Page 1 of 1

Transcoding on Roku3 - No audio with some files

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:42 pm
by NumericOverflow
I'm having issues with no audio on some recent files. I've got a Roku3 connected to a "dumb" TV via HDMI. I've also tried connecting to my DTS enabled amp (circa 2008), and still no audio. There's audio when navigating the Roku menus, and via Netflix, etc, but get no sound from certain video files via Serviio. I'm assuming it's an issue with the audio streams in the files, but I can't seem to get Serviio to properly transcode (which is enabled) so I get audio on the Roku3.

Was running Serviio 1.6, just upgraded to 1.7.1 which (unsurprisingly) didn't help.

Can anyone provide suggestions?

I've tried messing with the transcoding profile, but am not finding the right combination (though I don't have much experience manipulating the profiles). The amp I'm using says it supports the following, and it's set to "Auto Input" mode to detect incoming signal type:
Built-in Decoders
DTS 96/24, DTS Neo:6, DTS decoder, DTS-ES Discrete 6.1, DTS-ES Matrix 6.1, Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Surround EX, Dolby Pro Logic, Dolby Pro Logic II, Dolby Pro Logic IIx



Here's the output of "ffmpeg -i"

  Code:
  libavutil      52. 19.100 / 52. 19.100
  libavcodec     55.  0.100 / 55.  0.100
  libavformat    55.  0.100 / 55.  0.100
  libavdevice    54.  4.100 / 54.  4.100
  libavfilter     3. 45.103 /  3. 45.103
  libswscale      2.  2.100 /  2.  2.100
  libswresample   0. 17.102 /  0. 17.102
  libpostproc    52.  2.100 / 52.  2.100
Input #0, matroska,webm, from 'MyVideoFile.WEBRip.X264-DEFLATE.mkv':
  Metadata:
    creation_time   : 2016-10-30 00:02:05
  Duration: 00:27:27.30, start: 0.000000, bitrate: 4816 kb/s
    Stream #0:0(eng): Video: h264 (High), yuv420p, 1280x720 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 23.98 fps, 23.98 tbr, 1k tbn, 47.95 tbc (default)
    Stream #0:1(eng): Audio: eac3, 48000 Hz, 5.1(side), fltp, 640 kb/s (default)
    Stream #0:2(eng): Subtitle: subrip
    Metadata:
      title           : English
    Stream #0:3(eng): Subtitle: subrip
    Metadata:
      title           : English (SDH)

Re: Transcoding on Roku3 - No audio with some files

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 12:39 am
by atc98092
Your audio is in Dolby Digital Plus (DD+), and the Roku profile does not detect it. Reading the current Serviio support, I don't think eac3 is accepted yet as a parameter. The Roku also doesn't support DD+ using the Roku Media Player.

For starters, try using the Directv profile, as that transcodes everything. If the files will now play, we've isolated the issue to your audio.

For a long term solution (unless Serviio adds support for eac3 audio soon), and if the total number of files isn't large, I suggest recoding the audio into plain AC3. This can be done with FFMPEG from a command line. Since you're only converting the audio, it should only take a matter of minutes to do each video. You would only want to copy the audio and subtitle track, and transcode the audio.

Something like this:

  Code:
ffmpeg -i INPUT_File_Name -map 0 -c:v copy -c:a ac3 -c:s copy OUTPUT_file_name

Re: Transcoding on Roku3 - No audio with some files

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:44 pm
by NumericOverflow
atc98092 wrote:Your audio is in Dolby Digital Plus (DD+), and the Roku profile does not detect it. Reading the current Serviio support, I don't think eac3 is accepted yet as a parameter. The Roku also doesn't support DD+ using the Roku Media Player.

For starters, try using the Directv profile, as that transcodes everything. If the files will now play, we've isolated the issue to your audio.

For a long term solution (unless Serviio adds support for eac3 audio soon), and if the total number of files isn't large, I suggest recoding the audio into plain AC3. This can be done with FFMPEG from a command line. Since you're only converting the audio, it should only take a matter of minutes to do each video. You would only want to copy the audio and subtitle track, and transcode the audio.

Something like this:

  Code:
ffmpeg -i INPUT_File_Name -map 0 -c:v copy -c:a ac3 -c:s copy OUTPUT_file_name



1) I tried switching the Roku3 to use Directv profile, but it wouldn't list the media file - kept saying no compatible files could be found. No big deal, I just moved on to try manual transcoding of the audio stream.
2) Using the syntax you listed above, I was able to create a new file w/ac3 audio, and that played flawlessly using the ROKU profile.

Unfortunately, this is a manual fix/workaround, but I've been finding more files that are eac3 of late, so I'm really hoping Serviio supports automatic transcoding ASAP. It's not very convenient to have to log in and manually transcode audio on a handful of files, when everything else is automated. (Yes, I'm aware of the very high lazy factor of that last sentence #nerdpoblems). I like to automate everything as much as possible so it's work upfront and easy on the backend!

@atc98092 - Thanks for the help diagnosing and at least a work-around until Serviio is update to support!

Re: Transcoding on Roku3 - No audio with some files

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:50 pm
by NumericOverflow
Ha!, looks like someone else is having the same problem and created a ticket to get it fixed in serviio code:

https://bitbucket.org/xnejp03/serviio/i ... eac3-audio

Anyone who stumbles across this post with eAC3 sound problems should consider voting on the bitbucket issue so this can be resolved!

Re: Transcoding on Roku3 - No audio with some files

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 1:34 am
by atc98092
I believe eac3 audio will be supported in an upcoming version of Serviio. Not sure if it will be the next one, but I believe it's close.