FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

streaming desk top to tv

<<

DLNAhooray

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 40

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:49 pm

Location: Dresden, Germany

Post Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:04 pm

Re: streaming desk top to tv

Thks for your inputs.
My TV is a Panasonic TX-L37GW20 in case you can comment further
I can't try the 30 / 24 fps until Sunday . . .
<<

DLNAhooray

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 40

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:49 pm

Location: Dresden, Germany

Post Sun Jan 29, 2012 7:32 am

Re: streaming desk top to tv

jhb50:
For my TV details see above post.
I've now tried setting 30 fps in SCR and keeping 24 in StreamDesktop.bat, but no change in the TV pic quality.
I've also tried adjusting vb=10000 up to 20000 (pic quality worse) and down to 1000 (pic quality worse) and could not find any number in between that produced noticeably better quality.
Just for fun I also changed :dshow-caching by huge amounts with no improvement on the TV
What other changes to StreamDesktop.bat might help? (Or changes to SCR configuration)

BTW, in the wiki you say the following, but the numbers mentioned are those already in your StreamDesktop.bat:
You may also experiment with :dshow-caching=20000 to reduce latency and the transcoded video bit rate vb=10000 to overcome network capacity or transcoding load


In case you've no suggestions, I wonder if it might it be worthwhile my trying to stream a window instead of full screen . . .
Are there any hints out there as to how to do this?
I'm sure I've seen this mentioned somewhere but I've been going cross-eyed trying to locate it.
<<

jhb50

DLNA master

Posts: 2856

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:32 pm

Post Mon Jan 30, 2012 1:43 am

Re: streaming desk top to tv

DLNAhooray wrote:jhb50:
What other changes to StreamDesktop.bat might help? (Or changes to SCR configuration)


You really have me stumped because it makes no sense. If the video is streaming at full speed with no stutters, and the cpu is < 90% and ffmpeg shows the output bitrate is actually 10000 and if you open the stream on your pc and the quality is fine, then you pc has the power to transcode and send the whole screen and the problem has to be at your TV. If the stream displayed on the PC is also poor quality then my only thought would be that there is a problem with SCR interfacing with your display driver, but thats way beyond my pay grade.

the numbers mentioned are those already in your StreamDesktop.bat:
You may also experiment with :dshow-caching=20000 to reduce latency and the transcoded video bit rate vb=10000 to overcome network capacity or transcoding load

The command was supposed to have 20000 but a zero got dropped and I have not changed it because 2000 seems to be fine. The tip was intended to suggest changing those numbers that are/were in the command.
In case you've no suggestions, I wonder if it might it be worthwhile my trying to stream a window instead of full screen . . .
Are there any hints out there as to how to do this?
I'm sure I've seen this mentioned somewhere but I've been going cross-eyed trying to locate it.

An earlier poster suggested this but of course displaying a 640x360 window on a 1280x720 TV is going to have the same poor quality.
<<

DLNAhooray

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 40

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:49 pm

Location: Dresden, Germany

Post Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:31 am

Re: streaming desk top to tv

jhb50 wrote:... and ffmpeg shows the output bitrate is actually 10000 ...

Would you mind telling me how to check this, pls?
<<

jhb50

DLNA master

Posts: 2856

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:32 pm

Post Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: streaming desk top to tv

See the wiki "How to Successfully Add Live Streams to Serviio" http://wiki.serviio.org/doku.php?id=add_live_feeds
Something like ffmpeg -i "http://192.168.1.10"
<<

jk50

Serviio lover

Posts: 57

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:53 am

Post Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:43 am

Re: streaming desk top to tv

DLNAhooray

I think your problem is related to your somewhat unusual 16:10 aspect ratio monitor. If you capture the entire screen, the command line
you're using will send a 16:10 picture to your 16:9 tv. I suspect your tv is struggling with the conversion. Because your monitor and tv
have different aspect ratios you don't want to capture the entire 1920x1200, you want a 16:9 portion of your screen, in your case 1920x1080.
Or, if you want to capture the whole screen,you can tell vlc to resize your 16:10 capture to 16:9 by adding a height parameter to the command
line. The problem with this is you'll get a vertically squashed picture.
  Code:
"C:\Programs\VLC TEST 1.1.10\vlc.exe" -vvv dshow:// --sout=#transcode{venc=ffmpeg,vcodec=mp2v,vb=10000,fps=24,width=1280,height=720,acodec=mp3,ab=192,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:std{access=http,mux=ts,dst=:8081} --no-sout-rtp-sap --no-sout-standard-sap --ttl=1 --sout-keep   :dshow-vdev=screen-capture-recorder :dshow-adev="Line 1 (Virtual Audio Cable)"  :dshow-caching=2000
<<

DLNAhooray

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 40

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:49 pm

Location: Dresden, Germany

Post Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:24 pm

Re: streaming desk top to tv

jhb50
jhb50 wrote:See the wiki "How to Successfully Add Live Streams to Serviio" http://wiki.serviio.org/doku.php?id=add_live_feeds
Something like ffmpeg -i "http://192.168.1.10"


Entering C:\"Program Files"\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe -i "http://192.168.2.105:8081" directly into a command window produces the following error messages (only the last line of the ffmpeg intro stuff is included here):
libswscale 2. 1. 0 / 2. 1. 0
[NULL @ 01668040] Unable to find a suitable output format for 'Files\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe -i http://192.168.2.105:8081'
Files\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe -i http://192.168.2.105:8081: Invalid argument

C:\Windows\System32>

(URLs are red in cmd window. No change in message whether TV is displaying the stream or not)

Entering C:\Program Files\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe -i "http://192.168.2.105:8081" as a Run command produces the following error messages (only the last line of the ffmpeg intro stuff is included here):
libswscale 2. 1. 0 / 2. 1. 0
[mpeg2video @ 029a1020] mpeg_decode_postinit<> failure
Last message repeated x times
[mpegts @ 003b8020] PES packet size mismatch

(x = 2-10 times. The yellow text does not appear when the TV is displaying the stream)


jk50
jk50 wrote:I think your problem is related to your somewhat unusual 16:10 aspect ratio monitor. If you capture the entire screen, the command line
you're using will send a 16:10 picture to your 16:9 tv. I suspect your tv is struggling with the conversion. Because your monitor and tv
have different aspect ratios you don't want to capture the entire 1920x1200, you want a 16:9 portion of your screen, in your case 1920x1080.
Or, if you want to capture the whole screen,you can tell vlc to resize your 16:10 capture to 16:9 by adding a height parameter to the command
line. The problem with this is you'll get a vertically squashed picture.
  Code:
"C:\Programs\VLC TEST 1.1.10\vlc.exe" -vvv dshow:// --sout=#transcode{venc=ffmpeg,vcodec=mp2v,vb=10000,fps=24,width=1280,height=720,acodec=mp3,ab=192,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:std{access=http,mux=ts,dst=:8081} --no-sout-rtp-sap --no-sout-standard-sap --ttl=1 --sout-keep   :dshow-vdev=screen-capture-recorder :dshow-adev="Line 1 (Virtual Audio Cable)"  :dshow-caching=2000

1920x1200 is the native resolution of my monitor and the graphics card is normally set to match this.
Accepting that there would be the vertical distortion you warned about, I tried your "width=1280,height=720" code, but it made no difference to the problems I describe.
Setting my graphics driver (AMD Vision Engine Control Center) for 1920x1080 and trying the code first for 1280x720 and then for full screen also made no difference.


Instead of viewing just a static desktop display on the TV as I've done to date, today I tried streaming a couple of BBC iPlayer TV programmes from the PC to the TV via Serviio despite the picture quality problems. The result was very disappointing in that the video stuttered badly and displayed occasional severe pixelation effects here and there in the image. I'm assuming the stutters and breakups occur coincident with the roughly twice a second "beating" already described on Jan 27.
(Just for the record and to exclude any concerns about the capabilities of the TV or Internet speed, etc., viewing iPlayer programmes via a laptop connected directly to the TV produces excellent results even in HD.)
<<

jhb50

DLNA master

Posts: 2856

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:32 pm

Post Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:16 pm

Re: streaming desk top to tv

C:\"Program Files"\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe -i "http://192.168.2.105:8081"


I get the same message with that form of command. Try putting the quotes around the command. The "argument" is "http://192.168.2.105:8081" not
Files"\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe -i "http://192.168.2.105:8081" which your command was.
<<

DLNAhooray

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 40

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:49 pm

Location: Dresden, Germany

Post Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:26 am

Re: streaming desk top to tv

Thanks for the quick response, jhb50, but sorry to say I'm a bit confused by it.
If you mean I should enter C:\Program Files\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe -i "http://192.168.2.105:8081", my command line won't accept this unless I write "Program Files", which is why I also tried the Run command, which does accept no quotation marks there.
<<

will

DLNA master

Posts: 2129

Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:18 am

Location: UK

Post Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:36 am

Re: Re: streaming desk top to tv

You want
  Code:
 
"C:\Program Files\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe" -i "http://192.168.2.105:8081"

Or
  Code:
 
cd "C:\Program Files\Serviio\lib\"

ffmpeg.exe -i "http://192.168.2.105:8081"
Will
Beta Tester Group
ServiiDroid (Android Console) Developer: Download | Home | Support
ServiiGo (Android 3G/4G/WiFi Playback App) Developer: More info

Player: Sony BDP S370 | Server: Debian 6.0 x86
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play
<<

DLNAhooray

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 40

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:49 pm

Location: Dresden, Germany

Post Mon Feb 06, 2012 3:19 pm

Re: streaming desk top to tv

will:
Thanks!

jhb50:
jhb50 wrote:... and ffmpeg shows the output bitrate is actually 10000 ...

Click here http://sharehub.me/ffmpeg to see what I see having entered the cmd "C:\Program Files\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe" -i "http://192.168.2.105:8081" with desktop displayed on TV
<<

jhb50

DLNA master

Posts: 2856

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:32 pm

Post Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:17 am

Re: streaming desk top to tv

I don't expect my TV to play 1680x1050, why do you? I'd expect it to play with 1280x720 as per the wiki instructions.
<<

DLNAhooray

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 40

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:49 pm

Location: Dresden, Germany

Post Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:23 am

Re: streaming desk top to tv

Sorry, jhb50 - just a serious touch of unintended finger trouble this end. Ran the wrong StreamDeskstop.bat, the one I had used prior to writing this 27 Jan post on page 10:
DLNAhooray wrote:... changing from 1920 to 1280 did the trick. I can now see my desktop on the TV. I've tried upping to 1440 and this worked too, but I'll leave it at 1280 for now ...


Here's the equivalent ffmpeg image for 1280x720 that I see having entered the cmd "C:\Program Files\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe" -i "http://192.168.2.105:8081" with desktop displayed on TV:
http://www.filedropper.com/ffcmd3
<<

DimPan

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 22

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:35 pm

Post Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:04 am

Re: streaming desk top to tv

- Post deleted by author as non relevant -
Last edited by DimPan on Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:40 am, edited 3 times in total.
<<

jhb50

DLNA master

Posts: 2856

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:32 pm

Post Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:30 am

Re: streaming desk top to tv

I don't understand your reference to VAR because that is never mentioned in the Wiki, nor is there anything abour feedback test. There are 2 audio filters documented so if one does not work try the other. Both filters are also supported so you can contact the authors if you have a problem with them.

The step by step process is simple and if you reread the wiki you will see that it is 1. Install VLC, 2 Install screen Filter, 3 install audio filter, 4 run the bat, 5,setup serviio to read the stream. I can't make it simpler than that.
All the other information is just to help you understand and successfully execute these steps, but you are right that your system may just be different enough that it won't work for you.
<<

jhb50

DLNA master

Posts: 2856

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:32 pm

Post Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:33 am

Re: streaming desk top to tv

DLNAhooray wrote:Sorry, jhb50 - just a serious touch of unintended finger trouble this end. Ran the wrong StreamDeskstop.bat, the one I had used prior to writing this 27 Jan post on page 10:
DLNAhooray wrote:... changing from 1920 to 1280 did the trick. I can now see my desktop on the TV. I've tried upping to 1440 and this worked too, but I'll leave it at 1280 for now ...


The ffmeg output says the stream is working fine and so I guess you can see your desktop on the tv again.
<<

DLNAhooray

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 40

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:49 pm

Location: Dresden, Germany

Post Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:34 am

Re: streaming desk top to tv

jhb50 wrote:The ffmeg output says the stream is working fine and so I guess you can see your desktop on the tv again.

Thanks for your response, but do you mean that the "failure" in red, the "mismatch" in yellow, the "Seems Stream 1 codec frame rate differs from container frame rate" in white and "At least one output file must be specified" in red mentioned in the ffmeg image http://www.filedropper.com/ffcmd3 are meaningless and can be ignored?

The trouble is that although I can see my desktop on the TV, the image quality is extremely poor.
As I posted on 27 Jan:
DLNAhooray wrote:... Sadly, the image on the TV is of very poor quality. Text and outlines of objects on the desktop are ghosted and fuzzy, appear to be vertically "duplicated" ('=' looks 3 hyphens high instead of 2) and all text and objects on the screen seem to "beat" (like a heart) roughly twice a second.
In addition, the streamed Desktop is displayed centered on the TV screen OK, but appreciably overscanned in all directions. I always have my PC taskbar 2 rows high, but only the upper halves of the taskbar buttons in the upper row are visible on the TV. Standard Windows icons positioned around the other 3 edges of the desktop are all cut in half.
Needless to say, any other images streamed by Serviio from the PC are displayed on the TV screen in high quality, completely free from the problems described above.
Just as a reminder, my PC is Win7 32bit with a 6-core Phenom II CPU running at 30% ...

And as I posted on 31 Jan:
DLNAhooray wrote:... Instead of viewing just a static desktop display on the TV as I've done to date, today I tried streaming a couple of BBC iPlayer TV programmes from the PC to the TV via Serviio despite the picture quality problems. The result was very disappointing in that the video stuttered badly and displayed occasional severe pixelation effects here and there in the image. I'm assuming the stutters and breakups occur coincident with the roughly twice a second "beating" already described on Jan 27.
(Just for the record and to exclude any concerns about the capabilities of the TV or Internet speed, etc., viewing iPlayer programmes via a laptop connected directly to the TV produces excellent results even in HD.)
<<

DimPan

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 22

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:35 pm

Post Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:36 am

Re: streaming desk top to tv

jhb50, please disregard the comments in the previous message, I have revisited the procedure and I made great progress. Your 1-5 steps is indeed the simplest way you can make it and in my humble opinion this how the wiki page should start.

Here's what I did: I uninstalled all required components and re-installed -again- in the following order: JRE, C++, Serviio, VLC, ScreenCapturer, AudioCapturer. The A/V filters now show up (nice!) and they are exactly where they should be in VLC, so next is to create the bat. Right?

I copied the bat file and saved it on my desktop. I noticed some extra spaces in between some command switches so I fixed that making sure there is always only one space. Obviously, I also had to modify the path to VLC and the audio device name. Also, in the bat there is a remarked line saying "A corresponding player must be started using HTTP" - what does this mean? Finally, would it be OK to -freely- modify the settings that affect video/audio quality (fps, scale, audio bitrate etc.) or do I stick to what's in the bat?

When I run the bat (a blank command window opened) and I get a firewall request to allow VLC (I did) and then VLC opens up and nothing happens in the VLC just my CPU went up but no more than 35~40%. Looks like the PC has enough power. I usually run my 24" monitor at 1920x1200 and at this screen the CPU was working around 98% but for this test I changed it down to 1280x1024.

Then I opened Serviio and configured the LiveFeed, I saved it and forced a library refresh.

Finaly, I started a movie using MediaPlayerClassic in full screen and went to the TV.

I can see the video (and subtitles) fine, no studder, no freezing BUT I have no sound.

As a reminder I use a SONY SMP-N100 to connect to HDMI TV.

What could have gone wrong? Where do I start troubleshooting?

Any ideas?

Thanks!
<<

jhb50

DLNA master

Posts: 2856

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:32 pm

Post Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:50 pm

Re: streaming desk top to tv

DLNAhooray wrote:Here's the equivalent ffmpeg image for 1280x720 that I see having entered the cmd "C:\Program Files\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe" -i "http://192.168.2.105:8081" with desktop displayed on TV:
http://www.filedropper.com/ffcmd3


It would be helpful f you just pasted the ffmpeg results rather than using an external upload service. http://wiki.serviio.org/doku.php?id=cmd_console

A second look at your result shows 1280x800 so I would not expect that to display correctly on a 720p tv either. Probably the TV is rescaling it to fit.

PS: I get the same ffmpeg messages. Also remember to "open the stream on your pc and see if the quality is fine there. If so it is a TV rendering problem.
<<

jhb50

DLNA master

Posts: 2856

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:32 pm

Post Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:08 pm

Re: streaming desk top to tv

DimPan wrote:I copied the bat file and saved it on my desktop. I noticed some extra spaces in between some command switches so I fixed that making sure there is always only one space. Obviously, I also had to modify the path to VLC and the audio device name.I can see the video (and subtitles) fine, no studder, no freezing BUT I have no sound.!


If your spaces removal and audio device name change were correct you probably did not enable the device under playback devices.

Also, in the bat there is a remarked line saying "A corresponding player must be started using HTTP" - what does this mean?

VLC is creating a stream You need to start
Serviio, or MPlayer or another instance of VLC to play the stream.

Finally, would it be OK to -freely- modify the settings that affect video/audio quality (fps, scale, audio bitrate etc.) or do I stick to what's in the bat?


I only support what is in the bat but you are free to break it.
PreviousNext

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.