FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Erratic and unusable live stream playback

<<

dreamlayers

Serviio newbie

Posts: 15

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:12 pm

Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Tue Apr 10, 2012 8:47 pm

Erratic and unusable live stream playback

On an LG 47LW5600 TV with 04.02.62 and 04.03.01 firmware, playback of most rtmp live video streams is erratic.

Looking through the rtmpgui to Serviio converter, I found a bunch of streams which can be reliably played using ffplay or saved to MKV using Serviio's copy of ffmpeg (which doesn't support SDL output).

Usually the TV says the stream is invalid, but sometimes it says the source (Serviio) disconnected and quits SmartShare. Once in a while, I got streams to play, but that's so rare and the continual failures are so frustrating that it's useless. I just found two streams which reliably work on the TV. NHK World HD:
  Code:
rtmp://ny-1.net.fivecool.org/2e2cd/ playpath=nhkworldglobalhigh1.sdp swfUrl=http://www3.nhk.or.jp/nhkworld/r/movie/streamhub_player_20110429.swf pageUrl=http://www3.nhk.or.jp/ tcUrl=rtmp://ny-1.net.fivecool.org/2e2cd/
and History Channel HD:
  Code:
rtmp://s7.webport.tv/live/z050003.stream pageUrl=http://www.tvsector.com/ swfVfy=0 live=1
That's from the HD_Channels RSS feed. I'm in Canada, so I didn't get a chance to test most streams because they're not accessible from here. However, I'm able to reliably access much more than 2 streams from my computer.

BTW A few hints: If you want to play a stream using ffplay, use something like this:
  Code:
ffplay -i "rtmp://s7.webport.tv/live/z050003.stream pageUrl=http://www.tvsector.com/ swfVfy=0 live=1"
If you want to write it to a file, which is all you can do using Serviio's copy of ffmpeg, use something like this:
  Code:
 ffmpeg -i "rtmp://s7.webport.tv/live/z050003.stream pageUrl=http://www.tvsector.com/ swfVfy=0 live=1" -acodec copy -vcodec copy foo.mkv
You require the whole text copied when you click the O button at the right of the rtmpgui to Serviio converter web page, and not just the short rtmp:// string. Two spaces in a row is not acceptable. Some strings contain that, and it needs to be changed to one space. Video corruption is normal at start of playback, because data from before you tuned in to the broadcast is required. That should go away eventually. Ffplay shows washed out video, and the only way around that seems to be to pipe the video to something else like mplayer.
<<

jhb50

DLNA master

Posts: 2843

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:32 pm

Post Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:38 pm

Re: Erratic and unusable live stream playback

because they're not accessible from here.

That is incorrect. All streams in the library are accessable from any location.
Ffplay shows washed out video, and the only way around that seems to be to pipe the video

Also incorrect. FFplay outputs the same quality as Serviio and VLC.

Your TV is likely the source of your problem since if you can capture the streams there is no reason why your TV with the appropriate profile should not play them.
<<

dreamlayers

Serviio newbie

Posts: 15

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:12 pm

Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:47 pm

Re: Erratic and unusable live stream playback

jhb50 wrote:
because they're not accessible from here.

That is incorrect. All streams in the library are accessable from any location.
I am getting access denied errors for some streams listed in rtmpgui to Serviio converter. I thought that meant the stream was only accessible from some country or countries. For example, I would expect BBC to only be accessible from the UK. However, I was able to stream BBC HD sometimes, so maybe that's wrong.
jhb50 wrote:
Ffplay shows washed out video, and the only way around that seems to be to pipe the video

Also incorrect. FFplay outputs the same quality as Serviio and VLC.

Your TV is likely the source of your problem since if you can capture the streams there is no reason why your TV with the appropriate profile should not play them.

Ffplay decodes video properly, like other players, but the contrast is low. It's as if ffplay outputs 16-235 luma levels while other software outputs 0-255 levels.

Yeah, I agree that the TV is probably the problem. That's why I posted here in the LG-specific forum.

Edit: Yeah, it is definitely a TV problem. I don't have problems when playing channels using VLC as the DLNA client. Playback also starts a lot faster in VLC than on the TV.

Edit: Transcoding video helps a lot. I wrote about it in another thread.

Return to LG

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.