FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

<<

tdischino

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:59 pm

Post Sat Apr 30, 2011 10:28 pm

42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

Hi,

Just bought an LG 42LV550 and am trying to confirm if it will work with Serviio. So far it doesn't see Serviio when I launch MediaLink on the home screen (it tells me I need to have Plex installed, although a Nero MediaHome CD was provided with the TV). I've bound the correct IP, opened/forwarded ports 8895 (TCP) and 1900 (UDP). How do I know if I missed something in setup? or is it possible some LG TV's just won't see it?

Is MediaLink the only way to find DLNA devices from the LG TV?

--UPDATE:

I found the device, through Inputs > DLNA > Network, I just have to now figure out why my files are not displaying. Will leave this post for future reference for anyone with the same TV.
<<

throck

Serviio newbie

Posts: 3

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:56 pm

Post Mon May 02, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

Plex Is not DNLA. Plex is built with macintosh in mind. Similar but not the same. Nero mediohome is for your DLNA not Plex. If your tv is connected to the network and Nero mediahome server is also on the same LAN then change your TV input to Network. You will then see it. Plex is hot garbage. DNLA works great at least for me and my LG LV5500.
<<

tdischino

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:59 pm

Post Tue May 10, 2011 3:17 am

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

Thanks for the clarification. That makes sense, as plex doesn't show up when I use Network/DLNA input. Mediahome has been working great. I've been unable to see my shared folder (and files) with serviio. I've got 2 different server comps on the network, playing with both to see if different config changes make a difference, but still no luck.

I did find something in the FAQ indicated that the user that the serviio service runs under has to have adequate permissions. I tried changing the service properties to run under my main windows account (which has admin), but it didnt help. I looked at the Nero service properties, and it appears to run under a user account that it creates. I'm not savvy enough with windows user accounts to understand if I need to do something different at this point with the serviio service setup.
<<

moltra

DLNA master

Posts: 1871

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:00 pm

Location: Ohio USA

Post Tue May 10, 2011 11:12 am

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

Can you enable detailed logging (see signature) and post the log here. That will let us see what serviio is doing.

Also how is your network setup? what is the IP address for the TV and the computer running serviio. Are you using a router? Did you open the required ports on the router and firewall? See FAQ in signature on what ports to open.
Mark
Beta Tester Group
http://www.serviidb.com Online media resource repository

Netgear EVA2000 | Samsung BD-D5300 | XBOX 360 | Windows 7 | Mint Debian 12 | Raxz Maxx
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

Cerberus

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4116

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:20 pm

Location: Reading, UK

Post Tue May 10, 2011 11:55 am

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

EDIT - i stand corrected by ZIP below.
Last edited by Cerberus on Tue May 10, 2011 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Phil Bennett
Beta Tester Group
Wiki | FAQ

Samsung LE40C750 LCD | Samsung BD-C5900 | Sony PS3 | Windows 7 |
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

zip

User avatar

Serviio developer / Site Admin

Posts: 17039

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:24 pm

Location: London, UK

Post Tue May 10, 2011 12:09 pm

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

LG plays almost everything and seems to transcode audio, so it's only DTS videos that will not work.
<<

tdischino

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:59 pm

Post Thu May 12, 2011 7:06 am

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

moltra wrote:Can you enable detailed logging (see signature) and post the log here. That will let us see what serviio is doing.

Also how is your network setup? what is the IP address for the TV and the computer running serviio. Are you using a router? Did you open the required ports on the router and firewall? See FAQ in signature on what ports to open.


Ny Network:

DHCP behind a linksys router running DD-WRT. All ports opened as indicated in my original post, screen shots in attachments. Media server PC is IP 192.168.1.144 which I am binding to serviio. I see that Serviio sees my TV, as the log shows the TV's IP (192.168.1.126) as the renderer. Let me know if you need more detail on the network.

When I connect to the Serviio device from my TV, all I see is a folder named Audio, with a subfolder Artists, both folders are empty of files (I am not sharing a folder called audio or artists). The log shows the video files discovered in the shared folder, but I dont see them in the DLNA interface on the TV.

I wasnt sure how much logging you wanted, so I let it go for a few minutes. then shut down the service. Please let me know if you need additional info, I'd love to see this working. Thank you for your help and time.

something else just occurred to me... I have UPnP disabled on my router. Is it absolutely required for Serviio? I wouldnt think so, but figured I should mention it.
Attachments
5-11-2011 11-26-23 PM.png
Port Forward screen shot 2
5-11-2011 11-26-23 PM.png (24.29 KiB) Viewed 6776 times
5-11-2011 11-26-09 PM.png
Port forward screen shot 1
5-11-2011 11-26-09 PM.png (24.4 KiB) Viewed 6776 times
serviio.log
(76.33 KiB) Downloaded 192 times
<<

tdischino

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:59 pm

Post Tue May 17, 2011 12:16 am

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

^bump^
<<

moltra

DLNA master

Posts: 1871

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:00 pm

Location: Ohio USA

Post Tue May 17, 2011 12:56 am

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

I did not have to forward any ports on my router. Do you have windows firewall enabled? If so open the ports 8895 (TCP) and 1900 (UDP) there. Do you have any other computers, or xbox 360 or playstation in the house that you can make sure that the computer on which serviio is installed on is working properly for streaming the movies. Run the following command and let me know what it say. You will have to run it in a command window. If you do not know how type cmd in the run box and then run this command in it.

  Code:
netstat -an |find /i "listening"


then with the mouse in the window right click and select all then hit ctrl-C to copy and post on here so we can see the results.
Mark
Beta Tester Group
http://www.serviidb.com Online media resource repository

Netgear EVA2000 | Samsung BD-D5300 | XBOX 360 | Windows 7 | Mint Debian 12 | Raxz Maxx
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

tdischino

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:59 pm

Post Fri May 20, 2011 11:53 pm

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

As noted in my posts above, I can stream from this computer successfully with Nero MediaHome, and Windows Media Player. The TV sees the files that those servers are sharing. when I disable both of them and fire up Serviio, The TV sees the Serviio service on this computer, but doesnt see the files. My second computer, same thing, both of the other services work fine, but not serviio.

Here is the netstat from the main comp

  Code:
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Tony>netstat -an |find /i "listening"
  TCP    0.0.0.0:135            0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:445            0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:711            0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:2869           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:5800           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:5900           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:8895           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:10243          0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:17500          0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    5.14.200.96:139        0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    127.0.0.1:5152         0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    127.0.0.1:5354         0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    127.0.0.1:23423        0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    127.0.0.1:24726        0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    127.0.0.1:24727        0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    127.0.0.1:27015        0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    192.168.1.144:139      0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    192.168.1.144:44331    0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    192.168.1.144:44332    0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING


C:\Documents and Settings\Tony>
<<

tdischino

Serviio newbie

Posts: 6

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:59 pm

Post Sat May 21, 2011 12:36 am

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

Well this problem is resolved. I turned on UPnP in my router, and the files show up. I didnt want to turn it on, as I thought there were security concerns around having it on. However, it might be clearer if you indicate that UPnP is absolutely required. Not sure if I will go with Serviio due to the reliance on UPnP. Thanks for the (little bit) of help.
<<

zoze

Serviio newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:36 pm

Post Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:44 pm

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

Hello, I´m new here, and kind of a noob as well.. :)

I bought a lv5500 and I installed the nero cd to use the dlna server. But in my INPUT menu on the TV, the DLNA icon is disabled, and when I click on the icon, it shows a message that the server is not available. The cables are ok and I´ve internet on the TV. I´ve also installed PLEX (sucks..)
My OS is XP32bit.
I installed Serviio and I still can´t get DLNA to work...

Please help... Any Ideas ?

Thanks in advance.
<<

zoze

Serviio newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:36 pm

Post Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:44 pm

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

Hello, I´m new here, and kind of a noob as well.. :)

I bought a lv5500 and I installed the nero cd to use the dlna server. But in my INPUT menu on the TV, the DLNA icon is disabled, and when I click on the icon, it shows a message that the server is not available. The cables are ok and I´ve internet on the TV. I´ve also installed PLEX (sucks..)
My OS is XP32bit.
I installed Serviio and I still can´t get DLNA to work...

Please help... Any Ideas ?

Thanks in advance.
<<

Cerberus

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4116

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:20 pm

Location: Reading, UK

Post Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:47 pm

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

zoze wrote:Hello, I´m new here, and kind of a noob as well.. :)

I bought a lv5500 and I installed the nero cd to use the dlna server. But in my INPUT menu on the TV, the DLNA icon is disabled, and when I click on the icon, it shows a message that the server is not available. The cables are ok and I´ve internet on the TV. I´ve also installed PLEX (sucks..)
My OS is XP32bit.
I installed Serviio and I still can´t get DLNA to work...

Please help... Any Ideas ?

Thanks in advance.


please read teh FAQ pages and check you have the port open that serviio requires to function ( link in my signiture ). :)
Phil Bennett
Beta Tester Group
Wiki | FAQ

Samsung LE40C750 LCD | Samsung BD-C5900 | Sony PS3 | Windows 7 |
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

zoze

Serviio newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:36 pm

Post Sun Jul 31, 2011 4:18 pm

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

The TCP port 8895 is open but it´s not communicating through the UDP 1900. I use Comodo IS and I don´t have a clue where I open this port. I looked around all the options of the firewall and I couldn´t find where to open a port. Sorry...

Also when I installed Serviio, I granted all the access through the firewall. It supposed to give access to UDP port as well, right?
<<

Cerberus

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4116

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:20 pm

Location: Reading, UK

Post Sun Jul 31, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

zoze wrote:The TCP port 8895 is open but it´s not communicating through the UDP 1900. I use Comodo IS and I don´t have a clue where I open this port. I looked around all the options of the firewall and I couldn´t find where to open a port. Sorry...

Also when I installed Serviio, I granted all the access through the firewall. It supposed to give access to UDP port as well, right?


not always no so you will need to open that udp port or serviio and most other dlna servers will not function.
Phil Bennett
Beta Tester Group
Wiki | FAQ

Samsung LE40C750 LCD | Samsung BD-C5900 | Sony PS3 | Windows 7 |
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

zoze

Serviio newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:36 pm

Post Mon Aug 01, 2011 9:36 am

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

Cerberus wrote:
zoze wrote:The TCP port 8895 is open but it´s not communicating through the UDP 1900. I use Comodo IS and I don´t have a clue where I open this port. I looked around all the options of the firewall and I couldn´t find where to open a port. Sorry...

Also when I installed Serviio, I granted all the access through the firewall. It supposed to give access to UDP port as well, right?


not always no so you will need to open that udp port or serviio and most other dlna servers will not function.


Done. I did it. Cheers mate.
<<

Cerberus

User avatar

DLNA master

Posts: 4116

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:20 pm

Location: Reading, UK

Post Mon Aug 01, 2011 5:21 pm

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

zoze wrote:
Cerberus wrote:
zoze wrote:The TCP port 8895 is open but it´s not communicating through the UDP 1900. I use Comodo IS and I don´t have a clue where I open this port. I looked around all the options of the firewall and I couldn´t find where to open a port. Sorry...

Also when I installed Serviio, I granted all the access through the firewall. It supposed to give access to UDP port as well, right?


not always no so you will need to open that udp port or serviio and most other dlna servers will not function.


Done. I did it. Cheers mate.


welcomes :)
Phil Bennett
Beta Tester Group
Wiki | FAQ

Samsung LE40C750 LCD | Samsung BD-C5900 | Sony PS3 | Windows 7 |
HowTo: Provide supported formats of a device HowTo: Record a new ticket on Bitbucket
HowTo: Provide details of a video file that doesn't play HowTo: Turn on detailed logging
<<

varta

Serviio newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 10:30 pm

Post Sun Oct 30, 2011 10:48 pm

Re: 42LV5500 Doesn't see Serviio

hi, I have a similar problem so I thought I'd ask in this thread.
So, I have Serviio server installed on my PC (Win7 x64) which is in one room and an LG 42LV5500 in another room connected to the same LAN (both static IPs, Wi-Fi G-54Mbps).
The PC is conected to main router Dlink DI-524 by a LAN cable, the TV is connected to Well WRC3500 router by a LAN cable and this second router (Well) is connected to the Dlink router in a bridge mode (so the TV basically communicates with PC through only 1 router). Port forwarding is set up correctly, I can see the TV from the PC and the TV can usually see the PC (server).
When I start Serviio console, it sometimes detects the TV as 1. Media Renderer with green dot on the left side and sets the profile to Generic DLNA profile
or 2. LG TV/player and sets the profile to LG TV/player, however in this case the dot is yellow.
In either one or other situation the TV can (sometimes, when it "sees" the server) connect to the server and browse folders, however the folder structure is not complete and I can't see any actual file in these folders. It seems that it only shows the folders you choose to display in categories menu in Serviio console.
If I try to use Nero MediaHome I can see the folders AND files correctly but even going to a subdirectory means waiting over 1 minute and when I finally get to a folder with a file, the TV fails to play the file (loses connection).
If I try to use Plex, the TV doesn't see the server. Never.
I have tried to use the config I've found on this forum for some other LG TV model, but it didn't help.

Please can You help me to get it working? Thanks

Return to LG

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.