

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

I am using Roku III

I am using "Hitachi" TV
Model#: L26D204

I am plugged directly into the Roku Player, with
Roku App : "The Roku Media Player".

I am not plugged directly into the TV.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2799

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Apr 16, 2018 10:37 pm

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

buildup wrote:I am using Roku III

I am using "Hitachi" TV
Model#: L26D204

I am plugged directly into the Roku Player, with
Roku App : "The Roku Media Player".

I am not plugged directly into the TV.


I'm not following you. You are using Roku Media Player. Check. You are not plugged directly into the TV. Check. Then what is the Roku plugged into? A receiver? What model?

I looked up the specs for your TV, and I doubt the AAC audio is supported, although it doesn't specifically list what is supported. I'm not certain the Roku profile in your version of Serviio will transcode AAC audio, since Roku supports it. But the Roku cannot convert it to something your TV would support.

The Roku 3 (two models, 4200 and 4230) should have sufficient power to play HD content without requiring transcoding or bitrate throttling. However, it is a 3rd generation model, and they are now on the 6th generation. But if it still works well for you, no problem.

Are you using wireless, or is the Roku connected via Ethernet to your network? Doesn't mean anything for your audio issue, but might be something that caused you to have buffering issues in the past.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

buildup

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:37 pm

Post Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:13 am

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

The Roku is connected to the "Hitachi" TV.

The Roku is wireless.

The movies that play sound on the Roku are 2 channel audio.

The movies that won't play sound on the Roku are 6 channel audio.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2799

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:06 pm

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

buildup wrote:The Roku is connected to the "Hitachi" TV.

The Roku is wireless.

The movies that play sound on the Roku are 2 channel audio.

The movies that won't play sound on the Roku are 6 channel audio.


OK, got it now. Your TV can't handle multi-channel AAC, so the sound needs to be transcoded to multi-channel AC3 or stereo AAC. One thing you might try is changing the Roku audio setting from Auto to Stereo. That should force the Roku to only send 2 channel audio, and might resolve your issue. Otherwise, we'll have to make some changes to the Roku profile you are using. But try that setting change first.

Like I mentioned before, the latest version of Serviio has new Roku profiles that might work better for your Roku 3. It should be able to use the profile labeled "Roku 1080 Player". I'm not at home, so can't quote the precise name of the profile. :oops:
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

buildup

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:37 pm

Post Thu May 10, 2018 12:19 am

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

I believe Roku will have to improve to include 6 channel audio movies, it simply will not
make any sound like the 2 channel audio movies.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2799

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Thu May 10, 2018 1:22 am

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

This is a quote from the Roku support page that describes what media is supported:

Support for AAC (Advanced Audio Coding)

Roku devices do not support AAC pass-through. Instead, Stereo AAC is transcoded to PCM stereo.

Roku TVs and some Roku players decode 5.1 AAC to PCM stereo for headphone, internal speaker, and HDMI/ S/PDIF (optical) output. However, Roku devices that support Dolby Audio decode connected via HDMI or S/PDIF (optical) to an A/V receiver that also supports Dolby Audio, will convert the audio to Dolby Digital 5.1.

https://support.roku.com/article/208754 ... and-photos

It doesn't appear that they support multi-channel AAC at this time. Another line on the same page says that Roku TVs and some players can decode the audio into AC-3 5.1. The only current models that support that are the TVs. I believe from what they say that the remotes with headphone jacks might do the same, but only for the remote audio jack. Since your Roku 3 has such a remote, you could test that theory.

I only know of one player that can decode to AC-3, and that is the 2016 version of the Ultra (model 4640). The current Ultra no longer supports AC-3 audio decoding. I don't know of any way to add a line to a Roku profile to detect multi-channel AAC and decode it, but leave the 2 channel audio alone.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

DenyAll

DLNA master

Posts: 2175

Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:16 pm

Location: Adelaide, Australia

Post Thu May 10, 2018 3:10 pm

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

The aMultichannel switch in your matches command should do what you need.
http://www.serviio.org/index.php?option ... icle&id=24
DenyAll
Panasonic Viera CS610A | Panasonic Viera V20A | Sony PS4 | Sony PS3 | Panasonic DMP-BD79 | Yamaha RX-V500D | iPad | Windows 10 | Serviio 1.9 Pro
WinHelper | MediaInfo

Beta Tester, Moderator
Please do not PM me for support as any solution cannot be shared with others.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2799

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Thu May 10, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

DenyAll wrote:The aMultichannel switch in your matches command should do what you need.
http://www.serviio.org/index.php?option ... icle&id=24


Thanks for that DenyAll. Never noticed that one before. Do you know of an example of that in use? Can I add it to a Matches line to just detect multi-channel AAC? I just am not certain of the proper line formatting for it. I could add that to the Roku profiles. Of course, we won't have another update until 1.10, and since 1.9.2 was just released it's probably going to be a while.

I don't have any files with 5.1 AAC, so have no way of testing such a line. Perhaps if we can put something together buildup could test it.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

DenyAll

DLNA master

Posts: 2175

Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:16 pm

Location: Adelaide, Australia

Post Fri May 11, 2018 8:16 am

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

There is an example in the Xbox 360 profile.

In your "Roku Media Player" profile (RokuMPApp), you'd probably do something like:

    <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="aac" aBitrate="128" forceStereo="true">
    <Matches container="*" vCodec="mpeg4" aCodec="mp3" />
    <Matches container="*" vCodec="msmpeg4" aCodec="mp3" />
    <Matches container="*" vCodec="h264" aCodec="aac" aMultichannel="true" />
    <!-- for no surround passthrough uncomment the following two lines -->
    <!-- <Matches container="*" vCodec="mpeg4" aCodec="ac3" /> -->
    <!-- <Matches container="*" vCodec="msmpeg4" aCodec="ac3" /> -->
    </Video>
Does the the Roku supports AC-3 multichannel - if so, you could transcode it to AC3 and retain the multichannel by changing that first line to:

    <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="384">
Not sure you need the aBitrate either (without it Serviio will transcode to the source bitrate). Keep it in but if any issues try without.

ps. Sorry, cant help you test as I don't have a Roku. AAC 5.1 files for for testing - try here: https://www2.iis.fraunhofer.de/AAC/multichannel.html
DenyAll
Panasonic Viera CS610A | Panasonic Viera V20A | Sony PS4 | Sony PS3 | Panasonic DMP-BD79 | Yamaha RX-V500D | iPad | Windows 10 | Serviio 1.9 Pro
WinHelper | MediaInfo

Beta Tester, Moderator
Please do not PM me for support as any solution cannot be shared with others.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2799

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Fri May 11, 2018 1:53 pm

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

Excellent, thanks. Yes, Roku support AC-3 5.1, so that is another option. I'll try working on this later.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2799

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Fri May 11, 2018 7:29 pm

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

Can't get RMP to recognize the MP4 container as a valid audio track. Need to play around a bit more. Or perhaps because those demo files are audio only, and don't contain video. I'll have to see if I can find a test file with video and multi-channel AAC.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2799

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Fri May 11, 2018 7:48 pm

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

@buildup

OK, just tested this on one of my Roku TVs, and was successful getting audio. I believe your Roku 3 will do the same, but it has to be added to a different profile.

So, here's what you need to do. I'll push this out on the next Serviio update, but until then we can get you going.

Open the profiles.xml file in the config folder where Serviio is installed. On Windows, the default location is C:\Program Files\Serviio\config. The file is written in XML, which is all text based. Notepad++ is a great text editor for this. You need to find the profile that begins on line 2707. The line begins
  Code:
<Profile id="RokuNo4kApp" name="Roku 1080 Media Player (2016+)" extendsProfileId="RokuMPApp">

Now, there is a transcoding section that begins at line 2698. Follow it down to the second video section, on line 2705. After the Matches line that has "truehd" /> at the end, paste this on a new line directly below it:
  Code:
<Matches container="*" vCodec="h264" aCodec="aac" aMultichannel="true" />


The entire section should now look like this:
  Code:
<Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="512">
      <Matches container="*" vCodec="h264" aCodec="truehd" />
      <Matches container="*" vCodec="h264" aCodec="aac" aMultichannel="true" />
      <!-- if you have audio issues with DTS HD Audio, uncomment the following line to transcode DTS-HD to DD -->
      <!--<Matches container="*" vCodec="h264" aCodec="dts-hd" /> -->
</Video>

Save the file, then either restart the Serviio service or reboot your computer. If you have Serviio 1.9.2 installed, you can open the console and on the Status tab at the very bottom there is a Stop Server button. Click that, then click it again to start the server. This will reload the profiles file.

Make sure you have the "Roku 1080 Media Player (2016+)" profile selected for your player on the Status tab and try playing the videos without sound.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

buildup

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:37 pm

Post Sat Jun 16, 2018 6:15 am

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

This sounds somewhat complicated.

Can you help me with this through some kind of software where you can see
what i'm doing?
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2799

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sun Jun 17, 2018 2:55 am

Re: Movie with no sound on Roku

buildup wrote:This sounds somewhat complicated.

Can you help me with this through some kind of software where you can see
what i'm doing?


I would not be comfortable connecting to your computer remotely. I've provided the instructions as clearly as I can, but I completely understand how someone could feel lost in the XML code. That's why I offered line numbers, so you would know exactly where I was pointing to.

However, there's really nothing really bad to can do to the file if you save a copy first. Then you can play around with the profile to your heart's content, and if you bugger it up you just replace it with the copy you made first. Making a copy of a file before editing is always a good idea, although I'll be the first to admit I don't always do it myself.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents

Return to Serviio Support & Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.