FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

v1.7.1.1 does not work on Windows Server 2016

<<

Ana Matter

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 1:55 pm

Post Sun Oct 23, 2016 2:06 pm

v1.7.1.1 does not work on Windows Server 2016

TV Model: UE65JU6500
TV Firmware: the latest
OS: Windows Server 2016

Issue: Serviio stopped working after upgrading from Windows Server 2012 R2 to Windows Server 2016 -- Console shows TV is connected, however TV does not see Serviio anymore (no source icon on TV).

Thanks in advance.
<<

Ana Matter

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 1:55 pm

Post Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:29 am

Re: v1.7.1.1 does not work on Windows Server 2016

Serviio Support Team - any ideas? Thanks.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 3451

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:33 pm

Re: v1.7.1.1 does not work on Windows Server 2016

There is no "support team". Serviio is a one man operation, but you do get the combined support of all us users :lol:

It sounds like an issue that others have had when Windows 10 received the Anniversary Update and the firewall closed the ports that Serviio had opened on install.The simplest thing to do is to re-install Serviio, which should reconfigure your firewall. If that fails, then uninstall Serviio and re-install clean.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

Ana Matter

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 1:55 pm

Post Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:11 pm

Re: v1.7.1.1 does not work on Windows Server 2016

atc98092 wrote:There is no "support team". Serviio is a one man operation, but you do get the combined support of all us users :lol:

It sounds like an issue that others have had when Windows 10 received the Anniversary Update and the firewall closed the ports that Serviio had opened on install.The simplest thing to do is to re-install Serviio, which should reconfigure your firewall. If that fails, then uninstall Serviio and re-install clean.


Thank you for a tip. However, re-install does not help. Moreover, a completely fresh install on other server with Win2016 behaves the same -- Serviio console shows the device, but it does not appear on TV Sources... I think, that is related to OS -- any other advises, please? Thanks.
Attachments
serviio.PNG
serviio.PNG (7.72 KiB) Viewed 4034 times
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 3451

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:24 pm

Re: v1.7.1.1 does not work on Windows Server 2016

Now it's time to dig into the firewall settings. Sounds like Serviio install wasn't allowed to open the firewall as necessary. You might need to search here a little, but I believe you need to ensure UDP port 1900 is open and assigned to Serviio. You also need TCP port 23423 and 23424 open to access the console and MediaBrowser from other computers on the network.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

Ana Matter

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 1:55 pm

Post Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:35 pm

Re: v1.7.1.1 does not work on Windows Server 2016

atc98092 wrote:Now it's time to dig into the firewall settings. Sounds like Serviio install wasn't allowed to open the firewall as necessary. You might need to search here a little, but I believe you need to ensure UDP port 1900 is open and assigned to Serviio. You also need TCP port 23423 and 23424 open to access the console and MediaBrowser from other computers on the network.


The following URLs are accessbile from network devices and TV:
https://10.10.10.237:23524/mediabrowser/
https://10.10.10.237:23523/console/

TCP ports 23423 and 23424 are open on the server.
TELNET to the server ports 23423 and 23424 is okay using network devices.
UDP port 1900 is open on server.
PsPing to the server port UDP 1900 is okay.
<<

atc98092

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 3451

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:22 pm

Location: Washington (the state)

Post Thu Oct 27, 2016 10:55 pm

Re: v1.7.1.1 does not work on Windows Server 2016

Well, now I'm baffled. I see the IP address of the TV is in the same address range, so there's likely no issues there. I'm at a loss.

Are there any other devices on your network that your TV is seeing, perhaps a Windows 7/8/10 PC with media sharing enabled? I'm looking to see if the TV is seeing anything else on your network. Just trying to eliminate possibilities.

Is your TV hard wired, or using wireless? Some wireless routers allow devices to connect but block access to other devices on the network. If it's there it should be able to be turned off. I realize it was working before, I'm just reaching. :D

I just did a quick web search for your Server and UPnP, and it mentions that Network Discovery needs to be enabled for UPnP to work. You can check that as well. My home server is running Home Server 2011, and when I tested Serviio on it it was fine. I suppose it's possible that Microsoft removed some UPnP functionality from Server 2016 for security reasons, but I wouldn't give up yet. But it's tough to troubleshoot when I can't see the screen or touch the keyboard! :lol:

EDIT: one more question. Can anything else on your network see Serviio on the server? Another computer running VLC, or a cell phone with a DLNA app? This would confirm if the problem is the server or the TV.
Dan

Panasonic ST30 Plasma, Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Sony BDP-S3500, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Insignia Roku TV, Roku 4, Ultra and Stick, Nvidia Shield, Yamaha RX-V583 AVR.
Primary server: Intel i5-6400, 8 gig ram, Windows 10 Pro, 18 TB hard drive space | Test server Windows 10 Pro, AMD Phenom II X4 965, 8 gig ram

HOWTO: Enable debug logging HOWTO: Identify media file contents
<<

Ana Matter

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 1:55 pm

Post Tue Nov 01, 2016 7:33 pm

Re: v1.7.1.1 does not work on Windows Server 2016

I will feedback shortly when I will find a time for testing.
<<

martincom

Serviio newbie

Posts: 18

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 6:50 pm

Location: Brainerd, MN

Post Wed Dec 21, 2016 8:38 pm

Re: v1.7.1.1 does not work on Windows Server 2016

Has anyone had any luck with this? I'm having the same issue as I set forth in thread: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=22422&hilit=Server+2012

I've checked the services related to SSDP broadcasts and they are all running, but I can't see anything on Wireshark that appears to be a Serviio server broadcast. However, I'm not sure exactly what to look for either.

Return to Samsung

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.