FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Audio Transcoding: why not AAC



Serviio newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:20 am

Post Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:28 am

Audio Transcoding: why not AAC


In Audio Transcoding profile, we can only transcode in mp3 or lpcm, why other formats are not allowed ?

Ex: Vorbis or even better AAC far more efficient than mp3 for lower bitrate.

With those codec audio transcoding should be more usable notably for mobile usage



User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2448

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:46 pm

Re: Audio Transcoding: why not AAC

Since you can use AAC for the target audio when transcoding video, this is a strange limitation. Just curious, have you tried AAC? Perhaps it's been added and the help page wasn't updated.

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Roku 2 XS, 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V679 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify video file contents


User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16630

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:23 pm

Re: Audio Transcoding: why not AAC

I reopened the ticket, looks like some progress has been made in ffmpeg to make this possible: https://bitbucket.org/xnejp03/serviio/i ... ams-to-aac

Edit: hmm, no, it still won't work

Return to Transcoding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.