FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

[SOLVED] Serviio 1.8/1.9 not showing up on devices

<<

Luckyfriend222

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 41

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:49 am

Post Fri May 26, 2017 7:56 pm

[SOLVED] Serviio 1.8/1.9 not showing up on devices

Hi All

I have been using Serviio since v1.2, so this is not my first rodeo. Tried to upgrade from V1.6.1 to V1.8, but ended up with none of my Samsung devices seeing the Serviio "service" on my LAN. On 1.6.1 both devices worked flawlessly. Although my TV showed up in 1.6 as a Unrecognised Device, it still played the content. But, I wanted to upgrade my serviio to get on the latest version, and now none of the devices that worked previously, is discovering the service.

I ended up canning the "upgraded" 1.8, and re-installing from scratch. Still the problem persists. At least 1.8 shows my TV as the correct Samsung 7351 55"

I am uploading the log.

My system is:

Fedora 21 64bit
ffmpeg version 2.4.11
java version "1.8.0_121"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_121-b13)

Samsung Blu-Ray E4500K
Samsung UA55K7351KXXA


Any help would be appreciated? Please?
Attachments
serviio.log
(63.74 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
Last edited by Luckyfriend222 on Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:23 am, edited 2 times in total.
<<

freaknik

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 107

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:05 pm

Post Fri May 26, 2017 9:54 pm

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

Your devices are timing out in the lan:

2017-05-26 21:47:42,886 WARN [RendererManager] Error while retrieving renderer description: Read timed out


This is repeated many times.
<<

Luckyfriend222

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 41

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:49 am

Post Sat May 27, 2017 7:35 am

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

Yeah but this is not a LAN issue. Sorry to say. I reverted back to 1.6.1 and it showed up IMMEDIATELY. And it is working. My BR player has been working with all version up to and including 1.6.1 flawlessly. So this may be the error message, but I can assure you that is not the root cause. In any case, 1G running to all of it, traceroutes show less than 1ms response time. And all devices are up. There must have been a change in the way that Serviio "discovers" devices, or the way it "adevertises" itself to devices. I am not a coding expert, and not a JAVA expert, I am however a network architect by trade, and I am 99.999% sure the network is not the problem here.
<<

Luckyfriend222

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 41

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:49 am

Post Sat May 27, 2017 7:42 am

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

Just to show you, ping and traceroute times for the network:

ping 192.168.2.13
PING 192.168.2.13 (192.168.2.13) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.2.13: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.326 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.13: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.298 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.13: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.358 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.13: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.360 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.13: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.343 ms

traceroute 192.168.2.13
traceroute to 192.168.2.13 (192.168.2.13), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 192.168.2.13 (192.168.2.13) 0.290 ms 0.275 ms 0.362 ms

And I just booted my TV, Serviio shows up in less than 5 seconds after I boot it, so the discovery in 1.6.1 is working 100%, which makes me believe this is not a LAN issue, and that the log entry is a "false" recording of the problem.
<<

freaknik

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 107

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:05 pm

Post Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:00 pm

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

Sometimes if I turn my Blu-ray off and on that helps.

Sorry, I'm not a programmer either.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16495

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:14 pm

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

Luckyfriend222 wrote:Yeah but this is not a LAN issue. Sorry to say. I reverted back to 1.6.1 and it showed up IMMEDIATELY. And it is working.


I assume you're using the same Java version for both these versions? I did have a quick look for changes between 1.6.1 and 1.8 around this area and can't find anything that might be causing this. Will have a look again.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16495

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Sun Jun 04, 2017 2:36 pm

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

could you post detailed log of 1.6.1 and 1.8 when Serviio is starting up? I can't see anything in the code, maybe the logs will reveal something.
<<

Luckyfriend222

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 41

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:49 am

Post Mon Jun 12, 2017 6:54 am

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

Hi zip

Detailed log for 1.8 attached in first post.

Attaching 1.6.1 detailed log as soon as I can generate it, not at home atm.

And yes, to your answer, I installed Oracle Java and used the same JAVA version with exactly the same start-up parameters for both versions. So not sure what is happening.

Will get that log to you a.s.a.p.
<<

Luckyfriend222

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 41

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:49 am

Post Fri Jun 16, 2017 8:24 am

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

@zip

Herewith the log. I use exactly the same Java for both versions. I literally just remove old serviio from /opt/serviio and dump new version in there.

Regards
Attachments
serviio.log
Debug log
(91.29 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16495

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

Thanks, it looks like your TV requests Serviio's DeiceDescription - so it should be ok.

But then I also see a timeout warning in the 1.8 log. I'm thinking these should not be related, but will double check.

  Code:
2017-05-26 21:46:12,688 DEBUG [DeviceDescriptionRequestHandler] DeviceDescription request received for device b3d47380-b220-3f14-b287-c3e3e8f14386 from 192.168.2.13 (headers = [HOST: 192.168.2.11:8895,ACCEPT-LANGUAGE: en-us,Connection: Keep-Alive,USER-AGENT: DLNADOC/1.50 SEC_HHP_[TV] Samsung 7 Series (55)/1.0 UPnP/1.0,Content-Length: 0])
2017-05-26 21:46:12,719 WARN  [RendererManager] Error while retrieving renderer description: Read timed out
<<

Luckyfriend222

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 41

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:49 am

Post Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:26 am

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

Anything else I can try? Anything else you need? Would really like to get this fixed. Thanks for all the trouble so far!
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16495

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

I did try this and it's not related in the code at all, so it was a red herring.

The last option would be to do a Wireshard packet capture using both versions (just the startup of the server, don't stream anything). And tell me the IP of the TV and the server so that I can filter on these.
<<

Luckyfriend222

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 41

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:49 am

Post Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:48 am

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

OK, but busy at work at the moment, but will try this as soon as I have some time, and send the results. Thanks for the trouble!
<<

coredump

Serviio newbie

Posts: 7

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 9:13 am

Post Sun Aug 27, 2017 3:00 pm

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

<<

Luckyfriend222

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 41

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:49 am

Post Wed Sep 27, 2017 6:28 pm

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

@zip

So I have found the problem, at bloody last.

Updating on a fresh install of CentOS 7.4, and serviio 1.9, I came across the following (and with hindsight, well DUH), but the problem is the proxy options I am adding to Serviio. It seems Serviio doesn't honour system proxy settings in Linux, so in order to get updates from websites (art, metadata etc) I have to hardcode the settings to the Serviio launch parameters using -Dproxy.... options. However, the -DnonProxyHost=localhost option is not working for local network discovery of devices. So, it seems, that it wants to go through the proxy whilst discovering for local rendering devices, which it shouldn't. And before anyone asks, the proxy for web related stuff is non-negotiable. It simply has to work.

So in short, I need basically for Serviio to use the proxy for any web content it needs to get, and ignore proxy for local network. If anyone has any idea how to tell Java to do that, I would be forever in your debt!

Any ideas?

Regards
<<

Luckyfriend222

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 41

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:49 am

Post Wed Sep 27, 2017 6:30 pm

Re: Serviio 1.8 not showing up on devices

<<

Luckyfriend222

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 41

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:49 am

Post Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:26 am

Re: [SOLVED] Serviio 1.8/1.9 not showing up on devices

OK so the fix is the following. When adding Proxy commands you also have to add nonProxyHost option, and the syntax MUST BE CORRECT!

so my final proxy parameters look like this:

-Dhttp.proxyHost=HOST_IP -Dhttp.proxyPort=PORT# -Dhttps.proxyHost=HOST_IP -Dhttps.proxyPort=PORT# -Dhttp.nonProxyHosts="192.168.2.*"

Notice the " " at the end. They are also important.

Anyway, 1.9 is now up and running, indexing everything again, and fetching Metadata from the net, and discovering devices quicker on the network.

Cheers
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16495

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:14 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Serviio 1.8/1.9 not showing up on devices

well done, thanks for letting us know

Return to User experiences

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.