FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Disabling transcoding for files like these?

<<

masik001

Serviio newbie

Posts: 9

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:07 am

Post Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:13 pm

Disabling transcoding for files like these?

I'm using the Panasonic Viera (2013) profile for transcoding. Previously, I had modification in it, but I still need something. Files likes these (basically *.avi files) are being transcoded, but they shouldn't be as my TV natively supports them, so I wanted to remove them from the transcoding config.
First, I removed this line:
  Code:
<Matches container="avi" />      <!-- Remove this line for models that natively support AVI's with Xvid video (some ST60's) -->

But they were still transcoded, so I removed the whole section:

  Code:
      <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="mpeg2video" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="384">
            <Matches container="avi" />      <!-- Remove this line for models that natively support AVI's with Xvid video (some ST60's) -->
            <Matches container="avi" vCodec="mpeg4" vFourCC="div3,div4,div5,divx,dm4v,dx50" />
            <Matches container="avi" vCodec="msmpeg4" vFourCC="div3,div4,div5,divx,dm4v,dx50" />
            <Matches container="avi" vCodec="dvvideo" />
         </Video>


Now I can't play them at all, which is strange, because if I copy the same file to a USB drive and attach it to the TV, it can play the file.
What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 5205

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Dec 28, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: Disabling transcoding for files like these?

Often you can play a file over USB that will not play over DLNA. There's nothing wrong, it's just the way the TV firmware handles the two different forms of media. So don't use the fact it plays over USB to expect it will work over DLNA as well.
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 16 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

vibreaza

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 28

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:34 pm

Post Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:04 pm

Re: Disabling transcoding for files like these?

Try replacing

  Code:
<MediaFormatProfiles>
         <MediaFormatProfile mime-type="video/divx">AVI</MediaFormatProfile>
      </MediaFormatProfiles>


with

  Code:
   <MediaFormatProfiles>
         <MediaFormatProfile mime-type="video/x-msvideo">AVI</MediaFormatProfile>
      </MediaFormatProfiles>


This worked for me.


Better yet, try the solution posted in my case by DenyAll

DenyAll wrote:For the AVI files, using the Panasonic 2013 files:
The rest of about 10% are "File not supported".
Can you please post Mediainfo details for the file that doesn't play. You may also want to try putting in:

    <MediaFormatProfile mime-type="video/avi">AVI</MediaFormatProfile>
    <MediaFormatProfile mime-type="video/x-msvideo">AVI</MediaFormatProfile>
    <MediaFormatProfile mime-type="video/divx">AVI</MediaFormatProfile>
Your TV should support all of these, so try them one at a time and/or put all three into the profile (in the order shown, which is how they are in the sink, but try different orders depending on what works best when entered individually).

Below this in the profile is a section:

    <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="mpeg2video" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="384">
    <Matches container="avi" /> <!-- Remove this line for models that natively support AVI's with Xvid video (some ST60's) -->
    <Matches container="avi" vCodec="mpeg4" vFourCC="div3,div4,div5,divx,dm4v,dx50" />
    <Matches container="avi" vCodec="msmpeg4" vFourCC="div3,div4,div5,divx,dm4v,dx50" />

    <Matches container="avi" vCodec="dvvideo" />
    </Video>
Try removing the red line first, and then the green (testing at each stage). This section is transcoding AVI's which isn't needed for (at least some AVI's) your TV (I suspect it will be both sections that can be removed).

Remember when changing profiles, restart your PC (or the serviio service if you know how).


Return to Transcoding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.