FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

No audio in new MKV's, working OK previously.

<<

eddiem54

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 1:39 pm

Post Thu Aug 05, 2010 1:54 pm

No audio in new MKV's, working OK previously.

I have been using Seviio 0.4.1 to view tv series MKV's with no problems until yesterday when any new MKV's play with video only.
The older files which have been played before still play OK.
Mediainfo shows identical properties for old and new files.
I have tried un/reinstall to no avail.

Win7 64.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16790

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:58 pm

Re: No audio in new MKV's, working OK previously.

might be that the new mkvs are not very much liked by ffmpeg, or the audio channel merging is not working properly on those. You can try enabling debug logging, play the file, get details of the ffmpeg command it uses to transcode it and run the command standalone to see what it produces.
<<

harry

User avatar

Serviio newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 2:17 pm

Post Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: No audio in new MKV's, working OK previously.

From version 4.1.1 the author enabled by default the audio header compression. You can remux it by mkvmerge and set "no compression" under the tab "extra options".
<<

eddiem54

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 1:39 pm

Post Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:55 pm

Re: No audio in new MKV's, working OK previously.

Sorry for the delay getting back.
@ Zip. I don't understand enough of the log to find a command. :oops:
@ Harry. Your Instruction worked when I realised I had to set "no compression" on audio and video. 20 - 30 seconds per 1.3GB file.
Thank You.
Eddie.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16790

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:58 pm

Re: No audio in new MKV's, working OK previously.

If you still needit, see my signature for how to enable detailed logging. Then you will see ffmpeg commands in the log (something like "ffmpeg -i somefile .........." at the time when you try playing a file that needs to be transcoded.

Return to Transcoding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.