FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Help figuring out why this file is being transcoded

<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 5213

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sat May 07, 2016 2:35 am

Help figuring out why this file is being transcoded

Very strange behavior. I tested the file and it plays without transcoding. I can't figure out what it the profile is triggering the transcode. This is for a Roku 2 XS. It supports MKV and MP4 containers with AC3 or AAC audio and H.264 video. Here's the transcoding section of the profile. I've commented out everything I can think of that could be triggering a transcode, but it still does it. This file was created using VideoReDo from a WTV recorded TV file, saving the file as a MKV with H.264 video.

  Code:
<Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="h264" maxVBitrate="12000" forceVTranscoding="true" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="320">
            <!-- for no surround passthrough
            <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="h264" maxVBitrate="12000" forceVTranscoding="true" targetACodec="aac" aBitrate="128" forceStereo="true">
            -->
            <Matches container="*" vCodec="h264" profile="high_10" />
            <Matches container="*" vCodec="h264" profile="high" levelGreaterThan="4.1" />
            <Matches container="*" vCodec="h264" profile="main" levelGreaterThan="4.1" />
         </Video>
         <!-- Remux audio and video streams - for DivX/Xvid in AVI/Matroska -->
         <!--<Video targetContainer="mpegts">
            <Matches container="*" vCodec="mpeg4" aCodec="aac" />
            <Matches container="*" vCodec="msmpeg4" aCodec="aac" />
         </Video>-->
         <!-- Remux video stream, transcode audio only - for DivX/Xvid in AVI/Matroska
             <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="aac" aBitrate="128">
            <Matches container="*" vCodec="mpeg4" aCodec="mp3" />
            <Matches container="*" vCodec="msmpeg4" aCodec="mp3" />
         </Video>-->
         <!-- Remux supported audio, transcode H.264 video if bitrate is too high, transcode non-H.264 video -->
         <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="h264" maxVBitrate="12000">
            <!-- for no surround passthrough comment out the following four lines
            <Matches container="*" vCodec="h264" aCodec="ac3" />
            <Matches container="*" vCodec="h264" aCodec="dca" /> -->
            <Matches container="*" vCodec="mpeg2video" aCodec="ac3" />
            <Matches container="*" vCodec="mpeg2video" aCodec="dca" />
            <!-- comment the following line if you have files with 5.1ch AAC, Roku only supports 2 channel AAC
            <Matches container="*" vCodec="h264" aCodec="aac" /> -->
         </Video>
         <!-- Transcode all audio, transcode H.264 video if bitrate is too high, transcode all other video -->
         <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="h264" maxVBitrate="12000" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="320">
            <!-- for no surround passthrough
            <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="h264" maxVBitrate="12000" targetACodec="aac" aBitrate="128" forceStereo="true">
            -->
            <Matches container="*" />
         </Video>


And here's the media Info:

  Code:
  Metadata:
    ENCODER         : Lavf56.25.101
  Duration: 01:19:36.13, start: 0.033000, bitrate: 2474 kb/s
    Stream #0:0: Video: h264 (Main), yuv420p(tv), 704x480 [SAR 40:33 DAR 16:9], Closed Captions, SAR 213:176 DAR 71:40, 29.97 fps, 29.97 tbr, 1k tbn, 59.94 tbc
    Stream #0:1(eng): Audio: ac3, 48000 Hz, stereo, fltp, 192 kb/s (default)
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 16 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

DenyAll

DLNA master

Posts: 2257

Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:16 pm

Location: Adelaide, Australia

Post Sun May 08, 2016 12:40 pm

Re: Help figuring out why this file is being transcoded

The last transcode block you have is (removing commented components):

  Code:
<Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="h264" maxVBitrate="12000" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="320">
      <Matches container="*" />
 </Video>
This will match all files (container="*") and will force transcoding. Try removing (commenting this entire block). If it still transcodes, it might be the h264 level (MediaInfo will provide details of this for your file).
DenyAll
Panasonic Viera FX800A | Panasonic Viera CS610A | Sony PS4 | Sony PS3 | Panasonic DMP-BD79 | Yamaha RX-V500D | iPad | Windows 10 | Serviio 1.10.1 Pro
WinHelper | MediaInfo

Beta Tester, Moderator
Please do not PM me for support as any solution cannot be shared with others.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 5213

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon May 09, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Help figuring out why this file is being transcoded

DenyAll wrote:The last transcode block you have is (removing commented components):

  Code:
<Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="h264" maxVBitrate="12000" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="320">
      <Matches container="*" />
 </Video>
This will match all files (container="*") and will force transcoding. Try removing (commenting this entire block). If it still transcodes, it might be the h264 level (MediaInfo will provide details of this for your file).


ARGH! How did I miss that? Sheesh. :oops: Must have been half asleep. Yeah, that's my excuse! :lol:

Thanks my friend. Embarrassing, but a simple fix. :D
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 16 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents

Return to Transcoding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.