FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

<<

slimf

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 2:52 am

Post Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:39 pm

Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

I just updated to the latest Java, and now Serviio wont work (7 update 15)

Anyone else having the same problem?

Windows 8.
<<

pizzaguy541

Serviio lover

Posts: 89

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 10:01 am

Location: United States

Post Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:43 am

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

Have you tried to re-install serviio?
<<

Torturer

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:45 pm

Post Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

I have exactly the same problem occur today.
Windows 8 and after the auto update jre7 update 15, serviio complains about not being able to find the EXE4J_JAVA_HOME.
I tried to set the environment variable manually, but that did not work.
Then I tried to re-install serviio and still getting the same error.
<<

pizzaguy541

Serviio lover

Posts: 89

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 10:01 am

Location: United States

Post Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:34 am

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

I've re-installed serviio and then rebooted the computer. Everything is working perfectly.

Running serviio on Windows 8 32-bit with java 7 update 15.
<<

grolschie

DLNA master

Posts: 695

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:02 am

Post Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:01 am

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

slimf and Torturer, do you have a 32bit or 64bit Java install?
Using Serviio on Debian "Wheezy" with Xbox 360, Sony BDP-S370 & Panasonic E6.
<<

Torturer

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:45 pm

Post Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:51 am

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

Hi,

Windows 8 32-bit.
I have tried simply reinstalling serviio over the existing install, and then uninstalling completely and reinstalling. Still no effect. Serviio still complains about the exe4j_java_home not being found.
<<

grolschie

DLNA master

Posts: 695

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:02 am

Post Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:25 am

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

Thanks. I was wondering if there might be an issue with the 64bit version (only) of Java and Serviio, but you would have the 32bit version... so anyways, maybe Zip or someone else will see this thread and be able to help.
Using Serviio on Debian "Wheezy" with Xbox 360, Sony BDP-S370 & Panasonic E6.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17123

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:37 pm

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

if your OS is 64 bit, you need 64 bit Java, for 32 bit OS you need 32 bit Java

I'd recommend you to have only 1 version of Java on your system, if possible - so try removing all other Java versions apart for the newest one, if it still doesn't work, remove all java altogehter and then install the newest one again
<<

crackedtooth

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 45

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:58 am

Post Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:40 pm

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

@zip
it was never an issue in the past untill the most recent java
and most people with 64bit windows need both java installed

worked fine up to java 14

Setting variable in environment tables does not fixit.
Other java programs run fine for me, just serviio console does not
<<

crackedtooth

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 45

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:58 am

Post Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:47 pm

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

THE FIX

UNINSTALL JAVA (both versions)

Do NOT use the online installer.

Use the offline full install .exe from here:
http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp

Install 64 bit.. than install 32 bit..
sorted it for me.
<<

Torturer

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:45 pm

Post Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:28 pm

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

Hi,
I have 32bit OS and 32bit java.
If I have to now reinstall java, why is it that only Serviio is affected in such a manner that it requires this action to be taken?
Just curious.
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17123

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:10 pm

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

It uses exe4j tool to generate the service executable Java wrapper. It looks at registry and/or the env variable to figure out where your Java is. If the registry is corrupted by different Java installations, you'll get this error.
<<

macleod

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:38 pm

Post Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:43 pm

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

morning, i have an issue with Java 15 as well. Serviio was detected fine with my LG LW6500 tv until the install. Serviio executes and runs fine on my laptop (has always worked pretty much flawlessly, thanks guys!) however TV can no longer detect it as the DLNA option.

Restarts, reinstalls etc no luck so far, was going to test with another media server but noticed others with same issue with the latest Java release.

I am roll back to the Java se 7 13 release as i can't locate their 14 version on their archive or other sites.

It seemed to mess with AirVideo too until i did a fresh install of that as well.

Oddly enough, Serviio still identifies the TV's IP address as OK from the console, however the TV will not bring up being able to access a DLNA server at all anymore, hence i didn't know if TV issue or serviio?

a pile more reinstalls i would guess?
<<

macleod

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:38 pm

Post Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:32 am

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

reinstalled ye olde Nero Mediahome default that comes with LG tv's and the TV picks it up to access fine.

Serviio still picks up the TV on it's IP address, however the TV (LW6500 australia w latest firmware) still won't recognise it running as an accessible DLNA input.

i dropped back to Java se 7 v13, no change, reupdated after full install back to java 15, no change.

seems odd Serviio is sensing the renderer on the TV fine but not vice versa. Perhaps a full reset of the TV back to factory?

will strip out serviio, java back to v7 or v6 perhaps and work way up from their using manual installs of java each time. frickin' java..... :roll:
<<

santaregina

Serviio newbie

Posts: 2

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 4:12 pm

Post Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:57 pm

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

thanks to crackedtooth: :D

UNINSTALLed JAVA (both versions)

Do NOT use the online installer.

Use the offline full install .exe from here:
http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp

Install 64 bit.
worked for me too.
<<

TestFactor

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:06 am

Post Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:39 pm

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

I reinstalled java as above, which did fix the problem, but then Oracle put out another update and it happened again. Uninstalling the 64 bit version and reinstalling it fixed the issue. It actually looked as if the 64 bit version was corrupt after the update as I couldn't get it to run at all. Go Oracle!
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17123

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:03 pm

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

If it happens again, try this: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=95&start=20
<<

crackedtooth

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 45

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:58 am

Post Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:40 am

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

zip wrote:If it happens again, try this: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=95&start=20



The NUISANCE is , that althought he uninstall and reinstall of new java version works...
its a pain and not nice to have to do , especially since most java build updates come sooner now.

both java update 16 AND 17 i could not use the update function.... serviio console wont work....

Also.. serviio is the ONLY java solution unable to find the new java version when using normal java update
TWS by interactive brokers for example has no issues at all...

Maybe idea to try and get fixed path maybe for java? or way for user to modify it?
Cause i LOVE serviio... but getting annoyed i have to close a lot of long running items just to do a java update and get it to work with serviio
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17123

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:03 am

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

Did you attempt the linked suggestion? I can do nothing without you guys giving me some details which, in this case, I can pass onto the developers of the Java wrapper.
<<

crackedtooth

Streaming enthusiast

Posts: 45

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:58 am

Post Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:59 pm

Re: Java 7 update 15 broke serviio

zip wrote:Did you attempt the linked suggestion? I can do nothing without you guys giving me some details which, in this case, I can pass onto the developers of the Java wrapper.

for me its fixed for update 17 now with the uninstall, offline reinstall for java

"please ask a customer to start the executable from the command line with the argument

/create-i4j-log

and send me the log file."

that one you want someone to try though, correct?
Needs to be done when the error is there though.

I can try it with the next java update , hopefully someone can try it before that time... do not intend to roll back java to try, have too much stuff running 24/7, takes me a long time to reboot and restart all
Next

Return to Serviio Support & Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.