Page 1 of 1

V1.6.1 doesn't work om W32

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:59 pm
by fidmas
I'm attempting to re-install V1.5 now. Very disappointing! See attached image.
Image1.jpg
Image1.jpg (10.89 KiB) Viewed 3690 times

Re: V1.6.1 doesn't work om W32

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:16 pm
by atc98092
What version of Windows? 32 or 64 bit?

Re: V1.6.1 doesn't work om W32

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:59 pm
by fidmas
32bit XP Pro. Please don't tell me this only runs on 64bit W7+. If so, I'll keep this vision, even if I have to pit up with the "Upgrade nag".

Re: V1.6.1 doesn't work om W32

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 11:43 pm
by DenyAll

Re: V1.6.1 doesn't work om W32

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 12:31 am
by fidmas
will reinstall tomorrow.

Re: V1.6.1 doesn't work om W32

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 4:55 pm
by zip
It works. Only the console needs W7 and above. http://serviio.org/component/content/article?id=21#q20

Re: V1.6.1 doesn't work om W32

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 7:06 pm
by fidmas
Yes, it works just fine. Sorry i couldn't get back to you sooner. That console said "Not a win32 application". I have to wonder about a 32bit W7? Doesn't matter for me though. My wife has a 64bit W7 laptop.

This XP box isn't really powerful to allow the service come up at boot-up, or keep running while doing other intensive work, So, i always set the service to "Manual". I used to have a batch that started the service, slept 3 seconds, and started the console in the tray. The tray icon was a good indication that Serviio was running and gave me a handy way to stop it when i needed more machine. Right now I have a little batch file to "NET START Serviio" and I'm writing a little routine to put an icon in the tray that lets me "See' it's running, and allows me to stop it.

Also, my windows firewall has two Serviio exceptions. Do they both have to be open to the entire Internet, or can I limit the scope to my LAN (Subnet)?

Re: V1.6.1 doesn't work om W32

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:14 am
by DenyAll
Yes, the console wrapper works on Win 7 32 bit (that's what I run).

Shameless plug - have a look at my WinHelper app (see signature) - allows start/stop of the server from the icon, sleep management and a few other things. The icon doesn't change when the server is running (you need to hover your mouse over the icon which will then tell you) but that sounds like an easy thing for a future release.

The firewall rules should be able to limit based on IP addresses (LAN vs everyone else), but that's not what's needed. It's your router that controls access from the internet - if you do not have a port forwarded in your router (and the "Automatically configure your router" is not ticked on the Remote tab of Serviio Console) then Internet users will not get access. This is the better way of denying access as it blocks the bad guys before they get anywhere near you LAN.

Re: V1.6.1 doesn't work om W32

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:06 am
by fidmas
i see you put a lot of work into that. I'll check it out better tomorrow. Right now, i've got this VB6 thing working fine.
1) The batch file starts the service, and installs the tray icon.
2) Left click the Icon to launch the browser Serviio console.
3) Right click for a context menu to either launch the console or Stop Serviio and unload the icon.

Does what i need for now i think.

Now if I could find out what's going on with CBS we'd be good to go. The URLs offer the browser from 5 to 15 of the latest shows free. Serviio either comes up with an empty list or offers shows from 2015.