FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Transcoding a webcam

<<

jenhek

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:37 pm

Post Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:40 pm

Transcoding a webcam

Hi,

I would like to sent a webcam stream to my Sony.

Any idea how to realize that?

Currently the webcam runs with the following ffserver configuration:

  Code:
Port 8080
BindAddress 0.0.0.0
MaxClients 1000
MaxBandwidth 10000
# Comment the following, on production use
NoDaemon

<Feed feed1.ffm>
    File /tmp/feed1.ffm
    FileMaxSize 100K
    Launch ffmpeg -r 10 -s 320x240 -f video4linux2 -i /dev/video0
</Feed>

# SWF output
<Stream test.swf>
    Feed feed1.ffm
    Format swf
    VideoCodec flv
    VideoFrameRate 15
    VideoBitRate 800
    VideoQMin 5
    VideoQMin 5
    VideoSize 320x240
    PreRoll 0
    Noaudio
</Stream>


Comments appreciated.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17212

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:13 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

Live streams are not supported
<<

jenhek

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:37 pm

Post Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:42 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

Is there a "hard" reason for that?

Couldn't I setup a pipe with the feed from the source that serviio just transmits?
<<

Cerberus

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4114

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:20 pm

Location: Reading, UK

Post Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:53 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

DLNA doesnt not allow this kind of streaming...
Phil Bennett
Beta Tester Group
Wiki | FAQ

Samsung LE40C750 LCD | Samsung BD-C5900 | Sony PS3 | Windows 7 |
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17212

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:14 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

jenhek wrote:Is there a "hard" reason for that?

Couldn't I setup a pipe with the feed from the source that serviio just transmits?

There is no reason, it just has not been implemented. Maybe once I implement online streaming, feeds, etc it could be done.
<<

tombert

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 217

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:01 pm

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

Cerberus wrote:DLNA doesnt not allow this kind of streaming...

Thats not a matter of DLNA.
<<

Cerberus

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4114

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:20 pm

Location: Reading, UK

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:17 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

well to be honest thats up to zip but serviio is a DLNA media server ie it uses the dlna protocol but if he wanted to add that feature he would have to use a different protocol to do it..
Phil Bennett
Beta Tester Group
Wiki | FAQ

Samsung LE40C750 LCD | Samsung BD-C5900 | Sony PS3 | Windows 7 |
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

tombert

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 217

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:01 pm

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:22 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

then you should have wrote "serviio doesn't allow ..." and not "DLNA doesn't allow ..."
<<

Cerberus

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4114

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:20 pm

Location: Reading, UK

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:28 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

nope i was right DLNA is a type of protocol and DLNA doesnt not support live streams.
Phil Bennett
Beta Tester Group
Wiki | FAQ

Samsung LE40C750 LCD | Samsung BD-C5900 | Sony PS3 | Windows 7 |
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

tombert

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 217

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:01 pm

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:55 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

Hi,

then please have a look here:
http://www.dlna.org/about_us/roadmap/DL ... epaper.pdf

DLNA is a protocol offering streamed content no matter if it's coming from a web-cam, a movie or audio file. In principle one could implement a DLNA server directly into an webcam.
For the protocol it makes no difference if it's comming 'live' or recorded ... in fact DLNA doesn't even know the 'real' source of the file you'r playing ... that's the reason why you could see the filename movie.avi on your TV but streaming an mpeg movie.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17212

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:30 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

tombert is right.... this could be done in a similar way as video feeds etc
<<

Zek

User avatar

Serviio lover

Posts: 72

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 11:03 am

Location: Boulder, Colorado, USA

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:33 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

Cerberus wrote:nope i was right DLNA is a type of protocol and DLNA doesnt not support live streams.


I'm no expert but I think there are live streams in DLNA. DLNA.ORG_FLAGS bit 26 and 27:
UPNP_DLNA_FLAGS_S0_INCREASE Content does not have a fixed beginning
UPNP_DLNA_FLAGS_SN_INCREASE Content does not have a fixed end

Plus my Synology is streaming live soutcasts faking as Music files.

Cheers,
Zek
Sony Bravia KDL-55NX810 | Serviio 0.5 (rev. 975aa458693c) | Synology DS-1010+
<<

Cerberus

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4114

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:20 pm

Location: Reading, UK

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:36 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

Zek wrote:
Cerberus wrote:nope i was right DLNA is a type of protocol and DLNA doesnt not support live streams.


I'm no expert but I think there are live streams in DLNA. DLNA.ORG_FLAGS bit 26 and 27:
UPNP_DLNA_FLAGS_S0_INCREASE Content does not have a fixed beginning
UPNP_DLNA_FLAGS_SN_INCREASE Content does not have a fixed end

Plus my Synology is streaming live soutcasts faking as Music files.

Cheers,
Zek



yer that could be possible by Faking the protocol into thinking it was a set file, not sure how you would do it tho..
Phil Bennett
Beta Tester Group
Wiki | FAQ

Samsung LE40C750 LCD | Samsung BD-C5900 | Sony PS3 | Windows 7 |
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17212

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:42 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

a file is not necessary, just a stream of bytes - it can come from a file or a web resource, doesn't matter
<<

tombert

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 217

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:01 pm

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:04 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

Cerberus wrote:yer that could be possible by Faking the protocol into thinking it was a set file, not sure how you would do it tho..


... the Client (Renderer) does not see any files which it has access to - it's not like you connect a USB drive and then browse through the files ... DLNA doesn't know FAT, NTFS, EXT or samba share ... it doesn't even know what a "file" is - speaking in strictly terms.

You have to separate the presentation completely from the content. The "files" you see on your TV are only a list of items to play - the name "file" is confusing though because it can be anything - the correct name would be "stream". So these items can be anything you want them to be like a real file, a content coming from the internet, a webcam stream ... it even can be your computer desktop streamed to your TV. So as it knows no "files" there is no faking them ...

Also what might help in understanding: your TV has two players built in - one accessing your DLNA content - the other playing files from your USB. In fact they are so completely different that on some TVs you can play avis natively but via DLNA it doesn't - dont mix this up!

hope that helps in understanding ...
<<

gerryo

Serviio newbie

Posts: 10

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 9:41 am

Post Sun Jan 23, 2011 7:46 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

I stumbled across this while searching for info on how to stream live tv to my Samsung C series TV.
I had been using VLC to stream (http or mms), works well on PC's, can't get this working with my new Samsung.

I installed Serviio & can view most media formats, but don't have live or internet streams.

I was thinking the only was was to stream to a 'fake' file & serve this to the TV, hopefully I won't have to do that as
it introduces loads of other problems. From what I've managed to find out, it should be possible
to get the tv to accept media that has unknown content length.

I have tried using cling (DLNA) workbench to send media to the Samsung. Send-to works for regular files, but not
for live http streams (perhaps because there is no .avi or .mkv in the url.

I'd appreciate any pointers as to what's the best way to go.
<<

tombert

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 217

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:01 pm

Post Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:11 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

I can point you to a few applications that claim to do so:
http://www.playon.tv/playon
http://www.wildmediaserver.com/

A more exhaustive list is here:
http://www.rbgrn.net/content/21-how-to- ... x-or-linux
... but a bit old ...

I've never tested on of those ... so if you gain experience please let me/us know.

Similar issue was already discussed here:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=255&p=4755&hilit=internet#p4755
<<

Cerberus

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4114

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:20 pm

Location: Reading, UK

Post Sun Jan 23, 2011 9:00 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

playon and wildmedia server dont support webcam but a few users have requested that feature but to do it from what im reading they would VLC so serviio would be able to do it that way because of licencing. it also seem to work using the HTTP protocol so maybe it will be possible once Zip adds webcontent like HULU.


Playon: http://www.playon.tv/forum/feedback/pla ... eam-source

wildmediaserver: http://www.wildmediaserver.com/forum/vi ... bcam#p1495

videolan ( VLC ) : http://www.videolan.org/ ( i can not work out if its GNU licenced or not )


i may be wrong in this thinking but that how it looks to me..
Phil Bennett
Beta Tester Group
Wiki | FAQ

Samsung LE40C750 LCD | Samsung BD-C5900 | Sony PS3 | Windows 7 |
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

tombert

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 217

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:01 pm

Post Sun Jan 23, 2011 9:11 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

I thought he was talking about internet TV ... but could be wrong ...
<<

tombert

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 217

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:01 pm

Post Sun Jan 23, 2011 9:14 pm

Re: Transcoding a webcam

How about a workaround: Make a mini web-page showing your web-cam ... and this you can stream via playon or something else ...
Next

Return to Transcoding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.