FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Transcoding

<<

user12345678

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 26

Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 3:25 am

Post Wed Apr 04, 2018 6:01 pm

Transcoding

I have 3 setups all running 1.4
1st setup Linux Debian 3.3ghz intel 2gb ram 2tb hdd (will not transcode anything)
2nd setup Win Xp pro 3.3ghz intel 2gb ram 2tb hdd (will not transcode anything)
3rd setup Win xp Pro 3.3ghz 2.5gb ram 8tb hdd does everything that these newer serviios do and more, and I am installing more ram 4gb overclocked

in my experiance with cpu's ram its not the streaming device as per a vet dlna guy said it is all in the ram
All my Rokus work 1 2 and 3 fast as he11

So I just ordered a new system that will take 26gb ram as I have 9 tv's running off same server currently but my cpu temp spikes to 67 when it should be around 50ish
and I will still run Winxp on the new machine unless the transcoding works better with all that ram
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2679

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Wed Apr 04, 2018 6:29 pm

Re: Transcoding

Since it's unlikely you can find a 64 bit version of Windows XP, you should plan on using Windows 7. Otherwise it won't matter how much RAM you have. 32 bit OS (which is what almost all copies of XP are) can only address just under 4 GB of RAM. Also, Microsoft no longer supports XP, so no more updates.

Transcoding is more CPU than RAM, but I would still recommend at least 8 GB of RAM, which requires a 64 bit OS. The more cores your CPU has will help with transcoding. If your servers aren't transcoding, my guess is your player has the wrong profile selected. If they select the generic profile, then no transcoding will ever happen.

I strongly suggest using a newer version of Serviio. 1.4 is really old, and there have been many improvements since then. For one, there are multiple Roku profiles available now. Although Serviio can't assign them accurately because of the way Roku advertises itself via DLNA.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents
<<

user12345678

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 26

Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 3:25 am

Post Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:06 pm

Re: Transcoding

i have 32bit and 64 bit
screw win 7 its worthless
<<

user12345678

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 26

Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 3:25 am

Post Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:23 pm

Re: Transcoding

as per the useless roku profiles i upgraded to the newest and aka greatest serviio only to have ff rw and no transcoding done with any of those profiles
on 1.4 chanru does it for me so i tried that profile and same result nothing.
So i am burned on the new serviio, I was so mad I about bought Plex. I purchased Serviio license 2yrs ago.

I will stick with 1.4 or 1.4.1 even when I do upgrade to win 10. I don't need features i got what I want :)

I hope this helps others with transcoding issues
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 2679

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:09 pm

Re: Transcoding

Well, no, unfortunately you didn't provide any information that will help resolve the issue, so nothing to help others. As to the "worthless" profiles, you haven't provided any info about what Roku player you have and what profile you tried. You also didn't provide any media information. As an aside, with Serviio and all Roku profiles, FF and rewind is unavailable with any transcoded file. But if a file plays without transcoding, it works fine.

Since I created the profiles, I appreciate any feedback you can provide. But the profiles all work correctly with the players I have, with the exception of playing 4K material on a non-4K player. I just acquired some files to experiment with, so I hope to resolve that in the not too distant future.

Not sure what your beef is with Win 7, but I don't share your opinion. I never cared for Vista, but Windows 7 has been rock solid for me, as has 10.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

Enable debug logging Identify media file contents

Return to Transcoding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.