FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

(SOLVED) Disable WEB UI, use API only

<<

wwoosh

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 9:02 am

Post Wed Feb 03, 2021 9:15 am

(SOLVED) Disable WEB UI, use API only

Dear team,
this project is priceless and monumental.
Thank you!

Is there a sane way to disable the WEB UI:
(http://192.168.1.184:23423/console/#/app/welcome)

and use exclusively API calls:
(curl --include --request PUT [....] http://localhost:23423/rest/repository)

to use Serviio?
My (medieval) way was to rename serviio-web-console.jar...
Yes it works, but that's how Fred Flinstone would have accomplished it!

Thanks again, cheers
WW
Last edited by wwoosh on Mon Mar 08, 2021 3:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
<<

Derz

Serviio newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 8:46 pm

Post Sun Mar 07, 2021 7:12 pm

Re: Disable WEB UI, use API only

The Web UI to the Serviio console port 23423/console/#/app/welcome is my primary means of interfacing to the server application for configuration of media and clients. It serves that purpose well. What is the benefit of disabling it? And how many would benefit if it were an option?
Large Local Movie and TV Series Library (27 Movies, 14 Complete Series from DVD Originals)
3 Roku 3810x Streaming Sticks
Win 10 Pro GN31 Mini PC as Primary Serviio Server 2.2
Ex-> Raspberry Pi 3, Model B (running Linux 10 - buster and Serviio 2.1)
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 5202

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Sun Mar 07, 2021 10:16 pm

Re: Disable WEB UI, use API only

I believe Serviio can be managed via the API calls. But I too see no real benefit of disabling the web UI. It's far easier to maintain on a computer screen than using a phone or tablet. Yes, there's no login security for the console, but as long as you don't expose that port to the Internet only devices on your home network can access it. Not really a security danger. No one can delete your media, or alter it in any way. About all someone could do is remove the library locations, which doesn't touch the media itself.
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 16 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

wwoosh

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 9:02 am

Post Mon Mar 08, 2021 5:40 am

Re: Disable WEB UI, use API only

Hello and thank you.
In my use case, Serviio management is done in centralized way and programmatically so I don't need UI at all.
Since my solution is a hack, I've asked here for a better one.
Have a nice day!
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 5202

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Mar 08, 2021 2:23 pm

Re: Disable WEB UI, use API only

Your hack is likely the best way to proceed. I see a problem if there was a switch in the console to disable it. If someone disabled it by mistake, they would have no way to turn it back on.
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 16 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

wwoosh

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 9:02 am

Post Mon Mar 08, 2021 3:14 pm

Re: (SOLVED) Disable WEB UI, use API only

Dear sir,
you are correct, a "disable UI" switch would be stupid by design.

PROBLEM:
- need to turn off the UI accessible at http://192.168.1.184:23423/console/

SOLUTION (Linux):
- log in to your server with ssh and execute these commands:

  Code:
sudo su
cd /opt/serviio-2.1/lib
mv serviio-web-console.jar backup.serviio-web-console.jar
reboot

I've marked the thread as "solved" for future reference.
Cheers,
WW
<<

Williamfox

Serviio newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2022 7:45 am

Post Thu Feb 03, 2022 10:27 pm

Re: (SOLVED) Disable WEB UI, use API only

Same problem, but I'll try what you advised here in the comments. I'm still just learning, and such questions are always some unbearable burden. I even get upset because I don't understand anything, but on the other hand, it gives me a huge motivation to learn design even more. It seems that this profession will only be more and more in demand on the market among specialists soon since almost everything needs graphic design now. So I would love to understand exactly how such problems are solved and expand the horizons of my knowledge
Last edited by Williamfox on Mon Feb 07, 2022 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 5202

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Thu Feb 03, 2022 11:47 pm

Re: (SOLVED) Disable WEB UI, use API only

wwoosh wrote:Dear sir,
you are correct, a "disable UI" switch would be stupid by design.

PROBLEM:
- need to turn off the UI accessible at http://192.168.1.184:23423/console/

SOLUTION (Linux):
- log in to your server with ssh and execute these commands:

  Code:
sudo su
cd /opt/serviio-2.1/lib
mv serviio-web-console.jar backup.serviio-web-console.jar
reboot

I've marked the thread as "solved" for future reference.
Cheers,
WW

The same result could be done on a Windows computer as well. They normally don't have an SSH server installed, but a local script could be written and run to accomplish the same thing. The file location would be C:\program files\Serviio\lib and instead of mv (Linux command) you could use ren. And have a second script to rename it back to the original name if the console UI is needed. Just remember that every time you update Serviio it will put a new version of the console jar file in place, so you'd have to run the script again. Also, a reboot isn't necessary. Just restart the Serviio process. On Linux a reboot might be simpler, as I don't know exactly how to restart the process on Linux.
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 16 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents

Return to Feature requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.