FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Audio Transcoding: why not AAC

<<

datom

Serviio newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:20 am

Post Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:28 am

Audio Transcoding: why not AAC

Hi,

In Audio Transcoding profile, we can only transcode in mp3 or lpcm, why other formats are not allowed ?

Ex: Vorbis or even better AAC far more efficient than mp3 for lower bitrate.

With those codec audio transcoding should be more usable notably for mobile usage

regards,
Tom
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2907

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:46 pm

Re: Audio Transcoding: why not AAC

Since you can use AAC for the target audio when transcoding video, this is a strange limitation. Just curious, have you tried AAC? Perhaps it's been added and the help page wasn't updated.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16880

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:23 pm

Re: Audio Transcoding: why not AAC

I reopened the ticket, looks like some progress has been made in ffmpeg to make this possible: https://bitbucket.org/xnejp03/serviio/i ... ams-to-aac

Edit: hmm, no, it still won't work

Return to Transcoding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.