FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Hulu (US only)

<<

josiok

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:17 pm

Post Sat Feb 02, 2013 6:20 pm

Re: Hulu (US only)

I've been using Serviio for some the past couple years and love it. Works great with my Samsung TV and Sony BluRay.
Lately I'm having trouble with some online feeds. They used to work perfectly, but now I'm seeing "No content available" on some feeds.
For example- I am using 'http://www.hulu.com/feed/show/902/episodes' as my feed for The Daily Show with Jon Stewart. It looks fine when I put it in my browser and used to work fine with Serviio.
When I look in the serviio.log file (debug mode), I see the following lines-

  Code:
2013-02-02 09:41:46,457 DEBUG [FeedItemUrlExtractor] Hulu (US only): Starting extraction of url for item: The Daily Show with Jon Stewart - s18 | e51 - Mon, Jan 28, 2013
2013-02-02 09:41:46,457 DEBUG [FeedParser] Unexpected error during url extractor plugin invocation (Hulu (US only)) for item The Daily Show with Jon Stewart - s18 | e51 - Mon, Jan 28, 2013: Cannot invoke method getText() on null object


This is repeated for each program in the Daily Show feed. Note that other Hulu feeds (e.g. Colbert) work fine.
Any ideas on where my problem lies and how to fix it? Thanks!
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17095

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Mon Feb 04, 2013 1:26 pm

Re: Hulu (US only)

Is that content free or Hulu Plus only?
<<

josiok

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:17 pm

Post Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:04 pm

Re: Hulu (US only)

zip wrote:Is that content free or Hulu Plus only?

It's a free Hulu feed.
I checked today and the feed is working again. I've seen this issue on other feeds, too, though I'm not sure if it is only a problem with Hulu feeds, since I primarily use the online feeds to watch Stewart and Colbert. Forcing a refresh doesn't seem to make a difference, either.
<<

Xmantium

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 1418

Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 2:12 pm

Location: Manchester, UK

Post Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:33 pm

Re: Hulu (US only)

Hello HULU users (one im not :( )
To make adding hulu feeds easier, ive adding the most popular shows to http://www.serviidb.com/plugin-api-name/hulu-us

Quickest way adding them, use 3rd party apps in my signature below, they all use ServiiDB.com integration
You can pm me of any shows you want added to the database or join the site to add it yourself ;)
Sony Bravia 2010 52NX803 - Sony PS3 - Xbox 360
Serviio running on QNAP NAS 639 Pro - 1.6 Intel Dual Core - 2GB RAM and QNAP NAS 121 - 2Ghz ARM Marvell - 1GB RAM
Console using ServiiDroid for Android, ServiiMetro and ServiiWP for Windows Phone and WebUI for iOS
<<

hwmonkey

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 23

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 4:23 am

Post Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:51 pm

Re: Hulu (US only)

I am trying to work around the hulu limit to the number of videos returned. I figure that if I can determine how to control the sort order to be DATE in ASCENDING order, I can then create multiple searches somehow using that as criteria.

1. Has anyone already found a solution?
2. Anyone know how to sort by date? I have tried keywords I am seeing like 'original_premiere_date' and 'normal' but not having luck
3. Anyone know how to change the order? I have tried asc and desc but I am not having success

An example url:
http://www.hulu.com/feed/search?query=s ... pe=episode

THANKS!!
<<

bmn

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 11:18 am

Post Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:36 pm

Re: Hulu (US only)

Hulu is not working for me. I added a feed, it works in my browser so I know the feed address is good. I then add it to servio but when i go to access it, I get not listings.
<<

WildRushSykes

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 290

Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 4:38 pm

Location: Eastbourne (UK)

Post Thu Mar 14, 2013 11:57 pm

Re: Hulu (US only)

Might be an idea to post your device and maybe some detailed log files as just stating that they are not showing isn't going to help us identify your problem :lol:
Serviio 1.4.1 - Windows 8.1 Pro x64 with Media Center - HP Pavillion G series - PS3 and 4 - 3TB Drive wih 500+ Bluray MKV Movies

Beta Tester and All Plugins Pack Creator

Image
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17095

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Sun Mar 17, 2013 8:52 pm

Re: Hulu (US only)

and the feed URL
<<

rubbles88

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:44 am

Post Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:59 am

Re: Hulu (US only)

The hulu plugin does not play the ad and this worked nicely until recently. I noticed that hulu stream will play until the first ad where at this point the stream disconnects and serviio loads the next video in the feed. I could no longer view any video from hulu in its entirety. Any solution to this? I'm wondering if letting the ads play will allow viewing hulu videos in its entirety again.
<<

slyguy42o

DLNA master

Posts: 480

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:29 am

Post Tue Mar 26, 2013 4:34 pm

Re: Hulu (US only)

Does Hulu not always post shows to their feed URL that they have posted on the site?

When I hit hulu.com I can see a new episode posted, but when I hit the feed URL, there isn't any shows listed.

for example

http://www.hulu.com/feed/show/6290/episodes

shows nothing, yet when I hit

http://www.hulu.com/watch/471296

there is a new ep available.
<<

slyguy42o

DLNA master

Posts: 480

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:29 am

Post Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:09 pm

Re: Hulu (US only)

slight edit, I posted the wrong URL in. Overall 98% of shows seem to update correctly, but some like the example above don't get their feeds updated for some reason.
<<

HayDegha0917

Serviio newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 5:13 pm

Post Sun Apr 07, 2013 5:15 pm

Re: Hulu (US only)

Hulu RSS feeds seem to lag behind the Hulu queue. It can take up to 3-4 days for a new episode to post to the feed.

Seems like Hulu is trying to get rid of the RSS feeds.
<<

rubbles88

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:44 am

Post Mon May 06, 2013 8:02 am

Re: Hulu (US only)

Does the hulu plugin still work? All of a sudden, my hulu feed is empty. Did hulu do something which caused this problem or is there anything in my settings, which I doubt because I haven't changed anything in the settings.
<<

Luscombag

User avatar

Serviio newbie

Posts: 15

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:56 am

Location: Kentucky, USA

Post Fri May 10, 2013 3:36 am

Re: Hulu (US only)

rubbles88 wrote:Does the hulu plugin still work? All of a sudden, my hulu feed is empty. Did hulu do something which caused this problem or is there anything in my settings, which I doubt because I haven't changed anything in the settings.


I am having the same problem. 3 days ago my Hulu feeds were fine, but now they are gone. The last time they were working I was running Serviio 1.0.1 and upgraded today to version 1.2.1.
It may be coincidence, but did something change with 1.2.1 to eliminate Hulu?
[b]Serviio 1.5.2 | Sony PS3 Slim | Sony PS4 | Sony BDP-BX57 BD Player | Windows 7 I AMD Octa-Core
<<

slyguy42o

DLNA master

Posts: 480

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:29 am

Post Fri May 10, 2013 4:19 pm

Re: Hulu (US only)

plugin is definitely working.. My wife was watching shows last night.
<<

Liton

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:26 pm

Post Thu May 16, 2013 4:23 am

Re: Hulu (US only)

I was wondering if someone could help with the Hulu feeds. First let me say that I have several Hulu feeds already setup working fine using the following format - http://www.hulu.com/feed/show/2309/episodes

Where my problem comes in is that I wanted to setup a new feed and the feed was for Warehouse 13. I used the following feed URL - http://www.hulu.com/feed/show/2231/episodes and it worked however it is missing the last 2 eposides. So then I searched the forum and found a new link to try so I try the following URL's:

http://www.hulu.com/#!search?q=warehouse+13+season+4
and
http://www.hulu.com/feed/search?fs=0&qu ... pe=episode

Neither of these will render any videos. Can someone please tell me the proper URL format to use to get feeds to work using the search URL format? I also want to explain that the above is just an example I can't get anything (duck dynasty, Star Trek Next Generation, Warehouse 13, Star Trek Enterprise, etc...) to work when using the search format for the URL.
<<

anjilslaire

Serviio newbie

Posts: 8

Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:40 am

Post Sat May 25, 2013 2:57 am

Re: Hulu (US only)

I'm sure I've missed it somewhere, but how do we find new RSS feeds for Hulu? I've been using a list from here http://www.paulscomputerservice.com/art ... php?ID=259 but it's not updated.

Specifically, I'm looking for Motive
http://www.hulu.com/motive

How do we translate that into something like http://www.hulu.com/feed/show/****** to put it into Serviio?

Thanks :)
<<

anjilslaire

Serviio newbie

Posts: 8

Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:40 am

Post Sat May 25, 2013 8:18 am

Re: Hulu (US only)

Found it.
I checked the page source and found the show id. Do a search for
  Code:
var rawData = {"id":
andput the subsequent id # into the url as

http://www.hulu.com/feed/show/*****/episodes

Thanks, and keep up the great work on the plugin :)
<<

misterbkh

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 9:19 pm

Post Sun Jun 02, 2013 1:44 am

Re: Hulu (US only)

i'm having trouble adding shows that disappeared from online feeds, haven't used hulu in awhile but the site is different
which page do i look for show id, from a page an episode is playing or from the main show page where you choose which season or episode
and what is the string in page source to look for.
also optimal settings to use on feed expiry and quality that work.
thanks

Brian
<<

Spaceboy64

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 43

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:49 am

Post Wed Jun 19, 2013 2:10 am

Re: Hulu (US only)

I have been watching Defiance on Hulu via Serviio now for a couple of weeks.
This is the URL that has been working:
http://www.hulu.com/feed/show/11241/episodes

Now there should be a new episode available, Defiance - s1 | e9 - If I Ever Leave This World Alive
It shows up in my web browser, but on my TV, the latest episode is Defiance - s1 | e8 - I Just Wasn't Made for These Times

Any idea why it doesn't show up? Is there a way to specify a certain episode in the URL?

Sometimes this happens with shows I've downloaded on my hard drive, but a refresh eventually fixes it.
PreviousNext

Return to Available plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.