FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Unable to connect to Serviio server remotely

<<

schabelf

Serviio newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 9:07 pm

Post Mon Jan 23, 2023 9:41 pm

Unable to connect to Serviio server remotely

I have read many of the posts on this forum about remote connectivity problems but I still cannot solve mine. In the Serviio console I go to the remote tab and check the automatically configure your router and save and then the connectivity status gives two green arrows. If I then try to connect from my phone either with Servvigo or by entering the MediaBrowser address in my browser it conects, if I have Wifi turned on on the phone which is part of my home network. If Wifi is turned off and I am trying to connect through cellular signal (Verison) Serviigo and the web browser fail to connect. The phone browser will connect to other web addresses. I tried using a hot spot ( guest wifi at a Chick Fil a) and neither would connect to MediaBrowser. My router is a Xfinity xfi router which does not let you access the router through its web address, you have to us the Xfinity app. I have tried unchecking the automatic connectivity box and assigning the 2 port forwards in the app. When I check connectivity after doing this I have two green check marks but it still doesn't work. I have tried turning off my anti virus and fire wall (Norton). Didn't help. Access to Serviio is allowed in Norton firewall. Access is obviously being blocked somehow in the router but I don't know enough to figure it out.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4958

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Jan 23, 2023 9:48 pm

Re: Unable to connect to Serviio server remotely

First question: do you have the paid version of Serviio? This is Serviio Pro, and is required for ServiiGo to work. Same with accessing MediaBrowser, it requires the Pro version.
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

schabelf

Serviio newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 9:07 pm

Post Mon Jan 23, 2023 10:25 pm

Re: Unable to connect to Serviio server remotely

of course
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4958

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Jan 23, 2023 11:10 pm

Re: Unable to connect to Serviio server remotely

OK. I will say that I too have Xfinity/Comcast, and I could never get port forwarding to work using their app or web page. I finally had to put the modem in Bridge mode and use my own router, which gave me full control of the port forwarding, and then it worked fine. If it's all working when you are inside your firewall, but not working outside, then your Comcast modem is not port forwarding correctly. Even when I contacted their support, and they insisted they had it set correctly, it never worked.
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

schabelf

Serviio newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 9:07 pm

Post Tue Jan 24, 2023 4:58 pm

Re: Unable to connect to Serviio server remotely

There are multiple posts on their forum reporting the same thing. When I used one of the online port checkers it said the port was closed. I don't know whether i'll use your solution or not but it's nice to know that would work. I am curious though, that if the port is closed , why does the Serviio console give those green checkmarks for conectivity?
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4958

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Tue Jan 24, 2023 5:08 pm

Re: Unable to connect to Serviio server remotely

schabelf wrote: I am curious though, that if the port is closed , why does the Serviio console give those green checkmarks for connectivity?

We'll probably never really know. Either the firewall is misreporting its status, or Serviio isn't checking it correctly. I will say that Serviio is showing red for my firewall connectivity, but I know it really does work. So probably a little of A and a little of B. :D
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

schabelf

Serviio newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 9:07 pm

Post Wed Jan 25, 2023 3:03 am

Re: Unable to connect to Serviio server remotely

Considering the huge base of Xfinity customers there must be many of them trying to set up Serviio Media server. Isn't there anyone out there who has discovered how to succeed in doing this without having to bridge a second router.

Return to Serviio Support & Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.