Page 1 of 3

Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:41 pm
by pierrep
Hello

I'm trying to add a value in my SHARP AQUOS profile to transcode audio E-AC-3 to AC3. I have TV HD recording that come with EAC3 audio
When playing such a file on the SHARP TV: I have no sound
  Code:
ffmpeg -i
Input #0, mpegts, from 'xxxxxx.m2ts':
  Duration: 02:30:00.35, start: 81445.521389, bitrate: 9803 kb/s
  Program 1282
    Stream #0.0[0xdc]: Video: h264 (High), yuv420p, 1920x1080 [PAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 26.30 fps, 25 tbr, 90k tbn, 50 tbc
    Stream #0.1[0xe7](qaa): Audio: eac3, 48000 Hz, 5.1, s16, 256 kb/s
    Stream #0.2[0xe6](fra): Audio: eac3, 48000 Hz, stereo, s16, 128 kb/s
    Stream #0.3[0xf0](fra): Subtitle: dvbsub (hearing impaired)
    Stream #0.4[0x10e]: Data: [5][0][0][0] / 0x0005
    Stream #0.5[0x10f]: Data: [11][0][0][0] / 0x000B

So I tried to add a line in the profile
  Code:
<Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="384">
     <Matches container="mpegts" aCodec="eac3" />
</Video>

When launching SERVIIO this line is invalid!
  Code:
ERROR [XmlUtils] XML Profiles.xsd didn't pass validation, reason: cvc-enumeration-valid:
Value 'eac3' is not facet-valid with respect to enumeration '[mp3, mp2, ac3, aac, dca, wmav2, wmapro, lpcm, flac, vorbis, truehd, amrnb]'.
It must be a value from the enumeration.

How to solve this limitation?
Thanks

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:46 pm
by zip
Serviio doesn't distinguish between ac3 and eac3. I'd suggest you transcode it to ac3 manually for now.

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 1:25 pm
by pierrep
Thanks for your reply
Serviio doesn't just use what it is returned by ffmpeg?
In this case perhaps it's just possible to change the XSD profiles file (with a local copy of this file) to add "eac3" in "audioContainerEnumType"?

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 1:40 pm
by zip
nope, it's baked into the code, ie eac3 and ac3 tracks are stored as ac3 in Serviio DB, therefore you cannot distinguish and create a transcoding rule for it (without transcoding all ac3 into something else)

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 3:17 pm
by pierrep
So perhaps it's possible to transcode ac3 to ac3 even it's a stupid operation in most of the cases!
  Code:
<Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="ac3">
     <Matches container="mpegts" aCodec="ac3" />
</Video>

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:23 pm
by zip
It'll work out it's the same codec and use "-acodec copy", so it won't help. There is forceVTranscoding attribute which would not use 'copy' if this was a video codec example, but there is not such a thing for audio.

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 5:43 pm
by pierrep
So, let's wait for next patch of Serviio with eac3 support (or forceATranscoding option)? :P

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:56 am
by guitarboy
I know this is an older thread, but has this problem been solved? Neither my WD TV nor my Panasonic BluRay will play EAC3 audio tracks. Is there any way to force Serviio to transcode these files to AC3 or another audio format?

Muxing the files to another format isn't really an option. I'd rather go out and buy a Roku or other set top box.

If you have any tips for editing the WD TV profile to fix this problem, please let me know.

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:40 pm
by guitarboy
I've just figured out that it's my receiver that can't do DD+/E-AC-3. The WD TV is just doing HDMI pass through, so what I really need is for Serviio to do the transcoding for me from DD+/E-AC-3 to basic DD/AC-3 (or something equivalent).

For those interested, my (hopefully temporary) workaround is to do the following:

  1. Extract the E-AC-3 track to an MKA file using MKVToolNix.
  2. Convert the MKA file to AC-3 using Any Audio Converter (free converter [ad supported], easy and attractive UI, works well).
  3. Use MKVToolNix Merge Tool to mux the original MKV with the new AC3 track.

Apparently some streaming platforms (e.g. Amazon) are now using Dolby Digital Plus exclusively, so this is going to be a growing problem for those of us with older audio hardware.

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 7:46 am
by zip
can you create a bitbucket ticket with some ffmpeg -i examples of eac3 files?

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 8:45 am
by guitarboy
I created the issue https://bitbucket.org/xnejp03/serviio/i ... c3-example

Hopefully that's what you're looking for (I don't have much experience with ffmpeg).

Please PM me if you're looking for more.

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 1:05 pm
by zip
Thanks.

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:34 am
by guitarboy
Issue link has been updated to https://bitbucket.org/xnejp03/serviio/i ... eac3-audio.

If you would like to see this enhancement, please vote for it on Bitbucket.

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 11:02 am
by Tarrasque
Seems like the panasonic 2012 profile has not been updated. When plyaing videos with eac3 it (tv) says audio not supported.

Will create ffmpeg info on file i am using.

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 6:09 pm
by zip
No profiles have been updated. Let me know the needed changes and I will include it in the next version

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:42 pm
by Tarrasque
Here is the ffmpeg -i of the file in question

  Code:
  Metadata:
    encoder         : no_variable_data
    creation_time   : 1970-01-01 00:00:00
  Duration: 01:01:44.00, start: 0.000000, bitrate: 6028 kb/s
    Stream #0:0(eng): Video: h264 (High), yuv420p(tv, bt709/unknown/unknown), 12
80x720, SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9, 23.98 fps, 23.98 tbr, 1k tbn, 47.95 tbc (default)
    Stream #0:1: Audio: eac3, 48000 Hz, 5.1(side), fltp, 640 kb/s (default)



Profile I am using the Panasonic 2011/2012 UT.

I added these lines under the profile, and fixed the issue (not sure if it is the most efficient line of code)

  Code:
         <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="384">
            <Matches container="*" aCodec="eac3" />
         </Video>


Regards

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:33 am
by Brianwuz
Tarrasque wrote:

Profile I am using the Panasonic 2011/2012 UT.

I added these lines under the profile, and fixed the issue (not sure if it is the most efficient line of code)

  Code:
         <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="384">
            <Matches container="*" aCodec="eac3" />
         </Video>


Regards


Thanks Tarrasque,

I followed your lead and made my Sony BDP-S580 profile like this and sound from a mkv with eac3 audio from amazon works:
  Code:
<Profile id="bdp2011" name="Sony BDP-Sx80/SMP-N200 (2011)" extendsProfileId="bdp2010">
      <!-- Same as profile bdp2010, except AVIs with DivX FourCC must be transcoded, no XSub subtitle support -->
      <Transcoding>
         <!-- unsupported codecs will be transcoded to mpegts with mpeg2video and ac3 audio -->
         <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="mpeg2video" maxVBitrate="17000" targetACodec="ac3" aBitrate="384">
            <!-- DivX -->
            <Matches container="*" aCodec="eac3" />
            <Matches container="avi" vCodec="mpeg4" vFourCC="div3,div4,div5,divx,dm4v,dx50" />
            <Matches container="avi" vCodec="msmpeg4" vFourCC="div3,div4,div5,divx,dm4v,dx50" />
         </Video>
      </Transcoding>
   </Profile>

Also a BIG note. If you are having trouble getting the serviio service to start after changing the profile, then you have xml errors. I was pulling my hair out and reinstalling serviio till I figured this out. I had forgotten the closing tag.

Brian

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 2:18 am
by Henderson
I've recently run into this problem with E-AC-3 audio on a few files and can't seem to get Serviio to transcode the mkv files. I've tried both additions above to my profile (and several variations of them) and my player either eventually says corrupt file, or the player locks up with the wait animation going forever where I have to unplug it, it's completely unresponsive.

My player is Sony BDP-S6500 and I'm using the 2013 profile. I tried other profiles too hoping to force Serviio into transcoding the mkv file to force the downmix to stereo, but no luck with any of them. If anyone has tried other profile additions that work, I'd love to know how to do it.

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:22 pm
by dazzknowles
Does anybody know how, or indeed if it's even possible, to get E-AC3 to play on a PlayStation 4? I've tried adding lines like...

  Code:
<Matches container="*" aCodec="eac3" />

to the transcoding directives in the profile but it just says "Cannot play audio. The audio format is unsupported"

Cheers.

Re: Impossible to transcode E-AC-3 audio

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:24 pm
by bembe
Hi.
I have a question regarding E-AC and transcoding.
As far as I have seen - E-AC is enabled in Serviio from version 1.8
However, I have 1.9 version and it doesn't transcode. My Sony Bravia (2013/2104) gives me message "Audio format not supported".
Any tips how to use it?

Audio file info:

ID : 2
Format : E-AC-3
Format/Info : Enhanced Audio Coding 3
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : A_EAC3
Duration : 58 min 7 s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 640 kb/s
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate : 187.500 FPS (256 SPF)
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 266 MiB (8%)
Language : English
Service kind : Complete Main
Default : Yes
Forced : No