FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Transcoding and Brand new Samsung Q9FN

<<

Paolo

Serviio newbie

Posts: 12

Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 11:31 pm

Post Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:06 pm

Re: Transcoding and Brand new Samsung Q9FN

Good...was standard dir.
now I must fight becouse the upload of this file is not permitted in that dir.
Putty and WinSCP are not helping.

Also Serviio in Synology seems not working very well, it's sharing all my pictures and some songs...but no video. I must find the time to find my error (it's very easy but something of wrong there should be!)

I will update you
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 3420

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:08 am

Re: Transcoding and Brand new Samsung Q9FN

Paolo wrote:Good...was standard dir.
now I must fight becouse the upload of this file is not permitted in that dir.
Putty and WinSCP are not helping.

Also Serviio in Synology seems not working very well, it's sharing all my pictures and some songs...but no video. I must find the time to find my error (it's very easy but something of wrong there should be!)

I will update you


I can't offer much of any further help with a NAS. I have some Linux knowledge, but the way they implement the OS on a NAS is completely different from a PC that you can log into a screen and use a keyboard and mouse. My days of using VI are long past. :lol:
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

roze

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:21 pm

Post Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:22 pm

Re: Transcoding and Brand new Samsung Q9FN

@paolo
Putty is fine :-)
config dir is owned by root ...
  Code:
# ls -ld config
drwxr-xr-x 1 root root   266 Aug 26 20:28 config


so, you have to switch to root, I can this:
login as admin
sudo su -
you'll be asked for password of admin

after that you can verify you are root:
  Code:
root@DS218:/var/packages/Serviio/target# id
uid=0(root) gid=0(root) groups=0(root),2(daemon),19(log)
TV Samsung Q60R, Synology NAS DS218+
<<

roze

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:21 pm

Post Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:12 pm

Re: Transcoding and Brand new Samsung Q9FN

I created user-profiles.xml:
  Code:
root@DS218:/var/packages/Serviio/target/config# ls -l
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  33208 Aug 25 22:58 application-profiles.xml
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root     50 Aug 25 22:58 fonts
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   1742 Aug 25 22:58 log4j.xml
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 223644 Jun  4 23:08 profiles-i686evansport.xml
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 184736 Aug 26 21:44 profiles.xml
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root   2175 Aug 25 22:58 serviio.jks
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   1082 Aug 26 21:26 user-profiles.xml


I did restart serviio server, but serviio console don't show "Samsung TV / player (Q-series)". :(
What's wrong?
TV Samsung Q60R, Synology NAS DS218+
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 3420

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:04 pm

Re: Transcoding and Brand new Samsung Q9FN

I'm not certain how to restart the Serviio process on a NAS device. I suggest completely rebooting it, and if the new profile doesn't appear then upload a copy of the Serviio log here so we can see if there's an error loading the user profile file. In fact, maybe you could quickly upload it now, and see if we can answer that.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

roze

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:21 pm

Post Tue Aug 27, 2019 3:38 pm

Re: Transcoding and Brand new Samsung Q9FN

I did everything right yesterday, just I didn't refresh (F5) of HTML page of console status after restart Serviio server. Therefore I was not offered a new profile.
Now, I see "Samsung TV / player (Q-series)" in listbox of profiles and transcoding works fine for this movie:
  Code:
ideo
Formát                           : MPEG-4 Visual
Format settings, BVOP            : Ne
Format settings, QPel            : Ne
Format settings, GMC             : No warppoints
Format settings, Matrix          : Default
Codec ID                         : XVID
Codec ID/Hint                    : XviD
Duration                         : 2h 2mn
Bit rate                         : 1 210 Kbps
Šířka                            : 720pixely
Výška                            : 302pixely
Poměr stran                      : 2.35
Frame rate                       : 23,976 fps
Rozlišení                        : 24 bits
Colorimetry                      : 4:2:0
Scan type                        : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)               : 0.232
Stream size                      : 1,04 GiB (86%)
Enkódoval                        : Lavc56.60.100

Audio
Formát                           : AC-3
Formát/Info                      : Audio Coding 3
Codec ID                         : 2000
Bit rate mode                    : Constant
Bit rate                         : 192 Kbps
Kanál(y)                         : 2 kanály
Channel positions                : L R
Sampling rate                    : 48,0 KHz
Stream size                      : 168 MiB (14%)
Alignment                        : Aligned on interleaves
Interleave, duration             : 64 ms (1,53 video frames)
Interleave, preload duration     : 192 ms
Titul                            : CZ


===========================
This forum is very clear, thanks to admin ;)
the only drawback I see is that I can't directly contact (private message) a user with a similar devices. :(
TV Samsung Q60R, Synology NAS DS218+
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 3420

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Tue Aug 27, 2019 8:08 pm

Re: Transcoding and Brand new Samsung Q9FN

PMs are enabled on this forum, but you might have to have a minimum number of posts before it's enabled for you. That's a common security feature on most forums.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

roze

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:21 pm

Post Fri Aug 30, 2019 3:43 pm

Re: Transcoding and Brand new Samsung Q9FN

I have trouble with audio in this clip http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/4khdr/PE2_Leopard_4K.mkv
  Code:
Audio
Formát                           : DTS-HD
Formát/Info                      : Digital Theater Systems
Codec ID                         : A_DTS
Duration                         : 4s 216ms
Bit rate mode                    : Variable
Kanál(y)                         : 6 kanály
Channel positions                : Front: L C R, Surround: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                    : 48,0 KHz
Rozlišení                        : 16 bits
Titul                            : DTS-HD MA 5.1


Probably I have to add some row
<Matches container="*" aCodec="dts-hd" />
to my user-profiles.xml.

Somebody here would give me an advice?
Thanks.
TV Samsung Q60R, Synology NAS DS218+
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 3420

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Fri Aug 30, 2019 7:13 pm

Re: Transcoding and Brand new Samsung Q9FN

Yep, no TV supports lossless audio. Your suggested matches line would be correct. It's what I use in all the Roku profiles. Some devices will passthrough the lossy DTS core audio, but I've found that less than reliable, which is why I decided to just transcode them all to AC3.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
Previous

Return to Transcoding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.