FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Fix the resume in Serviio, it's not a profile issue

<<

eduardok

Serviio newbie

Posts: 11

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 2:31 pm

Post Wed Sep 21, 2022 5:31 pm

Fix the resume in Serviio, it's not a profile issue

After extensive troubleshooting and testing I can now conclude the inability to resume a video issue is not related to Samsung Profiles, it is the Serviio Program. When I install 2.2.1 and do not create Users, and leave the Samsumg TV's unassigned Resume works 100%. If I create Users and try to assign a User to the Samsung TV's and Shared Libraries, resume will not work. When I remove Users, and select Unassign in the Samsung TV's, Resume works again.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4860

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Wed Sep 21, 2022 7:09 pm

Re: Fix the resume in Serviio, it's not a profile issue

What TV model, and what profile is assigned to the TV? I do feel it's the profiles, but need some additional information to work on them. Specifically, I also need to know the container of your media and the codecs inside. There's a link in my sig line to assist you with retrieving your media contents.
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

eduardok

Serviio newbie

Posts: 11

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 2:31 pm

Post Wed Sep 21, 2022 10:36 pm

Re: Fix the resume in Serviio, it's not a profile issue

Thanks for the reply Dan.

Samsung TV Serviio Profile
UN55H6203AF Samsung TV/player (H-series) Resume works if assigned user is unassigned
UN43NU6900FXZC Samsung TV (NU-series) Resume works if assigned user is unassigned
UN40J5200AFXZC Samsung TV/player (J-series) Resume does not work in any case, if I change it to Samsung TV/player (H-series) Resume works if assigned user is unassigned

I unassign the TV, play a video for 5 minutes then stop. Play the video again, it resumes at the 5 minute mark. I assign a user to the TV, play the video, it resumes at the 5 minute mark. I let it play to the 10 minute mark, stop it, play the video, it resumes at the 5 minute mark, not 10. I unassign the TV, play the video, it resumes at the 5 minute mark, watch to the 10 minute mark, stop, replay and it picks up at the 10 minute mark. In summary, if the TV is assigned to a user, no resume. If it is unassigned, resume works 100%.

Watching the same video on each of the three TV's at the same time, and separately, seems to conflict with the resume. I would have thought each TV would track each video separately but it seems to be accessing the same DB record. In addition, I thought it would track each video's progress by user and TV.
Here is info when I bring up the video in VLC Player

Stream 0
Codec: H264 - MPEG-4 AVC (part 10) (avc1)
Type: Video
Video resolution: 1280x720
Buffer dimensions: 1280x720
Frame rate: 25
Color primaries: ITU-R BT.709
Color transfer function: ITU-R BT.709
Color space: ITU-R BT.709 Range
Stream 1
Codec: MPEG AAC Audio (mp4a)
Type: Audio
Channels: Stereo
Sample rate: 48000 Hz
Bits per sample: 32
Stream 2
Codec: Text subtitles with various tags (subt)
Type: Subtitle



Here is the output from ffmpeg:
Metadata:
major_brand : mp42
minor_version : 512
compatible_brands: isomiso2avc1mp41
creation_time : 2022-09-18T19:10:41.000000Z
title : Coronation Street - Sunday, September 18, 2022
date : 20220916
encoder : HandBrake 1.3.3 2020061300
description : Spider declares his intention to stick around, and Daisy hopes to become Rovers manager.
Duration: 00:44:38.70, start: 0.000000, bitrate: 2807 kb/s
Stream #0:0(und): Video: h264 (High) (avc1 / 0x31637661), yuv420p(tv, bt709), 1280x720 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 2672 kb/s, 25 fps, 25 tbr, 90k tbn, 50 tbc (default)
Metadata:
creation_time : 2022-09-18T19:10:41.000000Z
handler_name : VideoHandler
Stream #0:1(und): Audio: aac (LC) (mp4a / 0x6134706D), 48000 Hz, stereo, fltp, 128 kb/s (default)
Metadata:
creation_time : 2022-09-18T19:10:41.000000Z
handler_name : Stereo
Attachments
serviio.log
Here is a serviio log while all this was being performed
(210.93 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4860

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Thu Sep 22, 2022 1:44 am

Re: Fix the resume in Serviio, it's not a profile issue

Man, I had forgotten how much I hate the Samsung player user interface. Yuck!

For my testing, I used a Samsung TU7000, which is the only one convenient for me to test on. I tried the NU profile (default for this TV) and the J profile. The test video was Disney's Cars, which has H.264 video (same as yours), and an AC-3 audio track, so the TV did not require transcoding for the video and was confirmed in the Serviio console.

With the NU profile, I first tested with no user assigned. I actually have no users assigned for any network player. The users are only required for MediaBrowser access, and I have no media I wish to restrict on any local player. The player would resume playback, same as your result. I then assigned a user to the TV and restarted the video. It now returned to the beginning of the video, as well as a couple of other titles I tried. So that matches your experience as well.

I then changed to the J profile, which never allowed resume regardless of user assignment in your experience. I found the TV did resume, which I did not expect. I then added a user, and went back to the same video. I was shocked that the resume worked this time. However, I tried it on a couple of other videos, and again there was no resume. I removed the user assignment and tried it again. Now resume worked again.

So, I concur with your findings, other than the J profile performed the same way as the NU profile. I have no clue how this might be happening. I'm only guessing, but adding a user might alter the profile being used for playback. We will need the developer to look into this and see if he can duplicate it. If he can't, it's really hard to determine what's going on. It's possible he might not have a Samsung TV available for testing. It's also possible that since he's in Europe, his TV might not work the same as mine here in the US. I'll ping him with a link to this thread so he's made aware of this.
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

eduardok

Serviio newbie

Posts: 11

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 2:31 pm

Post Thu Sep 22, 2022 2:44 am

Re: Fix the resume in Serviio, it's not a profile issue

Thanks for your effort Dan. I wonder if this issue is present for other TV’s and not just Samsung. I still cannot see how it could be a profile issue when the only change I made was assigning a user to the TV. I suspect each video’s progress is being stored in the database with a unique ID. The addition of a user would require a unique record for each user per video. I suspect a bug in the area of the code where video play progress is being created and modified. I guess only the developer would be able to see if this is the case.

Thanks again,

Ed

Return to Feature requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.