Page 1 of 1

Switch between multiple install

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:47 pm
by kairoh
If like me, you want to switch Serviio Windows service between multiple install, use this batch switcher :

  Code:
@echo off

:: stop old service
sc stop Serviio

:: update Serviio service
set SERVIIO_HOME="%~dp0\.."
set target="%~dp0\ServiioService.exe"
echo Set Serviio service to : %target%
sc config Serviio binpath= %target%

:: unset
set target=

:: restart service
sc start Serviio

Create a batch file ("updateServiioService.bat") in each your Serviio's bin directory.
For example :
C:\Serviio\0.6\bin\updateServiioService.bat
C:\Serviio\0.6.1.b3\bin\updateServiioService.bat
...
Then click or run in command shell the desired batch.

Serviio service will automatically restart and point to the this directory.

Re: Switch between multiple install

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:21 pm
by zip
It's interesting you have these 2 files (ServiioService32.exe and ServiioService64.exe), they are a part of the install bundle but get renamed to ServiioService.exe by the installer. So the 32 and 64 versions should not be there. Could you try a clean install of they're still there?

Re: Switch between multiple install

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:19 pm
by kairoh
I haven't made "proper" installation (since v0.5), only unzip the ".exe" package.
That's why I've got multiple version installed at the same time...

Re: Switch between multiple install

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:23 pm
by zip
ok, it's possible that there was a bug in a previous version of the installer. I assume the 32 and 64.exe files are now obsolete as well.

Re: Switch between multiple install

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:58 pm
by kairoh
there was no bug in installer : I've manually unzipped this file from the bundle.
I will update the script above.

Re: Switch between multiple install

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:15 pm
by zip
ah.. i see