FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Does/Can Serviio replace my need of a HTPC?

<<

Darth Teddy Bear

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:53 am

Post Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:13 pm

Does/Can Serviio replace my need of a HTPC?

Hi all,

First off, thanks for enabling me to watch TV I was previously unable to through the Samsung LA32B650 inbuilt media player!

I am in the middle of spec'ing out my HTPC to get around the inability to play certain media files and for the convenience; I know the short answer to "Does/Can Serviio replace my need of a HTPC?" is yes, but I have the suspicion that the long answer would be no?

For example;
1. can I sync the video/audio (easily)?
2. can I choose which audio track when the default one is a dubbed overlay?
3. will the video be the same quality as via a dedicated HTPC on a ATI Radeon 6850?
4. will I be able to utilise my yet to be purchased home theatre sound system?

I have lots of folders at my TV but I seem unable to manage them?

BTW; could I recommend link/s to the x64 Java as I had issues with the version being x86 and had difficulties deciphering which Java version I should use from the Sun site as they all seemed to be developer installs.

Again thanks!
Cheers,

Darth Teddy Bear
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17014

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Sun Dec 26, 2010 11:22 am

Re: Does/Can Serviio replace my need of a HTPC?

1. can I sync the video/audio (easily)?

Not sure what you mean?
2. can I choose which audio track when the default one is a dubbed overlay?

Not at the moment, unless your TV can do it itself (e.g. from streamed MKV)
3. will the video be the same quality as via a dedicated HTPC on a ATI Radeon 6850?

Yes.
4. will I be able to utilise my yet to be purchased home theatre sound system?

Yes, if the file includes for example 5.1 AC3 track, it'll play properly.

BTW; could I recommend link/s to the x64 Java as I had issues with the version being x86 and had difficulties deciphering which Java version I should use from the Sun site as they all seemed to be developer installs.

Go here: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/ ... index.html and click Download JRE.
<<

Darth Teddy Bear

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:53 am

Post Wed Dec 29, 2010 2:31 am

Re: Does/Can Serviio replace my need of a HTPC?

Thanks for the quick reply.

I was watching Castle and the audio was out by several milliseconds and it annoys me no end. I just cannot see past it. The funny thing is it only happened towards the end, also I was not using your software but that of the TV.

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.