FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Transcoding on Roku3 - No audio with some files

<<

NumericOverflow

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:56 pm

Post Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:42 pm

Transcoding on Roku3 - No audio with some files

I'm having issues with no audio on some recent files. I've got a Roku3 connected to a "dumb" TV via HDMI. I've also tried connecting to my DTS enabled amp (circa 2008), and still no audio. There's audio when navigating the Roku menus, and via Netflix, etc, but get no sound from certain video files via Serviio. I'm assuming it's an issue with the audio streams in the files, but I can't seem to get Serviio to properly transcode (which is enabled) so I get audio on the Roku3.

Was running Serviio 1.6, just upgraded to 1.7.1 which (unsurprisingly) didn't help.

Can anyone provide suggestions?

I've tried messing with the transcoding profile, but am not finding the right combination (though I don't have much experience manipulating the profiles). The amp I'm using says it supports the following, and it's set to "Auto Input" mode to detect incoming signal type:
Built-in Decoders
DTS 96/24, DTS Neo:6, DTS decoder, DTS-ES Discrete 6.1, DTS-ES Matrix 6.1, Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Surround EX, Dolby Pro Logic, Dolby Pro Logic II, Dolby Pro Logic IIx



Here's the output of "ffmpeg -i"

  Code:
  libavutil      52. 19.100 / 52. 19.100
  libavcodec     55.  0.100 / 55.  0.100
  libavformat    55.  0.100 / 55.  0.100
  libavdevice    54.  4.100 / 54.  4.100
  libavfilter     3. 45.103 /  3. 45.103
  libswscale      2.  2.100 /  2.  2.100
  libswresample   0. 17.102 /  0. 17.102
  libpostproc    52.  2.100 / 52.  2.100
Input #0, matroska,webm, from 'MyVideoFile.WEBRip.X264-DEFLATE.mkv':
  Metadata:
    creation_time   : 2016-10-30 00:02:05
  Duration: 00:27:27.30, start: 0.000000, bitrate: 4816 kb/s
    Stream #0:0(eng): Video: h264 (High), yuv420p, 1280x720 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 23.98 fps, 23.98 tbr, 1k tbn, 47.95 tbc (default)
    Stream #0:1(eng): Audio: eac3, 48000 Hz, 5.1(side), fltp, 640 kb/s (default)
    Stream #0:2(eng): Subtitle: subrip
    Metadata:
      title           : English
    Stream #0:3(eng): Subtitle: subrip
    Metadata:
      title           : English (SDH)
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 5205

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Oct 31, 2016 12:39 am

Re: Transcoding on Roku3 - No audio with some files

Your audio is in Dolby Digital Plus (DD+), and the Roku profile does not detect it. Reading the current Serviio support, I don't think eac3 is accepted yet as a parameter. The Roku also doesn't support DD+ using the Roku Media Player.

For starters, try using the Directv profile, as that transcodes everything. If the files will now play, we've isolated the issue to your audio.

For a long term solution (unless Serviio adds support for eac3 audio soon), and if the total number of files isn't large, I suggest recoding the audio into plain AC3. This can be done with FFMPEG from a command line. Since you're only converting the audio, it should only take a matter of minutes to do each video. You would only want to copy the audio and subtitle track, and transcode the audio.

Something like this:

  Code:
ffmpeg -i INPUT_File_Name -map 0 -c:v copy -c:a ac3 -c:s copy OUTPUT_file_name
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 16 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

NumericOverflow

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:56 pm

Post Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:44 pm

Re: Transcoding on Roku3 - No audio with some files

atc98092 wrote:Your audio is in Dolby Digital Plus (DD+), and the Roku profile does not detect it. Reading the current Serviio support, I don't think eac3 is accepted yet as a parameter. The Roku also doesn't support DD+ using the Roku Media Player.

For starters, try using the Directv profile, as that transcodes everything. If the files will now play, we've isolated the issue to your audio.

For a long term solution (unless Serviio adds support for eac3 audio soon), and if the total number of files isn't large, I suggest recoding the audio into plain AC3. This can be done with FFMPEG from a command line. Since you're only converting the audio, it should only take a matter of minutes to do each video. You would only want to copy the audio and subtitle track, and transcode the audio.

Something like this:

  Code:
ffmpeg -i INPUT_File_Name -map 0 -c:v copy -c:a ac3 -c:s copy OUTPUT_file_name



1) I tried switching the Roku3 to use Directv profile, but it wouldn't list the media file - kept saying no compatible files could be found. No big deal, I just moved on to try manual transcoding of the audio stream.
2) Using the syntax you listed above, I was able to create a new file w/ac3 audio, and that played flawlessly using the ROKU profile.

Unfortunately, this is a manual fix/workaround, but I've been finding more files that are eac3 of late, so I'm really hoping Serviio supports automatic transcoding ASAP. It's not very convenient to have to log in and manually transcode audio on a handful of files, when everything else is automated. (Yes, I'm aware of the very high lazy factor of that last sentence #nerdpoblems). I like to automate everything as much as possible so it's work upfront and easy on the backend!

@atc98092 - Thanks for the help diagnosing and at least a work-around until Serviio is update to support!
<<

NumericOverflow

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:56 pm

Post Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:50 pm

Re: Transcoding on Roku3 - No audio with some files

Ha!, looks like someone else is having the same problem and created a ticket to get it fixed in serviio code:

https://bitbucket.org/xnejp03/serviio/i ... eac3-audio

Anyone who stumbles across this post with eAC3 sound problems should consider voting on the bitbucket issue so this can be resolved!
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 5205

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Tue Dec 06, 2016 1:34 am

Re: Transcoding on Roku3 - No audio with some files

I believe eac3 audio will be supported in an upcoming version of Serviio. Not sure if it will be the next one, but I believe it's close.
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 16 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents

Return to Transcoding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.