FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

No audio, video is fine

<<

faspina

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 3:36 am

Post Sun Jul 25, 2010 3:39 am

No audio, video is fine

Trying to stream to a DIRECTV HD DVR. MP3 work great, two video types both come over as video but no audio. Running standard version of software on the DVR not a CE version . Any ideas where to start.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16935

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Sun Jul 25, 2010 10:33 am

Re: No audio, video is fine

I presume you selected DirecTV profile?
<<

faspina

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 3:36 am

Post Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:46 pm

Re: No audio, video is fine

Yep. One thing to not. No sound card on the PC running Serviio, it is running WHS as its OS.
<<

faspina

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 3:36 am

Post Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:08 pm

Re: No audio, video is fine

I got it. Changed the audio codec from Ac3 to MP3 on the directTV profile. Worked like a charm. This is great.
<<

iys

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 1:54 am

Post Sat Aug 07, 2010 2:02 am

Re: No audio, video is fine

I have 2 DirectTV HD boxes and neither will play audio.
One is an H21-200
And the other is an H23-600.

In Device Spy, both show
Device URN: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:MediaRenderer:1
Model Name: MediaRenderer
Model Number: 1.0

As for SinkProtocolInfo, both show "http-get:*:image/jpeg:*,http-get:*:image/png:*,http-get:*:audio/L16:*,http-get:*:video/mpeg:*"

I've tried targetACodec values of the default "ac3", "mp3" and "pcm_s16le" (based on SinkProtocolInfo reporting L16). None of these options work. Any suggestions?
<<

iys

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 1:54 am

Post Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:39 pm

Re: No audio, video is fine

Still fighting with this...
<<

iys

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 1:54 am

Post Wed Sep 29, 2010 10:51 pm

Re: No audio, video is fine

DirecTV boxes seem to be getting ignored by all of the DLNA media server software guys but I'll continue posting on this anyway...

I've figured out through various searches and trial and error that the DirecTV boxes will play audio along with video provided that they are in an MPEG container and the audio is in MP2 format (MPEG-1 Audio Layer II or MPEG-2 Audio Layer II). For whatever reason, it does not work for MP3 (MPEG-1 Audio Layer III or MPEG-2 Audio Layer III).

So far, I've accomplished this by running my VOBs through a program called MPEG Streamclip and using the "Convert to MPEG with MP2 Audio..." option. Once converted, sound and video work great.

Can MP2 be enabled in Serviio's transcoding? I believe that will fix the problems for DirecTV boxes.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16935

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:11 pm

Re: No audio, video is fine

That should be possible. Even though some people confirmed mp3 works too, so I'm not sure if that could be on a per-file basis. I'll add mp2 encoding in 0.5, if possible.

Can you confirm you can transcode your video to mpeg2ps with mpeg2video video codec and mp2 audio codec and the file is playable?
<<

iys

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 1:54 am

Post Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:56 am

Re: No audio, video is fine

I think the difference for people that have gotten MP3 to work is that they have DVR boxes while my 2 boxes are simply HD with Media Share. No DVR. Aside from that, it's possible that my boxes may simply be older. I'm not sure.

Here are screen captures of the settings for one of my videos.

The original (which doesn't work on the DTV box) still in its DVD ready VOB(MPEG2PS)/MPEG2/AC3 format
Image

The converted MPEG2PS/MPEG2/MP2 which works on the DTV box.
Image
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 16935

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Tue Oct 05, 2010 2:35 pm

Re: No audio, video is fine

<<

snapperhead

Serviio newbie

Posts: 1

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 1:31 am

Post Fri Oct 08, 2010 1:39 am

Re: No audio, video is fine

Can someone post the solution/code to change the audio codec from AC3 to MP3 on the DirecTV Profile ... have no clue how to edit the profile renderer (i'm a newbie here) and I don't want to mess anything up. I too am able to view video but not playback any accompanying audio.

thx
<<

Illico

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4649

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 am

Location: France

Post Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:16 am

Re: No audio, video is fine

Change targetACodec="ac3" to targetACodec="mp3"
I also add <Matches container="avi" /> to transcode avi containers

  Code:
   <Profile id="6" name="DirecTV HD-DVR" extendsProfileId="1">
      <Detection>
         <User-Agent>.*DIRECTV.*</User-Agent>
      </Detection>
      <Transcoding>
         <Video targetContainer="mpeg" targetVCodec="mpeg2video" targetACodec="mp3" maxVBitrate="8192">
                <Matches container="matroska" />
                <Matches container="mp4" />
                <Matches container="asf" />
                <Matches container="avi" />
         </Video>
      </Transcoding>
   </Profile>
Illico
Sony 2010 KDL-46EX501 | BDP-S373 | SMP-N100 | Windows 8-i7 | Network DD HD-CE1.5TLU2 | Livebox2-UHD86 | ServiiDroid | ServiiGo | BubbleUPnP
Serviio beta tester - Moderator
<<

josh208

Serviio newbie

Posts: 7

Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:29 pm

Post Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:50 pm

Re: No audio, video is fine

A number of people have found that change targetACodec to 'mp3' does not work, this was the case for me. However, 0.5 now supports target of 'mp2'. This works!
Gleaned this from: http://www.serviio.org/index.php?option ... icle&id=24

Sidenote: I also had to set downmix to stereo under video settings on the Transcoding Tab otherwise FFMPEG would croak claiming impossible bitrate (Before doing this, I would not even get video).
<<

Cerberus

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4116

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:20 pm

Location: Reading, UK

Post Thu Feb 10, 2011 11:20 pm

Re: No audio, video is fine

josh208 wrote:A number of people have found that change targetACodec to 'mp3' does not work, this was the case for me. However, 0.5 now supports target of 'mp2'. This works!
Gleaned this from: http://www.serviio.org/index.php?option ... icle&id=24

Sidenote: I also had to set downmix to stereo under video settings on the Transcoding Tab otherwise FFMPEG would croak claiming impossible bitrate (Before doing this, I would not even get video).


cant you just force the abitrate to 192k in the profile rather than setting downmix ????
Phil Bennett
Beta Tester Group
Wiki | FAQ

Samsung LE40C750 LCD | Samsung BD-C5900 | Sony PS3 | Windows 7 |
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

josh208

Serviio newbie

Posts: 7

Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:29 pm

Post Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:23 pm

Re: No audio, video is fine

Did not try, but I'm not convinced that would be a valid workaround as I believe the complaint had more to do with the fact that mp2 only supports 2-channel audio. But I could be mistaken. :?:

Return to Transcoding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.