FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Prohibit title modification for "home videos"?

<<

tohuuuu

Serviio newbie

Post Sun Feb 03, 2019 4:49 pm

Prohibit title modification for "home videos"?

Hi,

i'm quite new to serviio, just imported a large collection of home videos (e.g. video files without corresponding metadata from public sources). My problem is: I'd like to modify the titles of the video items manually. I've learned there's no web gui, but i'm happy editing the sql data directly (maybe creating some nice forms in LibreOffice Base...). I've managed editing the titles, but after adding new video files to the collection, all previously manually-modified items have lost their custom title - it seems Serviio replaces them based on the file name even if the items aren't new :o :( . That's quite ugly, since my manual renaming work is lost (Background: I've moved the media collections from Synology to Serviio, putting much effort into importing the metadata - titles, genres - as well).

So, my question is: Is there a way to restrict collecting metadata to new folder content? Alternatively - is there a way to make sure that manually modified metadata (esp. titels) won't be changed by serviio?

PS: On the serviio console, metadata category, there's an option "no descriptive metadata". I've selected it since i thought if serviio doesn't look for additional metadata, it won't touch manual modifications...
<<

tohuuuu

Serviio newbie

Post Sun Feb 03, 2019 10:14 pm

Re: Prohibit title modification for "home videos"?

Even worse: issue doesn't affect only the titles but also the genre entries. Not only there's n way to modify the metadata manually using the Web UI, modifications on DB level will be lost if new media items are added. :cry: - so question should be more generally: is there any way to modify metadata of video files in a persistent way?

Or is there only one option: provide the metadata in separate files (*.nfo, Media Center Master XML)?
<<

atc98092

DLNA master