FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

New to 4K and Serviio could use some advice about PC specs

<<

bekhanaro54

Serviio newbie

Post Fri Aug 20, 2021 1:23 pm

New to 4K and Serviio could use some advice about PC specs

Hi all. To begin, I have tried looking for an answer to my question but I'm new to both 4K and Serviio in general so I'm not sure if the posts I have found are of much use to me. I apologise if I'm retreading old ground, but would be grateful for any help you guys can offer in relation to minimum required specs.

I am currently streaming videos from my gaming laptop to my shiny new Samsung TU7020, which has been amazing, but the laptop will not always be available in the house. As there is another TU7020 being added to the home network in the next couple of days I was thinking about repurposing some old PC parts to act as a permanent home server for when I and my laptop are away. Searching for answer brings me a lot of posts (here and elsewhere) about transcoding, but I'm not sure if that is a requirement for my needs as many of those posts mention transcoding to 1080p, which I do not require.

So (finally) my question is this: what would be the minimum PC specs required to stream 4K to two TVs on my home network?

Bonus question: If the source file is 4K and both of the viewers are watching in 4K is there any transcoding involved?showbox speed test

Sorry again if I'm beating a dead horse, but, should that be the case, I would appreciate it if someone could point me toward a post that would guide a noob in the right direction as I'm a bit lost in the long grass right now.
Last edited by bekhanaro54 on Tue Aug 24, 2021 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
<<

atc98092

DLNA master

Post Fri Aug 20, 2021 1:56 pm

Re: New to 4K and Serviio could use some advice about PC spe

Welcome, and no question is ever a bother if asked honestly. :D