FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

I cant get subtitles on anything that needs transcoding :-(

<<

Omar1st

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:41 pm

Location: Birmingham, UK

Post Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:56 pm

I cant get subtitles on anything that needs transcoding :-(

Hi Guys

Newbie here, and this is my first post so please be gentle with me.

I have been using Serviio for the best part of 2 years now I think and its been absolutely fab. I have a Sony 50inch W829b and the media player literally plays everything I throw at it until quite recently unfortunately.

I am a avid watcher of subbed anime so having my subtitles to me is important as I obviously don't understand the language. Quite recently, I downloaded a few batches of Anime that were either 10bit which my tv doesn't support, had
flac audio and or was encoded in x265.

So now came the time where I had to use the transcoder in Serviio to play these files on my tv. I use the standard Sony Bravia 2013/14 profile and I haven't had any problems. It transcodes obviously only what my TV's media player
does not support. So it transcoded the FLAC audio anime fine, transcoded and plays the 10bit and x265 files fine

all but it doesn't show the subtitles!!! Which is so annoying, Ive literally played with serviio the past week trying to figure it out and to no avail I have ended up at this forum hoping I could get some help! :(

So basically, long story shot (lol, sorry to bore you guys) I cant get the subtitles to show on my tv on any file that needs transcoding. Has anyone had any similar problems? Does anyone know of any solution?

All your help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Primary Server
Intel 4790K Devil's Canyon| Asus Z97-A | 16GB 1866mhz RAM | nVIDIA Asus 980Ti Strix | Samsung 250gb 840 Evo | Corsair 750w Gold+ 80 | Corsair Hyper 212 Evo | x4 1TB Storage

Sony 55inch KDL-W829b | Panasonic SC-BTT465 |
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4136

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Wed Dec 09, 2015 5:11 pm

Re: I cant get subtitles on anything that needs transcoding

In general, when a file requires transcoding, captions are no longer available. You can enable burned in subtitles, but that forces transcoding for everything. Also, the captions within the file must be in a certain format or Serviio cannot even do the burned in version. Can you confirm the subs in the file are in text format, and not some other form?
Dan

LG NANO85 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku Ultra, Premiere and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 22 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

Omar1st

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:41 pm

Location: Birmingham, UK

Post Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:08 pm

Re: I cant get subtitles on anything that needs transcoding

First of all, thank you ever so much for taking the time to reply in this thread. I really appreciate it buddy.

Right okay, I wasn't aware captions are no longer available when a file is being transcoded.

Yeah I see that I can enable an option for burned in subtitles and I am also aware it needs to be a format such as srt as Serviio has its limits on what it can do but most my files have embedded subtitles.
And call me lazy, but i cannot be asked to extract, convert and then burn the subs in. I rather was hoping there was a way around it, having captions enabled on a file that is being transcoded.

I can confirm the subs for two different anime that I am testing the water with are in ASS format.
Primary Server
Intel 4790K Devil's Canyon| Asus Z97-A | 16GB 1866mhz RAM | nVIDIA Asus 980Ti Strix | Samsung 250gb 840 Evo | Corsair 750w Gold+ 80 | Corsair Hyper 212 Evo | x4 1TB Storage

Sony 55inch KDL-W829b | Panasonic SC-BTT465 |
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17154

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:20 pm

Re: I cant get subtitles on anything that needs transcoding

so try to use the burmed in subtitles and also enable embedded subtitles (and provide the language code of the subs track you want to use). see http://serviio.org/index.php?option=com ... icle&id=33
<<

Omar1st

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:41 pm

Location: Birmingham, UK

Post Sat Dec 12, 2015 3:58 pm

Re: I cant get subtitles on anything that needs transcoding

Hi Buddy

Yeah, I went back and tried all that mate, it still doesn't work for me :-(
Primary Server
Intel 4790K Devil's Canyon| Asus Z97-A | 16GB 1866mhz RAM | nVIDIA Asus 980Ti Strix | Samsung 250gb 840 Evo | Corsair 750w Gold+ 80 | Corsair Hyper 212 Evo | x4 1TB Storage

Sony 55inch KDL-W829b | Panasonic SC-BTT465 |
<<

jhb50

DLNA master

Posts: 2843

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:32 pm

Post Sat Dec 12, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: I cant get subtitles on anything that needs transcoding

For help post the ffmpeg of your file, the debug log when you play it and a screen capture of the subtitle tab in your console. That will provide the info we need. my subs all work fine.
<<

Omar1st

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:41 pm

Location: Birmingham, UK

Post Sat Dec 12, 2015 5:40 pm

Re: I cant get subtitles on anything that needs transcoding

Oh man!! Its working! Its working!! I was just reading back to "zip"'s post and I thought oh, I can't remember trying to add a code for the language track. I also updated my ffmpeg for serviio

Anyway, as soon as I got home from work, I added both "eng, english" and BOOM! YAY

The language for the subtitle track has to be set to eng, english so I'll have to go back and do a little work for JoJo's but Angel beats is all good.

Thanks alot guys! It really means a tremendous lot. You guys are brilliant!

Cheers chaps!
Primary Server
Intel 4790K Devil's Canyon| Asus Z97-A | 16GB 1866mhz RAM | nVIDIA Asus 980Ti Strix | Samsung 250gb 840 Evo | Corsair 750w Gold+ 80 | Corsair Hyper 212 Evo | x4 1TB Storage

Sony 55inch KDL-W829b | Panasonic SC-BTT465 |
<<

jhb50

DLNA master

Posts: 2843

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:32 pm

Post Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: I cant get subtitles on anything that needs transcoding

And now you know why I wanted the screen capture too ;-)
<<

Omar1st

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:41 pm

Location: Birmingham, UK

Post Mon Dec 14, 2015 12:43 pm

Re: I cant get subtitles on anything that needs transcoding

Lol yeah haha. Thanks guys :-)
Primary Server
Intel 4790K Devil's Canyon| Asus Z97-A | 16GB 1866mhz RAM | nVIDIA Asus 980Ti Strix | Samsung 250gb 840 Evo | Corsair 750w Gold+ 80 | Corsair Hyper 212 Evo | x4 1TB Storage

Sony 55inch KDL-W829b | Panasonic SC-BTT465 |

Return to Transcoding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.