FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

<<

littlesir

Serviio newbie

Posts: 11

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 12:14 pm

Post Mon Sep 13, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

zip wrote:Yes, it is the same problem as above, the TV asking for bytes that don't exist and I have no idea why. Seems problem with the TV's firmware.

Which problem is that? The null exception or the transcoded.
I think the null exception is really that about the firmware. It asks for the latest accessed file, if it no longer exists. Exception!
But the transcoded one. I don t have a clue.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17154

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Mon Sep 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

The transcoding. It first makes this request, which is ok:

  Code:
2010-09-10 19:36:28,647 DEBUG [ResourceTransportRequestHandler] GET /resource/571/MEDIA_ITEM/MPEG_PS_PAL HTTP/1.1, headers = [Host: 192.168.0.103:8895, Pragma: no-cache, Cache-Control: no-cache, Accept: image/gif, image/x-xbitmap, image/jpeg, image/pjpeg, image/png, text/html, text/xml, text/plain, application/json, application/atom+xml, */*, Accept-Language: ko-kr, ko;q=0.8, en-us;q=0.5, en;q=0.3, Connection: Close, User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; LG_UA; AD_LOGON=LGE.NET; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.30; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.648; LG_UA; AD_LOGON=LGE.NET), ]


but then it makes this request:

  Code:
2010-09-10 19:36:31,550 DEBUG [ResourceTransportRequestHandler] GET /resource/571/MEDIA_ITEM/MPEG_PS_PAL HTTP/1.1, headers = [Host: 192.168.0.103:8895, Pragma: no-cache, Cache-Control: no-cache, Accept: image/gif, image/x-xbitmap, image/jpeg, image/pjpeg, image/png, text/html, text/xml, text/plain, application/json, application/atom+xml, */*, Accept-Language: ko-kr, ko;q=0.8, en-us;q=0.5, en;q=0.3, Connection: Close, Range: bytes=4611686018427371520-, User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; LG_UA; AD_LOGON=LGE.NET; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.30; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.648; LG_UA; AD_LOGON=LGE.NET), ]


Notice the Range: bytes=4611686018427371520- header, it is incorrect, because:

1) Serviio specifies that transcoded content doesn't support byte range requests (only time seek)
2) even if it did support byte range, the start offset of 4611686018427371520 is nonexistent, therefore it fails
<<

Raboo

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:16 pm

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:23 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

I also have he same problem. Got a LG Infinia PK950. It also support many video formats but it doesn't have a DTS license.

Isn't it just possible to extract/split the mkv and have the TV show the videostream as a singel file without a container,, and have the audio reencoded/transcoded to aac or ac3 and also as a seperate file without a container?
So basically instead of having a container with video & audio, a video file, a audio file, a subtitle file, all seperate?
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17154

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Fri Dec 31, 2010 4:25 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

that won't work, but I'd advise to use some tool to transcode the audio stream manually and stream it natively
<<

Raboo

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:16 pm

Post Sat Jan 01, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

Thats why i downloaded Serviio.. So i don't have to do anything manually :-)

I really don't care of how it is solved.. Only that it will work in realtime and the picture quality isn't compromised. And I think only the videos with DTS needs to be transcoded.
<<

j3pup

Serviio newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 6:16 pm

Post Sat Feb 05, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

I am in the same boat with the LG TV 42LE for me... Everything is awesome about this tv except for the dts nonsense.
<<

rcooper5908

Serviio newbie

Posts: 14

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:36 pm

Post Fri Mar 18, 2011 4:54 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

Raboo wrote:Thats why i downloaded Serviio.. So i don't have to do anything manually :-)

I really don't care of how it is solved.. Only that it will work in realtime and the picture quality isn't compromised. And I think only the videos with DTS needs to be transcoded.


As soon as you have to transcode, or even remux, anything the LG is broken, not serviio, LG.

I know this is really old but I want to make sure, if someone searches, that this is an LG issue not a serviio issue. I had a long detailed technical discussion with LG this morning and I got bumped up the ladder of support until I got into a two way conversation with the support staff and developer staff and the designers are FULLY aware that they only implemented some "very basic" dlna support. Our conversation came to an end when I was told this could not be updated or addressed because of the hardware and I asked which chip was the hardware dlna handler and was , of course, told dlna was handled in the software, and I then stated the software *could* be updated but they were just not so inclined to do so, to which I received an affirmative answer. Zip is absolutely correct, LG ignores the capabilities expressed by the server and just makes the nonsensical request anyway and there is not much he can do with it, unless it was possible to ignore the request and send the first/next byte anyway and what could that break with a proper dlna client. My answer to this issue is never by a LG product again and head down to ABC Warehouse and purchase a Samsung BD-D6500 0r BD-D5700 today.

Rick
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17154

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Fri Mar 18, 2011 4:57 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

rcooper5908 wrote:
Raboo wrote:Thats why i downloaded Serviio.. So i don't have to do anything manually :-)

I really don't care of how it is solved.. Only that it will work in realtime and the picture quality isn't compromised. And I think only the videos with DTS needs to be transcoded.


As soon as you have to transcode, or even remux, anything the LG is broken, not serviio, LG.

I know this is really old but I want to make sure, if someone searches, that this is an LG issue not a serviio issue. I had a long detailed technical discussion with LG this morning and I got bumped up the ladder of support until I got into a two way conversation with the support staff and developer staff and the designers are FULLY aware that they only implemented some "very basic" dlna support. Our conversation came to an end when I was told this could not be updated or addressed because of the hardware and I asked which chip was the hardware dlna handler and was , of course, told dlna was handled in the software, and I then stated the software *could* be updated but they were just not so inclined to do so, to which I received an affirmative answer. Zip is absolutely correct, LG ignores the capabilities expressed by the server and just makes the nonsensical request anyway and there is not much he can do with it, unless it was possible to ignore the request and send the first/next byte anyway and what could that break with a proper dlna client. My answer to this issue is never by a LG product again and head down to ABC Warehouse and purchase a Samsung BD-D6500 0r BD-D5700 today.

Rick


Thanks Rick for the confirmation! Agreed, buy Samsung or Sony.
<<

Raboo

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:16 pm

Post Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

Okay, Thanks for the effort anyways guys.

It's appreciated!

BTW i have a boxee now. So all my problems are solved.
<<

efalvar

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 3:13 am

Post Tue Aug 16, 2011 4:13 am

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

This is a late reply to this thread, but I only just joined the forum. For those that are looking for a solution to this problem here is a profile that works for my LG TV

<Profile id="14" name="LG TV xxxW6500" extendsProfileId="1">
<Detection>
<HttpHeaders>
<friendlyName.dlna.org>LG DLNA DMP DEVICE</friendlyName.dlna.org>
</HttpHeaders>
</Detection>
<SubtitlesMimeType>text/srt</SubtitlesMimeType>
<Transcoding>
<Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="mp3" forceStereo="true" >
<Matches container="matroska" aCodec="dca" />
</Video>
</Transcoding>
</Profile>

I could not get any other target container or audio codec combination to work. I tried ac3, aac audio codecs with a combination of matroska, mp4 and other containers.
Corretion I did get ac3 working replace <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="mp3" forceStereo="true" > with <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="ac3" forceStereo="true" >. Also I added the forceStereo option to make it more reliable.



Hope this helps others.
LG 55LW6500.
Build 0.6 on Win7 Ultimate 64-bit, AMD Quad-Core 2.20 Ghz, 4Gb, 2Tb
<<

ikarus1968

Serviio newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 8:13 am

Post Mon Sep 05, 2011 8:31 am

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

I've noticed this query has been going on for a long time here. I've an LG Pk750 (2010 model) which I had no problem transcoding DTS audio within MKVs on the fly, using WMS; reencoding the audio to 5 channel AC3 wrapped with the original mp4 in a TS stream about a year ago. As well, transcoding anamorphic DVD content - which LGs improperly show as letterboxed within a 4:3 aspect ratio (black bars on the sides & letterboxed black bars within the 4:3); trancoding to a X by 404 vertical size, with alternate DTS handling if the DVD wasn't AC3. If the developer here is interested, I could dig up the profile I made for WMS and send here for interpretation. WMS uses ffmpeg too, as I recall there was a little sniggling with initial length of file stuff to make it work.

Anyways, thought I'd finally register as it doesn't seem to be solved here.

Cheers
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17154

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Mon Sep 05, 2011 9:49 am

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

sure, send it over
<<

wainy

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:12 pm

Post Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:19 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

Did the WMS profile throw up any clues? I would love to have serviio transcoding videos for my LG 37LE5300.

Its a real pain having transcode the files manually beforehand.


Cheers.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17154

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:31 am

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

sorry, didn't have time to look at it. Hopefully after 0.6 is out.
<<

wainy

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:12 pm

Post Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:13 am

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

No probs, thanks for helping.
<<

marinos35

Serviio newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:13 pm

Post Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:03 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

First time using Serviio and DLNA. I tried to use it in the past but I couldn't find a good server. I tried last night the DLNA that windows 7 offer with wmp and it wasn't worth the time. And then I run into Serviio and it's pretty much amazing. Of course I'm using it with an LG TV (47LE5500) and I have the same problem with DTS sound. I noticed that the default profile for LG with serviio 0.6 didn't try to fix DTS but AC3!?

<Transcoding>
<Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="mp3">
<Matches container="matroska" aCodec="ac3" />
</Video>
</Transcoding>

I changed ac3 to dca so I can at least see with subs the videos containing ac3 audio, else I had to disable transcoding or use general profile. Of course the dts files don't play at all now (not even video).

While messing with transcoding I noticed 2 things.
1st the link here http://www.serviio.org/index.php?option ... icle&id=16 says conf/profiles.xml but it is config/profiles.xml
2nd the trancoding of the file that I tried doesn't stop even the TV displayed that connection was lost, or opened an other file that doesn't need transcoding. Temp folder has a 2GB file and it still gets bigger. Only disabling transcoding at the console stops it.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17154

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:13 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

1) will fix, thanks
2) that's expected
<<

marinos35

Serviio newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:13 pm

Post Fri Sep 23, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

Mezzmo worked out of the box with dts transcoding (waited for less than 15sec and the file started playing), but I'll really love to use Serviio. I hope it gets fixed/supported soon.
<<

marinos35

Serviio newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:13 pm

Post Sun Oct 23, 2011 8:02 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

Any new developments about transcoding with LG TVs?
<<

diesel

Serviio newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:23 pm

Location: High Wycombe, UK

Post Sun Oct 30, 2011 10:53 pm

Re: Transcoding MKV Audio for LG TV

So, I'm trying to build up the LG TV profile for my LE8900 2010. I know the DNLA support is really poor so I'm trying to specify native formats in profile.xml. Anyway I've failed at the first hurdle...getting the file to show in the menu.

My Sony s570 picks the file up as a VC1_TS_AP_L2_AC3_ISO. In desperation I've tried copying all the mime types from the Sony profile - but it's clearly not that simple!

Can anyone help me with the the correct mime types to get me started.

Media Info below:

General
Unique ID : 210052008111932144848229019322366812375 (0x9E068B9433E591D9943CAA44AD9FE0D7)
Complete name : H:\Temp\SENNA_NC.mkv
Format : Matroska
Format version : Version 2
File size : 7.07 GiB
Duration : 56mn 53s
Overall bit rate : 17.8 Mbps
Encoded date : UTC 2011-10-27 18:47:27
Writing application : mkvmerge v5.0.1 ('Es ist Sommer') built on Oct 9 2011 11:55:43
Writing library : libebml v1.2.2 + libmatroska v1.3.0

Video
ID : 1
Format : VC-1
Format profile : AP@L3
Codec ID : WVC1
Codec ID/Hint : Microsoft
Duration : 56mn 53s
Bit rate : 17.3 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Compression mode : Lossy
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.347
Stream size : 6.86 GiB (97%)

Audio
ID : 2
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Codec ID : A_AC3
Duration : 56mn 53s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 192 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 78.1 MiB (1%)


thx
PreviousNext

Return to LG

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.