FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Transcoding for every file?

<<

roughnecks

User avatar

Serviio newbie

Posts: 11

Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2019 2:51 pm

Post Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:55 am

Transcoding for every file?

Hello,

I'm totally new to this so excuse my ignorance.
If transcoding is enabled, does it work with every file, even if they worked fine earlier without transcoding?

I mean, if I have some .avi which do not need transcoding and can be viewed just fine in my TV, when transcoding is enabled does it do its job even for those files?

Thanks
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 3514

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Oct 21, 2019 7:13 pm

Re: Transcoding for every file?

roughnecks wrote:Hello,

I'm totally new to this so excuse my ignorance.
If transcoding is enabled, does it work with every file, even if they worked fine earlier without transcoding?

I mean, if I have some .avi which do not need transcoding and can be viewed just fine in my TV, when transcoding is enabled does it do its job even for those files?

Thanks


Welcome!

Simply enabling transcoding does not force all media to be transcoded. The profile selected for your TV is what determines what is transcoded and what is streamed natively. What make/model TV do you have, and what profile is assigned to it in the Serviio console?
Dan

Samsung NU7100 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

roughnecks

User avatar

Serviio newbie

Posts: 11

Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2019 2:51 pm

Post Mon Oct 21, 2019 7:15 pm

Re: Transcoding for every file?

I see. I'm using a Samsung TV and I set it to "Samsung TV / player (E/F-series)", so that should be enough :-)
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 3514

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Tue Oct 22, 2019 2:13 am

Re: Transcoding for every file?

I'm looking at that profile, and there are several Matches lines for AVI files. If the video codec in use is h264, mjpeg or dvvideo, then they will be transcoded. I'm a little surprised by the h264 capture, but perhaps that old of a TV doesn't support H.264 video. I see it in a number of other Matches lines as well. I'd have to know the content of your AVI files to say for sure if they are being transcoded. But if they don't use one of those three video codecs, then it should be playing natively.
Dan

Samsung NU7100 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

roughnecks

User avatar

Serviio newbie

Posts: 11

Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2019 2:51 pm

Post Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:58 am

Re: Transcoding for every file?

I know for sure that h264 is supported, almost all of the content I watch is like that.

Here's an mkv example:

  Code:
[Informazioni video]
  Codec: AVC1 - Decoder FFmpeg interno(h264, Thread Frame)
  Tipo di input: AVC1(24 bits)
  Dimensioni input: 720 × 404(1.78:1)
  Tipo di output: NV12(12 bits)
  Dimensioni output: 720 × 404(1.78:1)
  Frequenza fotogrammi: 23.976
  BitRate: Sconosciuto

[Informazioni audio]
  Codec: Dolby AC3(0x2000) - Decoder FFmpeg interno(ac3)
  Frequenza di campionamento: 48000 ->48000 campionamenti/sec
  Bitrate: 0 ->16 bit/campionamento
  Canali: 2 ->2 canali
  Bitrate: 192 kbps


And, an avi

  Code:
[Informazioni video]
  Codec: XVID - Decoder FFmpeg interno(mpeg4)
  Tipo di input: XVID(12 bits)
  Dimensioni input: 720 × 304(2.37:1)
  Tipo di output: NV12(12 bits)
  Dimensioni output: 720 × 304(2.37:1)
  Frequenza fotogrammi: 24
  BitRate: 1479.03 kbps

[Informazioni audio]
  Codec: Dolby AC3(0x2000) - Decoder FFmpeg interno(ac3)
  Frequenza di campionamento: 48000 ->48000 campionamenti/sec
  Bitrate: 0 ->16 bit/campionamento
  Canali: 6 ->2 canali
  Bitrate: 448 kbps
<<

roughnecks

User avatar

Serviio newbie

Posts: 11

Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2019 2:51 pm

Post Tue Oct 22, 2019 1:22 pm

Re: Transcoding for every file?

I have enabled transcoding for the first time and played a couple videos; CPU usage was "normal", so I guess no transcoding was happening and that's what I hoped.
Soon I'll get a new rig so maybe I'll enable the function again and let it stay.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 3514

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:28 pm

Re: Transcoding for every file?

Both of those look fine for most players. If transcoding is enabled and you aren't seeing a CPU load near 100%, then it's not transcoding. :D
Dan

Samsung NU7100 4K TV, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

roughnecks

User avatar

Serviio newbie

Posts: 11

Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2019 2:51 pm

Post Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:03 pm

Re: Transcoding for every file?

Thanks for your help!

Return to Transcoding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.