Page 10 of 12

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 1:34 pm
by Kyle0815
Hi,

is there a reason why the howto uses these direct show filters, instead of the screen capture source "screen://" that comes with vlc?
I've been experimenting shortly with the vlc desktop streaming and can't get serviio to accept my stream. The problem seems to be ffmpeg, it gives me lots of errors when I try ffmpeg -i "http://<my-ip>:<my-port>". However, when I open this url in vlc on another computer in my network, it shows the stream just fine. I am running win7 64bit, serviio 1.0.1, vlc 2.0.4 with the following command:
  Code:
vlc -vvv screen:// :screen-fps=24.000:sout=#transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=1000,scale=1,acodec=mpga,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=ts,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep


The ffmpeg that came with serviio1.0.1 says:
  Code:
c:\Program Files\Serviio\lib>ffmpeg -i "http://<my-ip>:<my-port>"
ffmpeg version N-42368-gbf53863 Copyright (c) 2000-2012 the FFmpeg developers
  built on Jul 10 2012 03:40:45 with gcc 4.6.3
  configuration: --enable-static --disable-shared --disable-ffplay --disable-ffserver --enable-memalign-hack --enable-libmp3lame --enable-librtmp --extra-libs='-lrtmp -lpolarssl -lws2_32 -lwinmm' --arch=x86 --enable-runtime-cpudetect --enable-pthreads --target-os=mingw32 --cross-prefix=i686-w64-mingw32- --pkg-config=pkg-config
  libavutil      51. 64.100 / 51. 64.100
  libavcodec     54. 33.100 / 54. 33.100
  libavformat    54. 15.102 / 54. 15.102
  libavdevice    54.  1.100 / 54.  1.100
  libavfilter     3.  1.100 /  3.  1.100
  libswscale      2.  1.100 /  2.  1.100
  libswresample   0. 15.100 /  0. 15.100
[h264 @ 0441A160] non-existing PPS referenced
[h264 @ 0441A160] non-existing PPS 0 referenced
[h264 @ 0441A160] decode_slice_header error
[h264 @ 0441A160] no frame!


The 4 last lines are repeated over and over again. As said, the stream plays in vlc on another machine. Would greatly appreciate any hint!

Bye, Kyle.

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:36 pm
by jhb50
is there a reason why the howto uses these direct show filters,

Yes because the process works with them if you follow the process explicitly which includes using vlc 1.1.10 and transcoding to MPEG2video

Also ffmpeg -i http://localhost:8081 will then display the mpeg2 stream parameters.

Of course you are welcome to beat your brains out developing your own process. Who knows, you might be the first one to succeed!

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:08 pm
by henny
Hey There, I can pick up stream from TV but picture is shocking, I can barely make out the image, its all grey with black lines through it ( I duplicated the output in my bat file and took a screen shot and uploaded it)

I've tried every single bat file that people have posted on here and they all give me the same result

however, When i use the Gui interface, open capture device -> stream -> options -> and paste the the bat file in "stream output string" and click stream the stream i get a good image in vlc.

Running:

VLC 1.1.10
VACGD
SCR

OS: win7 enterprise 32-bit (6.1,build 7601)
Model: Satellite Pro s500
Processor: intel(R) CORE(TM) i5 CPU M 520 @2.40GHz (4CPUs), ~2.4GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
DirectX 11


IM using the bat file from wiki

@echo off

:This bat is used to stream the desktop with VLC using HTTP
:A corresponding player must be started using HTTP

"C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" -vvv dshow:// --sout=#transcode{venc=ffmpeg,vcodec=mp2v,vb=10000,fps=24,scale=0.5,width=1280,acodec=mp3,ab=192,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:std{access=http,mux=ts,dst=:8081} --no-sout-rtp-sap --no-sout-standard-sap --ttl=1 --sout-keep :dshow-vdev=screen-capture-recorder :dshow-adev=virtual-audio-capturer :dshow-caching=2000

:Exit

MY ffmpeg

"C:\Program Files\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe" -i "http://192.168.x.x:8081"


C:\Users\Educator>"C:\Program Files\Serviio\lib\ffmpeg.exe" -i "http://192.168.x.x:8081"

ffmpeg version N-42368-gbf53863 Copyright (c) 2000-2012 the FFmpeg developers
built on Jul 10 2012 03:40:45 with gcc 4.6.3
configuration: --enable-static --disable-shared --disable-ffplay --disable-ffs
erver --enable-memalign-hack --enable-libmp3lame --enable-librtmp --extra-libs='
-lrtmp -lpolarssl -lws2_32 -lwinmm' --arch=x86 --enable-runtime-cpudetect --enab
le-pthreads --target-os=mingw32 --cross-prefix=i686-w64-mingw32- --pkg-config=pk
g-config
libavutil 51. 64.100 / 51. 64.100
libavcodec 54. 33.100 / 54. 33.100
libavformat 54. 15.102 / 54. 15.102
libavdevice 54. 1.100 / 54. 1.100
libavfilter 3. 1.100 / 3. 1.100
libswscale 2. 1.100 / 2. 1.100
libswresample 0. 15.100 / 0. 15.100
http://192.168.x.x:8081: Input/output error


I Dont think its a problem with my TV coz as i said, when i add the Duplicate code to the bat it still does it.

Any suggestions?

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:53 am
by jhb50
Try changing the screen resolution of your display to 1280x720 before running the bat.

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:58 am
by henny
jhb50 wrote:Try changing the screen resolution of your display to 1280x720 before running the bat.



YAHHHH YOUR MY HERO

Fixed the problem. thank you very much

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:21 am
by henny
One quick question, this doesn't use any of my monthly data does it?

For instance, If i was to stream a power point presentation to my TV, this would not use any of my monthly data would it? as I'm not using the internet?

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:13 pm
by jhb50
Right.

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:29 am
by henny
During a 2 hour stream of my desktop to tv i encountered 20 iregular 2sec stops (im guessing buffer) iregular in that i had maybe 8 stops in 15mins and then none for 30mins.

Is this normal? sre their any tips or tricks to prevent this?

Secondly, about every 30mins the audio was noticbly infront of the video (e.g the actors words in the movie were behind there lip movement) - i had to stop the stream and re open.

I'm not sure wether the stops(buffers?) have anything to do with the video falling behind the audio, but again any tips or tricks to help fix this problem would be great.

THANKS again for your guys help

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:26 am
by jhb50
Dependent on your cpu. I have no similar problems with 8core I7 but if you have an older 2 core system it may not be able to keep up.

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 3:25 pm
by yogevk
Hey, with your help I've managed to stream my DVB-T card with vlc and serviio to my smart-TV and to my xtreamer side-winder.
i get video and audio on my smart-TV but my xtreamer only gets video.
this is what i'v enterd in VLC:
  Code:
sout=#transcode{venc=ffmpeg,vcodec=mp2v,vb=10000,fps=24,scale=0.5,width=1280,samplerate=44100}:std{access=http,mux=ts,dst=:8081} --no-sout-rtp-sap --no-sout-standard-sap --ttl=1 --sout-keep


I've removed this:
  Code:
acodec="aac",ab=64,channels=2

because it's the only way i get audio on my smart-TV. even if add those option i don't get audio on my xtreamer.
i don't need it to work in the TV, it was just for check.but i need audio in my xtreamer.

can you help me?

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:06 pm
by jhb50
You need to find out what codecs xstreamer will play..ac3, mp3,flac etc then get vlc to encode to it.

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:37 pm
by yogevk
jhb50 wrote:You need to find out what codecs xstreamer will play..ac3, mp3,flac etc then get vlc to encode to it.


this is from their website:

Media files supported
Video containers:
MPEG1/2/4 Elementary (M1V, M2V, M4V)
MPEG1/2 PS (M2P, MPG)
MPEG2 Transport Stream (TS, TP, TRP, M2T, M2TS, MTS)
VOB
AVI, ASF, WMV
Matroska (MKV)
AVC HD
MOV (H.264), MP4, RMP4
FLV - Flash Video
Video codecs:
Audio containers:
AAC, M4A
MPEG audio (MP1, MP2, MP3, MPA)
WAV
WMA
FLAC
OGG
RMP4
FLC
PCM
PLSX

Audio codecs:
Audio Down Mix : DTS-HD MA, DTS-HD HR
Photo formats : JPEG, BMP, PNG, GIF, HD JPEG
Other formats: ISO, IFO, FLV, RM, RA, RAM
Subtitle formats : SRT, SMI, SUB, SSA, IDX
Streaming formats : RTSP, FLV


i've tried mp3 and aac and it didn't worked.

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:29 pm
by jhb50
I can only suggest you try others that VLC also supports.

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:00 pm
by suldi15
i could not work it out

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:19 pm
by jhb50
This is your first post. What could you not work out?

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:04 pm
by suldi15
i managed to stream it to my tv but it its in a negative effect and the size is small and it is streaming late

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:19 pm
by jhb50
Sounds like you did not follow the instructions exactly.

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:45 pm
by suldi15
i got the video right but when i select it on my tv it says audio format not supported but i'm using mp3

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:37 am
by danprice86
Hello,

Can anyone assist me?

I am having problems making the Bat file run. I have installed all necessary video/audio recorders, they are listed in VLC etc.

I am running the below Bat, as per the wiki, with the exe location and the audio device amended. All I get is a repeating command line in command prompt, that is: C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC>StreamDesktop.bat (it just flashes and repeats over and over v quickly). I have tried adding .exe after the VLC location and the same thing happens (not sure if it should be there or not?). VLC does not launch.

The bat file is not word wrapped.

StreamDesktop.bat

@echo off

:This bat is used to stream the desktop with VLC using HTTP
:A corresponding player must be started using HTTP

"C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC" -vvv dshow:// --sout=#transcode

{venc=ffmpeg,vcodec=mp2v,vb=10000,fps=24,scale=0.5,width=1280,acodec=mp3,ab=192,channels=2,samplerate=

44100}:std{access=http,mux=ts,dst=:8081} --no-sout-rtp-sap --no-sout-standard-sap --ttl=1 --sout-keep

:dshow-vdev=screen-capture-recorder :dshow-adev=virtual-audio-capturer :dshow-caching=2000

:Exit

Re: streaming desk top to tv

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 12:44 pm
by jhb50
C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC>StreamDesktop.bat

Why is your prompt set to C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC>
and where is StreamDesktop.bat located?
My prompt is the windows default of C:\Users\John>
and I start it with C:\BAT\streamdesktop.bat