FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

TCP port number setting

<<

fhutt

Serviio newbie

Posts: 10

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:22 pm

Post Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:57 pm

TCP port number setting

I have 2 computers with Serviio server installed. I would like to have internet access to my library of both computers over the internet.
To do this the router needs to be setup with port forwarding. However, both computers use port 23424 and therefore can only setup one machine for internet access.
It would be great to be able to set the TCP port number.
Thanks
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17160

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Mon Feb 08, 2016 12:27 am

Re: TCP port number setting

Normally it could be possible to setup different VAN ports to map on the LAN ports, like:

1111 -> serviio 1:23424
1112 -> serviio2:23424

Not sure if all routers support this though
<<

fhutt

Serviio newbie

Posts: 10

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:22 pm

Post Mon Feb 08, 2016 12:55 am

Re: TCP port number setting

That's a great idea. I think my router does support that type forwarding.
I will try it out and get back. It will take a day or so.
Even if it works, I think it's a work around and would prefer to be able to change the TCP port.
Thanks
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4451

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Feb 08, 2016 1:52 pm

Re: TCP port number setting

zip wrote:Normally it could be possible to setup different VAN ports to map on the LAN ports, like:

1111 -> serviio 1:23424
1112 -> serviio2:23424

Not sure if all routers support this though


Yep, not all do. My Actiontec C1000A DSL modem will only do port to same port. It's a pretty lousy product, but unfortunately it's the only one my ISP provides for my speed of DSL. Since I'm not giving up my 50 Mbps, I'm stuck with it. :roll:
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

fhutt

Serviio newbie

Posts: 10

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:22 pm

Post Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: TCP port number setting

Yes,
1111 -> serviio1:23424
1112 -> serviio2:23424
does work on my router.
Thank you, this is a solution for my problem.
<<

bharath026

Serviio newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2021 11:56 pm

Post Thu Jun 10, 2021 7:55 am

Re: TCP port number setting

zip wrote:Normally it could be possible to setup different VAN ports to map on the LAN ports, like:

1111 -> serviio 1:23424
1112 -> serviio2:23424

Not sure if all routers support this though


To zip
What is your router that can do this
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4451

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Thu Jun 10, 2021 1:40 pm

Re: TCP port number setting

bharath026 wrote:
zip wrote:Normally it could be possible to setup different WAN ports to map on the LAN ports, like:

1111 -> serviio 1:23424
1112 -> serviio2:23424

Not sure if all routers support this though


To zip
What is your router that can do this

Many routers can do it. However, there's no exhaustive list of them. You'd need to check the documentation for one you are considering to see if you can map a WAN (external, Internet side) port to a different LAN (internal, inside your network) port. As I mentioned, my CenturyLink DSL modem (made by Actiontec or Zyxel) does not support mapping an external port to a different internal port. But many of the consumer grade routers that you can buy might offer it.
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

louspag@hotmail.com

Serviio newbie

Posts: 7

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2019 9:46 pm

Post Wed Jun 30, 2021 3:10 pm

Re: TCP port number setting

One option is to add your own router to handle this. My setup is that my provider's router forwards a range of ports directly to my d-link router, my dlink based on the port it receives forwards to the correct server/device on my network. This way the providers router does very little handling and manipulation of the ports.

providers router forwards ports 3000 to 3200 to my dlink
dlink is setup to forwards
3000 -->192.168.1.3:23424 (serviio)
3001 -->192.168.1.4:21 (ftp server)
3002 -->192.168.1.80 (iis server)

etc...

hope this helps

Return to Feature requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.