FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

How to access Serviio files from internet/phone.

<<

dab1968

Serviio newbie

Post Sun Jan 15, 2023 8:48 pm

How to access Serviio files from internet/phone.

Firstly, I am a little more experienced than the average Joe when it comes to computer/network stuff, but I am BY NO MEANS an expert. There are a lot of holes in my understanding of a few areas. I am trying to access my files through MediaBrowser on Safari/iPhone over the internet. I have done endless research on the topic and still cannot access it unless the phone is connected to my home wifi. I have Serviio PRO, with the necessary settings in place. I have allowed Serviio access through the firewall on the host pc. I have set up Port Forwarding on the router to the proper port. I have rebooted the router after making said changes. There has to be something I am missing. This is probably my weakest area regarding computer use. Please, can someone find the patience to explain the process/steps to me like I am a 5 year old? If not, I understand. Just thought I'd ask.
<<

atc98092

DLNA master

Post Sun Jan 15, 2023 9:58 pm

Re: How to access Serviio files from internet/phone.

Welcome to the forum!

First, let's go through the steps necessary for accessing MediaBrowser from an Internet connected device. First, as you noted you must have the correct port forwarded in your router firewall. For MediaBrowser, the port is 23424, although you can also use port 23524 when using SSL. However, setting up SSL to work correctly is a task unto itself, so I have stuck with only using 23424. You forward that port from the Internet connection to the IP address if your Serviio computer. It's important to use a static IP address on your Serviio computer, as you need that port forwarding to be pointing to the right address.